Skip to main content

Database Tutorials

This LibGuide contains step by step instructions for majority of research databases available in the Wolfgram collection.

About the Medline Database

This international index for medical literature, produced by the National Library of Medicine. Addresses all aspects of medicine and health care and offers citations from nearly 4,000 journals, books and book chapters, research and other sources. Includes citations originally found in the print indexes.

Navigate to the MEDLINE Database

Library Home Page A to Z Database ListMEDLINE

NOTE: When attempting to access many of our electronic resources from Off Campus, you will be prompted to login using your Widener ID card or Library Research Card.

The Search

Be sure to access MEDLINE through the Wolfgram A-Z Database, the ensures you have access the Full Text materials that we subscribe to.

  1. Enter your Search Terms / Keywords
  2. Use the Limit to section to limit your results prior to conducting your search
  3. Submit your Search

In this example below, we are using the keywords "lyme disease" and children, without using any limiters. Note the use of quotation marks, this will ensure that the words are searched together.

Image of medline search process, where to enter search terms, and use limiters to refine search results.

The Results List

Image of search results page displaying how to refine the search, the total number of search results, and where to click for other material types.

Detailed Record

Image of article detail page displaying how to search the catalog for the print journal, how to request through InterLibrary Loan, how to find the full-text, the abstract, and subject terms,

Finding the Full Text

Find it in...

The Widener University Library Catalog
This brings you to the library catalog where you will find the record information, including location of the journal in print format.

  1. From the articles Detailed Record page select Search the Widener University Library Catalog
  2. Click to open the item record and view the location of the print journal

example of catalog search through medline database, while looking for full text in a print journal

Or Check the Full Text Finder
This will bring you to a new page where you will find links to the full text of a particular article, located in another database.

  1. From the articles Detailed Record page select Check Full Text Finder
  2. The Full Text Finder results page will provide you direct links to the articles full text, when available
  3. Follow the link and download your full text article