Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Tutorials

This LibGuide contains step by step instructions for majority of research databases available in the Wolfgram collection.

Nexis Uni

Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Types of Sources include:

  • Federal and State Cases
  • Federal and State Legislation
  • Articles from Regional, National and International Newspapers and Sources
  • Articles from Law Reviews and Journals
  • Company Profiles

Navigate to the Nexis Uni Database

Library Home Page A to Z Database ListNexis Uni
 

NOTE: To access this and other subscription databases from off campus, you will be asked to enter your Widener username and password.

Setting up the Search

Initial Search Screen

The Nexis Uni initial screen with the Guided search options in a red box.

  • The initial search box is very broad.
  • Use the options in the Guided Search box instead. This allows you to specify:
    • News
    • A Publication
    • Cases
    • Law Reviews
    • Company Info
    • Country Info

Types of Searches

By selecting cases, you can search for State, Federal and Supreme Court cases.  The results will identify what court decided the case.

EX: Lawrence v. Texas

  • Select Cases and then Federal Cases and the enter the search terms "Lawrence v. Texas" (make sure the parties names are in quotation marks.
  • Then click on Search.

The Guided seach screen with a red boxes highlighting Cases and Federal cases. A red box also surronds the Search in all Cases for and the box underneath includes "Lawarence v. Texas"

Results

  • The search produced over 800 cases with these party names.

Results showing threecases with a red box highlighting the words describing the types of courts and dates and a red box highlighting the Preview link

Features of the Brief Record:

  • The brief record for each case shows the court where the case was decided and the date, an Overview and some text with the search terms highlighted.
  • These results list cases from the -- Supreme Court of the U.S., U.S. Court of Appeals for the 9th Circuit and  U.S. Court of Appeals for the 7th Circuit .

Preview:

  • Click on the preview link for #1 - Lawrence v. Texas, 539 U.S. 558 to obtain a snapshot of this case's full document without leaving the search:

 

The Preview of the Supreme Court Case Lawarence v. Texas, 539 U.S. 558

Features of the Preview:

The preview provides the most important information about this Supreme Court Case including the dates argued and decided, parties, decision and links to other related cases.

Full Case Document:

  • Click on the title of #1 - Lawrence v. Texas, 539 U.S. 558 to obtain the full case document, which lists cases that influenced the case, with links to the previous cases as well as the full arguments.  The Case Document also offers options for downloading, printing and sharing.

With cases still selected, search for the keywords LGBT and Rights:

Search Results for this search with red boxes highlighting the amount of cases and the tiimeline.

  • The search produced 629 cases with these keywords.
  • Again, full record for each case shows the court where the case was decided and the date, an Overview and some text with the search terms highlighted.
  • The Timeline display 1999-2020,  which can be adjusted, indicates that courts have argued cases with these terms since 1999.  (If the search terms were LGBTQ and Rights, the timeline starts in 2008 as this is a newer term.  (Therefore, the timeline display indicates when the courts stared discussing different topics.)

By selecting Statutes and Legislation you can search for State and Federal Legislation.  The results will identify the type of legislation and you can limit to the Jurisdiction later. Federal and state legislation and statues are identified by numbers are codes.  Uness you knwo the exact numbers, use keywords.

  • Search for the terms Wildlife and Sanctuaries
  • When you select Statutes and Legislation the words automatically appear to the left of the search box and Narrow Statutes and Legislation also appears.

The seach screen with a red box highlighting Statutes and Legislation and an arrovw pointing to the terms.
 

Results:

This shows three pieces of legislation with red boxes highlighting the states and a red box highlighting the word Jurisdiction

  • The search produced over 6,00 results results.  The results shown are codes from Michigan and Massachusetts. 
  • Narrow by the Jurisdiction first and then the category of legislation.  The Juridiction will determine the category that you can select. 

Refined Results:

  • Select Bill Text and then Pennsylvania

Results for this serach have a box highlighting the words Bill Text and Pennsylvania, under Narrow by and showing the number 37 as the number of search results.

  • By narrowing to Bill Text and Pennsylvania, the search is reduced to 37 relevant PA bills that include these terms in the text.
  • Note: Amended bills include the emendations in the text.

Nexis Uni provides useful coverage about legislation from a variety of general and legal news sources.

  • Search for "Bipartisan Budget Act of 2019."
  • When you select News and Legal News both choices automatically appear to the left of the search box and after Narrow by.  Results will come from both sources.

Shows the search srcreen with this legislation with red boxes highlighting the options News and Legal News and arrows pointing to these terns above.

Results:

Results of this search with a red boz=x highlighting the Publication Type options.

  • The search produced 685 results published in a variety of print and web media publication types, including:
    • Newswires and Press Releases
    • Web Based Publications
    • Blogs
    • Newspapers
       
  • Click on one of these publication types to narrow further. Ex: Limiting to Newspapers results in 25 articles from news sources across the country.

By selecting Company and Financial, you can find company profiles, reports and other information about companies of all types.

  • Search for Amazon.
  • When you select Company and Financial the choice automatically appears to the left of the search box and after Narrow by. 

Search screen with a red box highlighting the Company and Financial and an arrow pointing to the term after Narrow by.

Results:

Results from the search with a red box around the amount of results and the categories of documents available,.

  • The search produced over 10,000 results, which makes sense for this large multinational company.  This number demonstrates the breath of company information available in this database. 
  • Notice the categories of documents available, including:
    • Company Profiles
    • SEC Filings
    • Analyst Reports
  • Narrow by clicking on a document category, a Subject and adding specific terms in the Search Within Results box.