Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Tutorials

This LibGuide contains step by step instructions for majority of research databases available in the Wolfgram collection.

LGBTQ+ Source

LGBTQ+ Source contains the full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs/books including Classics in Lesbian Studies, Gay Science: The Ethics of Sexual Orientation Research, Handbook of Research with Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Populations, Queer Theory & Social Change, etc. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms. Full text content available in LGBTQ+ Source includes The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, Washington Blade, and many more. Additionally, all relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies is also included.

 

Navigate to the LGBT+ Source with Full Text Database

Wolfgram Memorial Library Homepage ► A to Z Database List ► LGBTQ+ Source 

Searching LGBTQ+ Source

Navigate to the LGBTQ+ Source database, enter your keywords and conduct your search. Follow the steps below:

  1. Enter your search terms / keywords. (To search for a phrase, put the words into quotation marks).
  2. The Search Modes and Expanders section provides options that broaden your search results. Use these sparingly, as you broaden your search the number of results might become overwhelming, or they might be too vague. Best utilized in the beginning stages of research, for example, when trying to decide on a research topic and you want to know what resources/items/materials are available.
  3. Limit your search results:
    • Full Text: Check this box to limit results to include only materials available in Full Text. Helpful when doing last-minute research and you don't have time to wait for interlibrary loan requests. This limiter may drastically reduce the number search results.
    • Scholarly (peer-reviewed) Journals: Check this box to ensure your search results only include items from scholarly journals. This eliminates the popular magazines and newspapers.
    • Document or Journal: Select Document (ED) for documents such as government documents, dissertations, books, research reports, and annotated bibliographies. Select Journal (EJ) for journals.  
  4. Click Search.

LGBT Life with Full Text Search Screen

LGBT Life with Full Text Advanced Search Limits

The Results List

The Results List gives you the basic bibliographic information (article title, author(s), source title, page numbers, date, etc.) about each item as well as links to the full text.

On the Results List you may also see the following links underneath the article title:

  1. Search the Widener University Catalog: click here to view the Library Catalog (WebPac) holdings.
  2. ILLiad Wolfgram: Click here to request the article using InterLibrary Loan.
  3. HTML Full Text: Click here for the full text of the article in HTML format.
  4. PDF Full Text: Click here for the full article as a pdf, available for downloading/printing.
  5. Linked Full Text: This link means the full article is available for downloading/printing from one of the other online databases.
  6. Full Text Finder: Click here to see if the full text for this article is available from another Widener database.

LGBT Life with Full Text Results List

The Detailed Record

Accessing the electronic versions of articles through our online databases, offers you additional features and functionality that is not available in print, such as:

  • Links to the full text of the article.
  • An abstract.
  • Links to additional author(s) work
  • Direct links to additional journal issues/volumes
  • Content links to navigate to specific sections/topics within the article
  • Hyperlinked search terms to broaden or narrow your search
  • Links to export the article to GoogleDrive or a citation manangement tool (such as RefWorks or Zotero), download the article, or generate a citation.

LGBT Life with Full Text Detailed Record