Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Tutorials

This LibGuide contains step by step instructions for majority of research databases available in the Wolfgram collection.

About SciFinder

SciFinder® is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.

IMPORTANT: In order to use Widener's SciFinder database, you must create an account. Use the SciFinder First Time User Registration Link to create your account.

Screenshots with annotations

Results Screen One: Keyword, Concept, or both?

You must first click through this intermediate screen in order to view your search results.

SciFinder uses powerful Concept indexing to help you find more relevant articles.

Results screen with annotation

Results Screen Two - Brief Records

This database is designed to support chemical and biochemical research by allowing narrowing by substance, chemical reaction, and other kinds of data.

Annotated screenshots

Viewing Full Text

Like login, and viewing search results, SciFinder requires that you take a second action in order to view an article's full text. In this case, an exit screen takes you to the journal PLOS Genetics.

Multiple screenshots for full text access with annotations