Wolfgram Subject Guides: Engineering: Senior Projects

Guide to Research for Engineering Senior Projects

WHAT SUBJECT GUIDE TO SELECT: For Senior Project students, select the yellow tab above (biomedical, chemical, civil, electrical or mechanical) that lists resources specific to your project's area of study. Depending on your topic, you may want to explore resources in some of the other areas as well.

USING THE DATABASES: On each page, you will find instructions for how to use the most important databases in each area of Engineering.

FOR ARTICLES YOU CANNOT FIND: If you do not find the full text of an article you are looking for, use the ILLiad | Interlibrary Loan System found on the front page of the Wolfgram Memorial Library homepage and we will work to get the article for you from another library. To find more information visit the ILLiad InterLibrary Loan tutorial.

QUESTIONS: For questions, please contact me by email at rmgoldstein@widener.edu, or by phone at 610-499-4079. To reach the Research Desk, use the library chat embedded below and whoever is on duty can either help you or forward your question to me.

INDIVIDUAL ASSISTANCE: I will be glad to make an appointment with you for a research consultation if you are having problems finding the articles that you need for your research.

Roz Goldstein
Engineering Librarian

You can view past Engineering Senior Projects here

Compendex | Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1969 - present
A comprehensive engineering platform, contains journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, trade magazines, technical reports, and engineering information ideal for supporting the varying engineering research initiatives.
Online Tutorial Available Here
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1946 - present
International index for medical literature, produced by the National Library of Medicine. Addresses all aspects of medicine and health care and offers citations from nearly 4,000 journals, books and book chapters, research and other sources. Includes citations originally found in the print indexes.
Online Tutorial Available Here
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Coverage: varies
PQC allows you to search multiple top databases within one platform

Online Tutorial Available Here
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Access to the full-text of IEEE content published beginning 1872 from:
IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents, IEEE conferences, IET journals, IET conferences, IEEE published standards, and IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1975 - present
This comprehensive database of indexed and full-text content offers a vast knowledge base pertaining to traditional computing and applied sciences challenges and resources. It is an outstanding source for content concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
Link your search to Wolfgram Library for access to Full Text, from within your Google Scholar search results... find out how below.
Online Tutorial Available Here
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains electronic books across many academic disciplines. Books may be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Online Tutorial Available Here

Download for Android Here | Download for Apple IOS Here
NOTE: Desktop: Adobe® Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher is required for offline viewing.
Apple and Android devices: Bluefire Reader is recommended
Kindle: PDFs can be created in the eBook Full Text view and transferred using Send To Kindle
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office This link opens in a new window
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office: Database of United States patents.

Compendex | Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1969 - present
A comprehensive engineering platform, contains journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, trade magazines, technical reports, and engineering information ideal for supporting the varying engineering research initiatives.
Online Tutorial Available Here
ACS Publications | American Chemical Society This link opens in a new window
Coverage: varies
The ACS Journal Archives provide searchable full-text access to over 130 years of original research in chemistry, including more than 450,000 articles dating back to the inaugural volume of the Journal of the American Chemical Society in 1879. ACS publishes more than 35 peer-reviewed journals with articles across a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Download for Android Here | Download for Apple IOS Here
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1975 - present
This comprehensive database of indexed and full-text content offers a vast knowledge base pertaining to traditional computing and applied sciences challenges and resources. It is an outstanding source for content concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
Online Tutorial Available Here
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Coverage: varies
PQC allows you to search multiple top databases within one platform

Online Tutorial Available Here
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
Link your search to Wolfgram Library for access to Full Text, from within your Google Scholar search results... find out how below.
Online Tutorial Available Here
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains electronic books across many academic disciplines. Books may be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Online Tutorial Available Here

Download for Android Here | Download for Apple IOS Here
NOTE: Desktop: Adobe® Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher is required for offline viewing.
Apple and Android devices: Bluefire Reader is recommended
Kindle: PDFs can be created in the eBook Full Text view and transferred using Send To Kindle
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office This link opens in a new window
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office: Database of United States patents.

Compendex | Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1969 - present
A comprehensive engineering platform, contains journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, trade magazines, technical reports, and engineering information ideal for supporting the varying engineering research initiatives.
Online Tutorial Available Here
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Coverage: varies
PQC allows you to search multiple top databases within one platform

Online Tutorial Available Here
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1975 - present
This comprehensive database of indexed and full-text content offers a vast knowledge base pertaining to traditional computing and applied sciences challenges and resources. It is an outstanding source for content concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
Link your search to Wolfgram Library for access to Full Text, from within your Google Scholar search results... find out how below.
Online Tutorial Available Here
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office This link opens in a new window
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office: Database of United States patents.

Compendex | Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1969 - present
A comprehensive engineering platform, contains journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, trade magazines, technical reports, and engineering information ideal for supporting the varying engineering research initiatives.
Online Tutorial Available Here
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Access to the full-text of IEEE content published beginning 1872 from:
IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents, IEEE conferences, IET journals, IET conferences, IEEE published standards, and IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1975 - present
This comprehensive database of indexed and full-text content offers a vast knowledge base pertaining to traditional computing and applied sciences challenges and resources. It is an outstanding source for content concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
Online Tutorial Available Here
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Coverage: varies
PQC allows you to search multiple top databases within one platform

Online Tutorial Available Here
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
Link your search to Wolfgram Library for access to Full Text, from within your Google Scholar search results... find out how below.
Online Tutorial Available Here
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains electronic books across many academic disciplines. Books may be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Online Tutorial Available Here

Download for Android Here | Download for Apple IOS Here
NOTE: Desktop: Adobe® Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher is required for offline viewing.
Apple and Android devices: Bluefire Reader is recommended
Kindle: PDFs can be created in the eBook Full Text view and transferred using Send To Kindle

Compendex | Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1969 - present
A comprehensive engineering platform, contains journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, trade magazines, technical reports, and engineering information ideal for supporting the varying engineering research initiatives.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1975 - present
This comprehensive database of indexed and full-text content offers a vast knowledge base pertaining to traditional computing and applied sciences challenges and resources. It is an outstanding source for content concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
Online Tutorial Available Here
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Coverage: varies
PQC allows you to search multiple top databases within one platform

Online Tutorial Available Here
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
Link your search to Wolfgram Library for access to Full Text, from within your Google Scholar search results... find out how below.
Online Tutorial Available Here
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office This link opens in a new window
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office: Database of United States patents.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains electronic books across many academic disciplines. Books may be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Online Tutorial Available Here

Download for Android Here | Download for Apple IOS Here
NOTE: Desktop: Adobe® Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher is required for offline viewing.
Apple and Android devices: Bluefire Reader is recommended