Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Tutorials

This LibGuide contains step by step instructions for majority of research databases available in the Wolfgram collection.

ScienceDirect

Science Direct Logo

About this database

ScienceDirect provides scientific, technical, and medical research in four collections:

  • Physical Sciences & Engineering
  • Life Sciences
  • Health Sciences
  • Social Science & Humanities

These collections contain over 16 million journal articles and 39,000 eBooks, so that you can find background information from eBooks and the most current published research in the same place.

Searching

ScienceDirect Search Interface

Keyword searching is available at the top of each page on ScienceDirect.  You can include author names, journal title, and volume/issue information by entering those parameters into the specified field.  Selecting the "Advanced search" link will take you to a separate page with these additional search fields and options for types of articles that you want returned in your results list.

ScienceDirect Advanced Search interface

More information about Advanced Searching can be found here.

Reviewing the Results

ScienceDirect Results Interface

Once you have performed your search, your results list should be populated with a few options.  You may be suggested a journal, individual articles, or books.  The column on the left of the screen contains limiters that will help narrow down your results by publication year, publication type, or whether the article is Open Access.  Some articles will have full text available (Download PDF), but some are only available as abstracts.  When you find an abstract and would like to get full text access, request the article through ILLiad.

More information about reviewing the results in ScienceDirect can be found here.