Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Tutorials

This LibGuide contains step by step instructions for majority of research databases available in the Wolfgram collection.

Dissertation Databases

Widener University provides access to two ProQuest databases for finding dissertations:

Searching for Dissertations

This database provides Full-Text access to all works published after 1997.

Navigate to Dissertations & Theses @ Widener University

Wolfgram Memorial Library Homepage A to Z Database ListDissertations & These @ Widener University

The Search Screen

  1. Select Advanced Search
     
  2. Enter keyword(s) or the title of the publication.
     
  3. As this database features only works by Widener University students, change the search field to department and then select a specific department.

Example: This example is searching for the keyword Trauma, limiting to works published from the Department Social Work.This images shows the Search screeen of this database with the keyword Trauma and the Department Social Work, with red circles around the word Trauma and department.

  • You can also limit by the name of the author or advisor on this search screen.
     

The Brief Records

  • This search provides 18 results from the search terms:

This screen shows three dissertation tiltes from the search and a red box around the place to change the publication date range.

  • The three results shown above, include the title, author and date of publication for each dissertation listed.  The word Trauma is also highlighted in yellow for 2 of them, indicating the use of the search term.
  • Notice that the publication date range is 2013-2020, you can always adjust the date range by moving the toggle and selecting update.
     

The Detailed Record

  • Select -  Heel to Heal: The Connection Between Running and Trauma:

The full result shows the dissertation Heel to Heal: The Connection Between Running and Trauma with red circles around the Abstract/Details, Download PDF and Related Items.

  The Detailed Record has many useful tools:

  • Abstract/Details - Select this option to obtain all the metadata for the dissertation, use these details to find additional titles.
     
  • Download PDF  - Click on this link to download the full dissertation.
     
  • Related Items - This list provides links to related dissertations in this database, other ProQuest dissertations and in other resources.

 

  • This database provides access to dissertations and theses published at universities worldwide. 

  • Some titles are available in full text, through open access, and others provide a 24-page preview.

  • Note - Search for titles published in the last 5 years for more full text availability.

 

Navigate to Digital Dissertations

Wolfgram Memorial Library Homepage A to Z Database ListDigital Dissertations

The Search Screen

  1. Select Advanced Search
     
  2. Enter keyword(s) or the title of the publication.

Example: This example is searching for the keywords Homelessness and Qualitative Study.

This image shows the search screen of Digital Dissertations with red circles around the keywords, homelessness and qualitative study.

  • You can also limit your search to Author, Advisor, University/Institution or Subject heading.

Initial Results - Brief Record

1. The search provides 32,094 results from these keywords.

2. Notice that the results include the date range 1931 - 2022.

The results screen shows two results and red circles around 32,094 results and the publlication date range 1931-2022.

  • Updating the publication date range to the most recent 10 years, 2010-2020, enables you to obtain more recent results and provides more results with Full Text:

    This image shouws the publication date box witht the arrow moved and the date range 2010-2019 appearing in a bix.
    • Click on Update.
       
    • Move the pointer until 2010-2019 appears.
       
    • Select Update again.

 

 

 

Updated Results Screen - Brief Record

  • The updated search returned over 18,000 results, but provides many more Full Text options:

This image shows 7 results with red squares and circles around the word full text on the left side of the screen and in the middle of each brief record. There are 4 results that include full tex in these results.

  • Of the 7 results shown above, 4 of the dissertations are available in Full Text.  For the other 3, a 24-page preview is provided,

The Detailed Record

Select - Making a positive change: A qualitative study of homeless women's perceptions and experiences of shelter living

The full result shows the dissertation -- Making a positive change: A qualitative study of homeless women's perceptions and experiences of shelter living --  with red circles around the Abstract/Details, Download PDF and Related Items.

 

  The Detailed Record has many useful tools:

  • Abstract/Details - Select this option to obtain all the metadata for the dissertation, use these details to find additional titles.
     
  • Download PDF  - Click on this link to download the full dissertation.
     
  • Related Items - This list provides links to related dissertations in this database, other ProQuest dissertations and in other resources.