Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Tutorials

This LibGuide contains step by step instructions for majority of research databases available in the Wolfgram collection.

MLA International Bibliography

About This Database

Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.

 

Basic Search

Enter your search terms / keywords. Search Options helps you to narrow your search by document type, full text, peer-review, date etc.

MLA International Bibliography screenshot with fields labeled

The Results List

From the results page you may:

  • Use the Refine Results section to narrow your search results
  • Download Full Text PDF or view Full Text online when available
  • Look for the article in another database using the Full Text Finder link
  • Request items using the InterLibrary Loan (Illiad Wolfgram) link
  • Search Widener University Catalog (WebPAC) to see if the library has the journal in print

 

Article Details

The Detailed Record

A PDF article is a scan of the original print document, including original page numbers, graphs, tables, and charts.

 

Detailed record and article full text screen shots with link and tool annotations

Citations

To copy a citation from an article's detailed record page, use the "Cite" tool on the left-hand side:

Screenshot of Citation tool with explanatory text

 

Remember to examine any citations produced with these citation tools for accuracy, double check names, dates, capitalization, punctuation and make any needed adjustments prior to submitting your work to your instructor.