Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Tutorials

This LibGuide contains step by step instructions for majority of research databases available in the Wolfgram collection.

Download the ACM Digital Library App

Some features of the Mobile ACM Digital Library:

  • The ACM Digital Library App is FREE
  • Search, Browse, Save, Read, Share
  • Bibliometrics, Author Pages, Citations, References
  • Customize shortcuts to your favorite ACM Publications

As an ACM DL user at Widener University:

  1. Sign-in or Sign-up to the ACM DL with your ACM Web Account now.
  2. Install the ACM DL app onto your device, (see below).
  3. Sign in to the ACM DL app with your ACM Web Account.

DONE—You now have access to the ACM DL on your mobile device.

Google Play
APP Store
Windows Phone Store

Related LibGuides

About this Database

The ACM Digital Library is a research, discovery and networking platform containing:

  • The Full-Text Collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.
  • A collection of curated and hosted full-text publications from select publishers.
  • The ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a comprehensive bibliographic database focused exclusively on the field of computing.
  • A richly interlinked set of connections among authors, works, institutions, and specialized communities.

Navigate to the ACM Library

LibGuides Home Page A to Z Database ListACM Library

Search ACM Database

  1. Click on Advanced Search
  2. Choose between The ACM Full-Text Collection or The ACM Guide to Computing Literature
    • Searching The ACM Full-Text Collection will return results from all articles ever sponsored or published by ACM along with a set of vetted, hosted content from select publishers. All of this content is made available directly from The ACM Digital Library.

    • The ACM Guide to Computing Literature is the most comprehensive bibliographic database focused exclusively on the field of computing. This database includes all of the content from The ACM Full-Text Collection along with citations, and links where possible, to many other publishers in computing. If you decide to search this section, you will have to request the articles from another library using our interlibrary loan system, Illiad.

  3. Enter your Search Terms / Keywords and Publication Date (if applicable)

Screenshot of advanced search pop-up menu with callouts for collection and filter selection drop-down menus

 

Results List

In addition to displaying the bibliographic information (article title, authors, journal information, date, etc.) and the abstract you are given links to additional information such as:

  • The number of times the item has been cited by others
  • The number of times the item has been downloaded
  • Highlights for each occurrence in the full text where the keyword or terms you searched for appear

In addition, the results list give you the option to:

  • Export the citation to a citation management tool like RefWorks or Zotero
  • View the full text of the article online
  • Download the PDF 
  • Save the citation to a folder/"binder" in ACM Digital Library

Screenshot of search results page with callouts for article tools and metrics

The Full Database Record & The Full Text

Clicking on the title of the article takes you to the Full Database Record where you can read the abstract, read the full text of the article online using the eReader, or download the PDF.

Screenshot of detailed article record with callouts for full text choices and abstract