Database Tutorials

About this Database

Mathematical Reviews/MathSciNet, compiled, edited, and delivered by the American Mathmatical Society, is the authoritative gateway to the scholarly literature of mathematics. MathSciNet contains information on over 3.6 million articles and books, with direct links to almost 2.3 million articles in over 650 journals.  MathSciNet includes expert reviews, personalizable author profiles, and citation information on articles, books, journals, and authors.

MathSciNet’s extensive resources can help you both in your graduate research and throughout your math career. Use it to:

• Quickly get up to speed on a new topic
• Look up a researcher’s body of work (and find his/her Erdo ̋s number!)
• Find an article or book and track its reference list
• Research a math department to prepare for a job interview

*NOTE: Be sure to access the MathSciNet Database from the A - Z Database List to ensure you have access to the materials available with our subscription.

Navigate to the MathSciNet Database

Library Home Page ► A to Z Database List ► MathSciNet

• The search result page will show you a list of top-level MSCs and, underneath, secondary-level MSCs, which are like subtopics.
• Click on the list logo next to the number to see a list of publications in that area.

MathSciNet uses a fielded search. You can use one field or any combination of up to four fields on the Publications tab search. The pull-down menus give you access to additional fields and Boolean operators

Basic Keyword Search

1. Enter your search terms into the Search Box
2. Click on the Search Button
3. If you want more search options, click on Show Classic Interface

Look up an Author

• Click on the Authors tab
• Enter the Authors Name or the MR Author ID number if available.
• Click on the Search button

On the Author Profile page you can see the various Subjects the author writes about, a list of co-authors, and all of the author's publications indexed in MathSciNet.