Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

eBook Database Tutorials

Get Started!

About the ProQuest eBook Central Database

Contains electronic books across many academic disciplines with easy-to-use tools for taking notes and making citations. eBooks may be read online or be "checked out" for a limited period of time.

This is an interdisciplinary database covering, but not limited to the following subjects:

  • Arts 
  • Business
  • Education
  • General Interest
  • Health & Medicine
  • History & Political Science
  • Law
  • Literature & Language
  • Religion & Philosophy
  • Social Science
  • Science & Technology
  • Technology

Navigate to the ProQuest eBook Central Database

LibGuides Home Page A to Z Database ListProQuest eBook Central

Search for eBooks

Enter your Keywords / Search Terms (Use quotes around words to search for an exact phrase) and conduct your Search

ebook central basic search page, enter key words and hit search

Results Page

From the Results Page you are able to refine your results by

  • Year
  • Subject
  • Language
  • Author Name

Each book listed has quick access links that allow you to:

  • Download the entire book for offline reading (You will need to create a free account login)
  • Read Online
  • View Table of Contents
  • Add to book shelf for later access (You will need to create a free account login)

Each book listing also has:

  • Clickable links for each author, which allows you to search for other works by the author. 
  • Clickable link for the publisher which allows you to search for other books by the publisher.
  • The ISBN number.

 

ebook search result page, highlighting how to refine search results using limiters, how to download the ebook, read it online, and view the table of contents

Book Details Page

Clicking on the books title, will bring you to the books detail page.

  • The left side navigation area provides access links to the stable URL (aka: PermaLink) used for sharing the title or copy this link to use in your reference list. Here you will also see the Cite Book link, which allows you to copy a citation in your preferred format (ALA, MLA, CHICAGO Style) or export it directly to RefWorks. NOTE: Be sure to double check the citations for accuracy.
  • From the Availability section you will find links to accessing the eBook, including: Read Online, Download Book (note: you will need to create a free account login) and Download PDF Chapter. You will also find details regarding the exact number of pages you are permitted to Copy, Print or Download (see eBook Restrictions box for further details).
  • The Book Details section contains bibliography information, including the title, authors, publication date, publisher, and page numbers.
  • The Description section is the abstract for the book.
  • The Table of Contents section allows you to browse the books content and provides quick access to specific chapters or even the subsections for individual chapters. You can read the chapters online by clicking on "Read Online" or you can Download the PDF by clicking the link. (Note: there is a limit to how many PDF pages you can download. Check the count under the Availability section).

Image of ebook details page, highlighting how to download, share the link, cite the book, use the permalink, and navigate to specific chapters.

eBook Chapter Details

Opening the Read Online for a chapter offers many features.

  1.  The left navigation allows you to do a keyword search within the book. It also lists the Table of Contents where you can navigate to other chapters. 
  2. The features at the top of the page include the following:
    1. Full Download (Note: you need to create a free login).
    2. PDF chapter download
    3. The Permalink
    4. Create the citation in various styles (Note: review citation for errors).
    5. Zoom in or out
    6. navigate through the book pages
  3. Scroll through and read the chapter online. 

ACS Chapter details