Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Tutorials

This LibGuide contains step by step instructions for majority of research databases available in the Wolfgram collection.

SocINDEX with Full Text

Searching SocINDEX With Full Text

  1. Navigate to the SocINDEX with Full Text database, enter your keywords and conduct your search. Follow the steps below:

  2. Enter your search terms / keywords. (To search for a phrase, put the words into quotation marks).
  3. The Search Modes and Expanders section provides options that broaden your search results. Use these sparingly, as you broaden your search the number of results might become overwhelming, or they might be too vague. Best utilized in the beginning stages of research, for example, when trying to decide on a research topic and you want to know what resources/items/materials are available.
  4. Limit your search results:
    • Full Text: Check this box to limit results to include only materials available in Full Text. Helpful when doing last-minute research and you don't have time to wait for interlibrary loan requests. This limiter may drastically reduce the number search results.
    • Scholarly (peer-reviewed) Journals: Check this box to ensure your search results only include items from scholarly journals. This eliminates the popular magazines and newspapers.
    • Date of Publication: You can specify a specific date range for the articles in your results.
    • Number of Pages: You can specify the number of pages for the articles you retireve.
  5. Click "Search"
     

The following example uses the keywords foster home care AND teenagers, while limiting the results to include only articles from Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals and articles published from 2010-2020.

Initial Search Screen of SocINDEX shows red boxes are around the word search and the Limit your results section, which has Scholarly (peer reviewed) journals selected, in publication date, 2010-2020 and in Number of Pages greater than 10 pages.

The Results List and Full Text Options

The Results List gives you the basic bibliographic information (article title, author(s), source title, page numbers, date, etc.) about each item as well as links to the full text.

On the Results List you may also see the following links underneath the article title:

  1. Search the Widener University Catalog: click here to view the Library Catalog (WebPac) holdings.
  2. ILLiad Wolfgram: Click here to request the article using InterLibrary Loan.
  3. HTML Full Text: Click here for the full text of the article in HTML format.
  4. PDF Full Text: Click here for the full article as a pdf, available for downloading/printing.
  5. Linked Full Text: This link means the full article is available for downloading/printing from one of the other online databases.
  6. Full Text Finder: Click here to see if the full text for this article is available from another Widener online resource.

Note: On the lower left side of the search screen, under Limit To, the limiters to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals and the publication dates from 2010-2020, previously selected, are featured.  This confirms that these are in place and can be changed here if needed.

Limited Results Diplay shows the two results from the previous search.  There is a red box around the PDF with Full Text Icon and the Full Text Finder and search the Widener University Catalog icons.

The Detailed Record

Accessing the electronic versions of articles through our online databases, offers you additional features and functionality.  The Detailed Record can serve as a mini-database as it often includes:

  • Links to the full text of the article.
  • An abstract.
  • Links to additional author(s) work
  • Direct links to additional journal issues/volumes
  • Hyperlinked Subject Terms to broaden or narrow your search
  • A link to the Cited References providing a list of the references the author(s) used to inform their scholarship.  Often this list include the PDFs of the articles.
  • Links to export the article to GoogleDrive or a citation manangement tool (such as RefWorks or Zotero), download the article, or generate a citation.

 

 

PDF Full Text Documents

The PDF documents you download from this database look exactly the same articles in the journal's print version and include the following useful features:

  • Original page numbers
  • Images, graphs, tables, and charts formatted correctly
  • Full list of references