Skip to Main Content

Database Tutorials

This LibGuide contains step by step instructions for majority of research databases available in the Wolfgram collection.

Dissertation Databases

Widener University provides access to two ProQuest databases for finding dissertations:

Searching for Dissertations

  • This database provides access to dissertations and theses completed at Widener University.

  • This database provides Full-Text access to all works published after 1997.

 

Navigate to Dissertations & Theses @ Widener University

Wolfgram Memorial Library Homepage ► A to Z Database List ► Dissertations & These @ Widener University

The Search Screen

  1. Select Advanced Search
     
  2. Enter keyword(s) or the title of the publication.
     
  3. As this database features only works by Widener University students, change the search field to department and then select a specific department.

Example: This example is searching for the keyword Trauma, limiting to works published from the Department Social Work.This images shows the Search screeen of this database with the keyword Trauma and the Department Social Work, with red circles around the word Trauma and department.

  • You can also limit by the name of the author or advisor on this search screen.
     

The Brief Records

  • This search provides 18 results from the search terms:

This screen shows three dissertation tiltes from the search and a red box around the place to change the publication date range.

  • The three results shown above, include the title, author and date of publication for each dissertation listed.  The word Trauma is also highlighted in yellow for 2 of them, indicating the use of the search term.
  • Notice that the publication date range is 2013-2020, you can always adjust the date range by moving the toggle and selecting update.
     

The Detailed Record

  • Select -  Heel to Heal: The Connection Between Running and Trauma:

The full result shows the dissertation Heel to Heal: The Connection Between Running and Trauma with red circles around the Abstract/Details, Download PDF and Related Items.

  The Detailed Record has many useful tools:

  • Abstract/Details - Select this option to obtain all the metadata for the dissertation, use these details to find additional titles.
     
  • Download PDF  - Click on this link to download the full dissertation.
     
  • Related Items - This list provides links to related dissertations in this database, other ProQuest dissertations and in other resources.

 

  • This database provides access to dissertations and theses published at universities worldwide. 

  • Some titles are available in full text, through open access, and others provide a 24-page preview.

  • Note - Search for titles published in the last 5 years for more full text availability.

 

Navigate to Digital Dissertations

Wolfgram Memorial Library Homepage ► A to Z Database List ► Digital Dissertations

The Search Screen

  1. Select Advanced Search
     
  2. Enter keyword(s) or the title of the publication.
  3. By limiting the Publication date to the Last 10 years, you will obtain more results that offer the full text of the dissertation.

Example: This example is searching for the keywords Trauma and Qualitative Study, limiting to Publication in the Last 10 years.

This image shows the search screen of Digital Dissertations with red circles around the keywords, Trauma and qualitative study and a square highlighting Last 10 years.

Initial Results - Brief Record

1. Notice that the results include the date range 2015-2024 and the three results all have the full text available.

The results screen shows three results and red circles the publication date range 20151-2024.

  • Updating the publication date range to the most recent 5 years, enables you to obtain even more recent results:
     
    • Click on Update. This image shows the publication date box with the arrow moved and the date range 2019-2024 appearing in a box.
       
    • Move the pointer until 2019-2024 appears.
       
    • Select Update again.

 

 

 

 

The Detailed Record

Select - School Psychologists' Perceptions, Knowledge, Beliefs, and Attitudes Toward Expressive Therapies and Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT): A Qualitative Study

The full result shows the dissertation -- School Psychologists' Perceptions, Knowledge, Beliefs, and Attitudes Toward Expressive Therapies and Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT): A Qualitative Study -- with red circles around the Abstract/Details, Download PDF and Suggested Sources.

Important features of the Detailed Record:

  • Abstract/Details - Select this option to obtain all the metadata for the dissertation, use these details to find additional titles.
     
  • Download PDF  - Click on this link to download the full dissertation.
     
  • Suggested sources - This list provides links to related dissertations in this database.