eBook Database Tutorials

Discover smart and entertaining strategies for dealing with difficult emotions like anxiety, sadness, anger, and uncertainty. More than just "adulting"--this book will give you the real emotional skills you need to thrive! You'll learn to take charge of your emotional habits, stop feeling stuck, and discover what really matters to you.

As a twenty-something, you may feel like you are being pulled in dozen different directions. With the daily tumult, busyness, and major life changes you experience as a young adult, you may also be particularly vulnerable to stress and its negative effects. With Koru Mindfulness and the practical tools you'll learn from this acceptance-based, proven-effective approach, you'll be able to cultivate the compassion and mindfulness skills you need to manage life's challenges from a calm, balanced center, regardless of what comes your way.

Housewives, students, young adults in their first jobs, executive business-people, teachers, mothers, fathers, doctors, nurses, police officers, journalists... all complaining of feeling run-down, exhausted, overwhelmed and under-enthused about life in general and their lives in particular. Burnout is not only restricted to high-flying business executives, it can affect anyone. Recover from Burnout will help you to understand why we get it, how to get better from it, and how not to get it again.

Whether you're changing jobs, joining a group, or moving to a new city, putting yourself out there in new situations is no picnic. Blending stories and insights with simple techniques and exercises, this invaluable guide for the introvert will get you out of your comfort zone and trying new things in no time.

Creates a new framework for approaching Black women's wellness, by merging theory and practice with both personal narratives and public policy.

In this moving first-person narrative, Armstrong describes her struggle as a black woman with a disorder consistently portrayed as a white woman's problem.

Filled with strategies and advice, this empowering guide presents practical ways to improve the mental wellbeing of people on the Autism Spectrum.

Told in a mother's own words, this is a moving story of a loving African American family that faces the daily crisis of an unpredictable mental disorder.

Over the last decade autism spectrum disorder (ASD) has become an international topic of conversation, knowing no racial, ethnic, or social barriers. Behavior analyst and educator Jill Mullin has assembled a staggering array of work from established artists like Gregory Blackstock and Jessica Park to the unknown but no less talented. Their creations, coupled with artist interviews, comprise a fascinating and compelling book that serves to educate and inspire anyone who knows someone diagnosed with ASD.

This impressively honest book explores the effects a challenging disability or illness can have on the mind and personal relationships, and how friends, family and professionals can help.

This thoughtful collection addresses the issues faced by women with disabilities, examines the social construction of disability, and makes suggestions for the development and modification of culturally relevant therapy to meet the needs of disabled women. Written in an accessible style with a minimum of jargon, this book provides clinical material from the perspectives of psychotherapists, clients, personal assistants, and health administrators.

The theory and practice of medicine remains central to the concerns of persons identified as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex or others. Aiming to incubate serious and sustained work on the centrality of the medical establishment to queer lives, this anthology will be of particular interest to medical practitioners, queer activists, members of the LGBT community, and all readers who believe that every individual should receive medical attention that is shorn of prejudice of any kind.

This handbook is written for transgender people, their families and friends; for professionals who in their day-to-day job may encounter transgender people; and for students, teachers, educators, academics, and members of the public at large with an interest in transgender people.

Technology and Engagement is based on a four-year study of how first generation college students use social media, aimed at improving their transition to and engagement with their university. Through web technology, including social media sites, students were better able to maintain close ties with family and friends from home, as well as engage more with social and academic programs at their university.

More first-generation students are attending college than ever before, and policy makers agree that increasing their participation in higher education is a matter of priority. Despite this, there is no agreed definition about the term, few institutions can quantify how many first-generation students are enrolled, or mistakenly conflate them with low-income students, and many important dimensions to the first-generation student experience remain poorly documented. This book provides high-level administrators with a plan of action for deans to create the awareness necessary for meaningful long-term change, sets out a campus acclimation process, and provides guidelines for the necessary support structures.

A powerful and practical guide to help you navigate racism, challenge privilege, manage stress and trauma, and begin to heal. Healing from racism is a journey that often involves reliving trauma and experiencing feelings of shame, guilt, and anxiety. In so many ways, to heal from racism, you must re-educate yourself and unlearn the processes of racism. The Racial Healing Handbook offers practical tools to help you navigate daily and past experiences of racism, challenge internalized negative messages and privileges, and handle feelings of stress and shame.

This science-based graphic book reveals just how strange anxiety is, and how to unravel its mysteries and relieve its effects.

*Trigger Warning: Sexual Abuse* This extraordinary graphic novel is a powerful denunciation of sexual violence against women. As seen through the eyes of a twelve-year-old girl named Una, it takes place in northern England in 1977, as the Yorkshire Ripper, a serial killer of prostitutes, is on the loose and creating panic among the townspeople. The book is a no-holds-barred indictment of sexual violence against women and the shame and blame of its victims that also celebrates the empowerment of those able to gain control over their selves and their bodies.

This inaugural volume in the Graphic Medicine series establishes the principles of graphic medicine and begins to map the field.

This full-color, beautifully illustrated edition features more than fifty percent new content, with ten never-before-seen essays and one wholly revised and expanded piece as well as classics from the website like, "The God of Cake," "Dogs Don't Understand Basic Concepts Like Moving," and her astonishing, "Adventures in Depression," and "Depression Part Two," which have been hailed as some of the most insightful meditations on the disease ever written. Brosh's debut marks the launch of a major new American humorist who will surely make even the biggest scrooge or snob laugh. We dare you not to.

*Trigger Warning: Eating Disorders* At once punk rock and poignant, Ink in Water is the visceral and groundbreaking graphic memoir of a young woman's devastating struggle with negative body image and eating disorders, and how she rose above her own destructive behaviors and feelings of inadequacy to live a life of strength and empowerment.

Ruby's simple drawings of not-so-simple issues capture the humor and melancholy of everyday life.

Whether you are a professional artist or designer, a student pursuing a creative career, a person of faith, someone who likes walks on the beach, or a dreamer who sits on the front porch contemplating life, this collection of one- and two-page comics will provide insight into the joys and frustrations of creativity, inspiration, and process - no matter your age or creative background.

*Trigger Warning: Sexual Abuse* Bringing together the voices of males and females of all ages, the stories in this collective graphic memoir reflect real life experiences of sexual abuse, violence and harassment.

This unique comic explains the strange nature of trauma and how it confuses the brain and affects the body.