Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Tutorials

This LibGuide contains step by step instructions for majority of research databases available in the Wolfgram collection.

Academic Video Online (AVON)

Avon Theatre and Drama posterAVON Food Studies Online PosterAVON LGBT Studies in Video posterAVON Health Sciences and Nursing PosterAvon World Newsreels Online, 1929-1966 poster

About This Database

Academic Video Online (AVON) provides unlimited access to more than 70,000 videos, including documentaries, interviews, field recordings, and films for classroom instruction. All of the videos have closed captioning available, as well as running transcripts. Users can email videos, embed them into Canvas, and create clips.

   Subject Strengths: The subject strengths include:

•	American History (12,000) •	Anthropology (3,200) •	Business & Economics (6,500) •	Counseling & Therapy (1,800) •	Education (5,700) •	Engineering (625) •	Health Policy (1,900) •	LGBT Studies (515) •	Literature (540) •	Media Studies (3,700) •	Nursing (2,100) •	Politics & Current Affairs (2,800) •	Psychology (875) •	Religion (570) •	Science (3,800) •	Women's Studies (540) •	World History (7,200)

 

Navigate to the Academic Videos Online (AVON)
Library Home Page A to Z Databases  ListAcademic Videos Online

 

NOTE: To access this and other subscription databases from off campus, you will be asked to enter your Widener username and password.

 

*IMPORTANT: Always follow this path to the database! There as is a free version with  limited full content.  Ensure the the Widener University Icon Widener Univesity Icon with 1821 in a sheild.always appears on the top left..

Searching Academic Video Online (AVON)

1. Search for a keyword or phrase.  Use quotation marks around specific titles. 

      Example: When you search for the work pandemics, notice that the 1821 shield is present and it defaults to searching the current channel.  Limiting to the current channel means you should have full access to all the videos listed.

Initial search screenw using the term Pandemics and with balck boxes around the 1821 shield and current collection

2. View the results:

THe results of the search for the term pandemics, with the number 147 and featureing 4 videos.  The filter icon has a black circle around it with an arrow stating Filter Icon.

The results indicate that 147 videos include this term, many have date stamps, showing recent dates.  The inclusion of a video on the Coronavirus for a search conducted in May 2020, indicates that new, timely videos are added regularly,                                  

3. Filter the results:

When you select the filter icon in the middle of the results screen, you obtain a list of choices, including subject, publisher, content type and language.  For this search, filtering using the Subject Influenza and English, results in 6 videos. (The broader the initial search terms, the more subjects you will have.)  NOTE: As all videos have English captions enabled, you can turn on the Closed Captions for a foreign-language video.

4. Filtered Results:

Filtered results showing 6 videos.

These results show 6 videos about Influenza and in English.

Video Tools

Select Spanish Flu: The Forgotten Fallen, a BBC video:

Full Video Screen with red boxes around the words Clips, Share and Closed Captioning.

Videos in AVON include the following tools:

Play, Rewind and Fast-Forward the Video in the Full Screen View.

Share:

  • Provides a Permalink to the video that you can share via email.
  • Provides an Embed Code that you can add to a Canvas Course Page.

Clips: To create and share clips, click on Sign in to create a New Clip and create a free personal account to store the clips.

Closed Captioning: Select the closed captioning icon closed captioning iconto turn captions on and off.