Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Tutorials

This LibGuide contains step by step instructions for majority of research databases available in the Wolfgram collection.

About this Database

The world’s largest full-text database of civil engineering research and applications-oriented articles.

The ASCE Library provides a comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering. It contains:

  • Journals papers from 1983 to the present—includes all 33 ASCE journals.
  • Online Proceedings titles from 2000 to the present and selected titles from 1996—300+ proceedings titles.

Navigate to the ASCE Library

Wolfgram Memorial Library Homepage A to Z Database ListASCE Library

Basic Search

Go to ASCE Library, click Search, then choose Advanced Search

  1. Enter your search terms / keywords
  2. Search by citation
  3. Browse articles by CAS section
  4. Use the Advanced Search a more detailed search

*NOTE: When searching from off campus, be sure to access the ASCE Library from the Wolfgram Library A - Z Database list to ensure you have access to the materials available with our subscription. You should see "Access provided by Widener University" directly below the ASCE Library logo.

Image of a keyword search in ASCE

Results List

From the results page, you can use the limiters to narrow your search even further by choosing:

  • Content Type
  • Publication Date
  • Technical Topics
  • Geographic Topics
  • Book Title

Click the article title to view the item details, access the full text (when available) or sharing options.

Image of a sample search results page, highlighting the limiter tools, and how to open the full-text

Full Text Article Features

ASCE materials are available in multiple delivery formats:

1. Full Text HTML Option:

  • Clickable author names to find more articles by the author.
  • Quick access to and zoom on tables and figures in the article.
  • Inline clickable references bring you to the full citation information.
  • Links to related articles available in the ASCE Library.

The Full Text Menu Options:

  • Download:  Download the full tet of the PDF to read offline
  • Tools: Export the citation to RefWorks or Zotero
  • Share: Share the article information via email or social media.

The Details Menu Options:

  • Figures: Go directly to the charts and graphs in th article
  • References: Go directly to the Reference List to see what articles were consulted
  • Related: View a list of articles related to the topic

 

Screenshot of ASCE with the Full Text of the Journal article visible.

 

 

2. PDF Format:

Image of an example of PDF file