Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Tutorials

This LibGuide contains step by step instructions for majority of research databases available in the Wolfgram collection.

PsycINFO / APA PsycINFO

PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. Coverage: 1987 - present

Navigate to PsycINFO: From the Library home page> A to Z Databases>PsycINFO

Enter your Widener Login ID and Password to access the resources. 

Keyword Searching

Follow these steps to search the database:

  1. Enter your search terms / keywords. (To search for a phrase, put the words into quotation marks).
  2. Limit your search results using a variety of tools such as:
    • Select Linked Full Text to filter out articles you would need to request using InterLibrary Loan. 
    • Filter the Published Date range to what you are looking for. 
    • Fill in the Source field if you know the title of the journal. 
    • Add the Publication Year range. 
    • Select Peer Reviewed to filter our any non peer reviewed articles. 
    • Fill in the specific Tests & Measures
    • Select the Age Ranges you are looking for. 
    • Select the Intended Audience
    • Select the Methodology you are looking for. 
  3. And finally, click Search for your results. 

image of the PsychINFO database advanced search page

The Results Page

From the results page you can:

  1. Use the Refine Results section to drill down further into the search results. 
    • View your current search selections Boolean/Phrase
    • Limit your current search results by selecting Linked Full TextReferences Available, and/or Open Access. You can also choose the date range to further narrow your results. 
    • Use the additional facets to filter search results by Source TypesSubject: Major Heading, Subject, PublicationPublisherLanguage, Age, Gender, Classification, Methodology, Tests & Measures, and Population. 
  2. Look for the article in one of our other databases by using the Full Text Finder Link.
  3. Download the PDF Full Text.
  4. Request items not available in our collections, using the InterLibrary Loan (Illiad Wolfgram) link.

Image of PsychINFO database search results page. ​​​​​​​

Article Details

The Detailed Record

PDF documents are digital versions of the original print version and will look exactly the same as the print version. They include the following:

  • Original page numbers
  • Graphs, tables, and charts
  • Full list of references 

Accessing the electronic versions of articles through our online databases, offers you additional features and functionality that is not available in print. The detailed record includes the following:

  1. Direct link to the PDF viewer where the article can be downloaded. 
  2. Bibliographic information, including clickable links to the author(s) name(s) which can be used to find other work by the author(s). Also included is the clickable title of the journal the article was published in, as well as the volume, issue, and page numbers. Below you will also find the abstract and other important information.
  3. Hyperlinked Subject Terms and author-supplied keywords. These can be used to find other searchable keyterms.
  4. Previews of any images or charts in the article. Click on the image(s) to view.
  5. Age Groups are listed, as well as the Tests & Measures, and Methodology used.
  6. The DOI (Digital Object Identifier) will be displayed if available. Use this in your citation to always link to the correct article. 

Image of a detailed article record in the database PsychINFO

Tools

Use the Tools navigation to share, print and cite the article. 

  1. Use Tools section for quick access to print, email, save, and share the article. 
  2. Click Cite to open the citation manager. Scroll through the citation style options (APA, MLA, Chicago, ectc.) and copy the citation for use. Be sure to Review the citation for errors. This citation will not be perfect and names, dates, punctuation and style will need to be checked.  
  3. Always use the permalink in your citation or for use when sharing the article. This link is permanent and will always link directly to this article. Never use the URL in the browser search, this link will break. 

Image of the Tools section and Citation manager in the detailed article record from the database PsychINFO