Wolfgram Subject Guides: Database Tutorials: Delaware County Daily Times

About Delware County Daily Times Databases

Widener University provides access to the Delaware County Daily Times databases through a partnership with the Delaware County Library System. Widener community members who have a Delaware County Library System card, can access these databases using their name and barcode number. Widener community members who do not have a Delaware County Library System card can access these databases, in-person, from the Wolfgram Memorial Library. Just ask at the front desk for someone to log you in. Access to a form for requesting articles emailed to you is offered below.

Access Instructions:

To access these databases from the Library Homepage, select the A-Z Databases tile.

Select D and then either Delaware County Times - 1994-Present or Delaware County Times Historic Archives - 1876-1994.

Both links take you to the Find Newspapers and Magazines on the Delaware County Library System Website. Select

Delaware County Times - 1994-Present
Delaware County Times Historic Archives - 1876-1994

Access Options:

Enter your name and Delaware County Library System barcode.
When you are visiting the Wolfgram Memorial Library, ask a librarian to enter the library's credentials.
Complete the Online Form to request a copy of a specific article by email. IMPORTANT: You must have the precise date and other details for the articles you request.

Searching the Databases

Delaware County Daily Times - 1994 - Present
Delaware County Times Historic Archives - 1876-1994

The Search Screen

Select Advanced Search

Delaware County Daily Times (Primos - Upper Darby, PA) search box with a red box highlighting Advanced Search

2. Add your search terms. We added Widener University and Robertson.

Advanced Seach Box with the phrase Widener University in the first box and the word Robertson in the second box.

The Brief Results

The 1st result displays the title: "Widener University names new president."
- Notice the search terms Widener University and Robertson are in bold in an excerpt from the full article to the right of the title.
- You can find the date of publication under the title.
- To access the article, click on the title or the Preview link.
When you click on a box opens with the first part of the article and a link to view the full document. The search terms are in bold.

The Full Results

Key Features of Full Record:

The full record features many icons on the top, providing valuable tools when selected, including:

- Text Size - Click here to enlarge the text
- Cite - Click here to export to RefWorks or get an APA or MLA citation suggestion. Note - Always check automatically generated citations against the official manual or guide.
- Download - Click here to download as PDF or save to Google Drive.
- Link - Click here to obtain a link to the article.

This database provides a rich historical resource for researchers of Delaware County, Widener University and it predecessor institutions. In additional to covering the paper from 1876 - 1994, this new database provides electronic access to the paper from 1978 - 1994 for the first time. (Previous databases did not cover these 16 years).

The Search Screen

Important Note - You do not have to login or create a free account to use this database, but creating a free account does allow you to save articles and clips that you have downloaded!

Click on Browse by Location
Select United States of America -- Pennsylvania -- Chester -- All Newspapers. This ensures that your results all come from this one publication (with its various titles) to which we provide access.

Search screen with 4 boxes - The following appear next to the labeled boxes Under Country - United States of America; Under State - Pennsylvania; Under City - Chester and Under Publication Title - Search All.

Once you select these locations, a Search or Browse box appears on the right side.
Select Advanced Search.

Advanced Search Screen

The Advanced Search screen offers many options for limiting your search. In this example of searching for articles about Widener University receiving university status in 1979, Enter the search term "University Status" in the 1st box with With the Exact Phrase selected and "Widener University" with With All of the Words in the 2nd box.
- Under Narrow by Location, notice that United Sates of America , Pennsylvania, Chester and Search all appear. This indicates that the locations you selected in Browse by Location are in effect.
- Under narrow by date, notice Year is selected and "1979" is entered in the box.
- Then select Search.

Newspaper Archives Search Screen with red boxes highlighting the search terms "University Status" and "Widener University" a red box around the location and Narrow by Year with 1979

The Brief Results

Key Features of the Brief Results Screen:

The name of the paper Delaware County Daily Times is in bold.
The day, month and year of publication is included for each result.
Each result includes the search terms highlighted in yellow.

Brief results screen showing 3 results, with the search terms highlighted in yellow in each result.

Full Results

Click on the result dated 20 Jun 1979

Key Features of the Full Results Screen:

An article on this page features the title, "Widener College gets status as university." Notice that the search terns are highlighted in yellow. (When you download the full page or article, the text will not be highlighted).
Select the Save Tool on the top of the screen to save the whole page of the paper where your article is found. You can then download the page as a PDF or image file. The date of publication as well as a link to the page in the database is provided.
Select the Clip Tool on the top of the screen to clip just the article that you want. You can then download the clip as a PDF or image file. The date of publication as well as a link to the page in the database is provided.
Using the Clip Tool:
- Select the clip tool.
- Use the rectangular box to outline of the article you want or click on one of the shapes provided to get the perfect shape of the article.
- You must tag it as something to proceed.
- Select Clip and you can download the clip as a PDF or PNG file.

Full article view featuring the title "Widener College gets status as university with arrows pointing to the Clip Tool and Save Tool

Downloaded Article as PDF

Key features of the downloaded article:

The clipped article looks authentic, it is not just the text reprinted.
Delaware County Daily Times, Chester PA, US and June 20, 1979 Page 1 is printed under the article.
A link to the full page where this article appears is included.

Selected Widener Articles Published from 1978-1994

Delaware County Daily Times Historic Archives 1876 - 1994 provides access to articles published from 1978-1994 for the first time. Widener University still has the microfilm for the paper from 1971-2015, but there is no index. This new database provides the opportunity to search the previous gap years and obtain the full articles. To celebrate this, selected articles representing this 16 year period about Widener University are included below. They provide a glimpse into that time period at the school.