WebPAC | Library Catalog Search
EngineeringCore contains more than 5300 titles covering all aspects of engineering, including biotechnology, civil engineering, electrical engineering, aerospace, robotics, energy sciences, industrial safety, project management, and more. Professionals can broaden their knowledge of the engineering industry to support future decision making, facilitate product design, and implement industry best practices.
The Intelligent Technologies and Robotics eBook collection offers established knowledge as well as cutting-edge research in over 350 publications.
Contains electronic books across many academic disciplines. Some books may be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Contains electronic books across many academic disciplines. Some books may be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Contains ebooks across many academic disciplines with easy-to-use tools for taking notes and making citations. eBooks may be read online or be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
WebPAC | Library Catalog Search
Encyclopedia of Science and Technology by
For nearly four decades, the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology has lead the world to the ever-expanding frontiers of science. Our seven previous editions are the most consulted, most respected, and best-reviewed science and technical references in the English language. And our new Eighth Edition will build on the strength of its predecessors, and become the science and technology reference of choice for thousands of libraries around the world. The 20 volumes of the Eighth Edition have been updated and revised to provide in-depth coverage of the latest international advances and newest developments in all areas of contemporary science and technology. There are 1,500 new articles, and an additional 250 articles completely revised. We've added more than 200 new contributors, supervised by 30 new members of our prestigious Editorial Board. In addition, there are new graphics, new double-page color spreads, completely revised bibliographies throughout, and a superb new Activities Guide to help teachers and librarians lead young people into the exciting world of science. -- allometry -- archeoastronomy -- blue straggler star -- carpal tunnel syndrome -- computational fluid dynamics -- cytokine -- decision support systems -- digital filter -- drug delivery systems -- fullerene -- geographic information systems -- Godel's theorem -- indoor air pollution -- mastisis -- mathematical software -- Maxwell's d
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by
This detailed reference of chemical technology has been revised and updated to include new subject areas, such as biotechnology, computer applications, analytical techniques, environmental concerns, composite materials, materials science and pharmaceuticals.
Encyclopedia of Fluid Mechanics by 
ASM Handbook by
A comprehensive guide to compositions, properties, performance, and selection of cast irons, carbon and low-alloy steels, tool steels, stainless steels, and superalloys. Contains 1,328 illustrations (photographs, charts, and graphs). More than 500 tables provide extensive data for alloy designations, compositions, and mechanical and physical properties. This handbook is the best single-volume reference work on the properties and selection of ferrous metals and alloys. It features contributions from more than 200 technical experts.
Modern Scientists and Engineers by Below are several examples of Reference eBooks related to Engineering topics.
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change by
The First Edition of the Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change provided a multi-authored, academic, yet non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of global warming, to appreciate the effects of human activity and greenhouse gases around the world, and to learn the history of climate change and the research enterprise examining it. This edition was well received, with notable reviews. Since its publication, the debate over the advent of global warming at least partially brought on by human enterprise has continued to ebb and flow, depending literally on the weather, politics, and media coverage of climate summits and debates. Advances in research also change the discourse as new data is collected and new scientific projects continue to explore and explain global warming and climate change. Thus, a new, Second Edition updates more than half of the original entries and adds new perspectives and content to keep students and researchers up-to-date in a field that has proven provocatively lively.
Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Society by
Nanoscience is an exploding field that has been described as the Next Big Thing, equivalent to a New Industrial Revolution. The fields touched by its applications include information technology, biotechnology and health care, energy production and utilization, security and national defense, food and agriculture, aerospace, manufacturing, and environmental improvement. 2004 saw publication of two huge multi-volume works (Schwarz and Nalwa), but as a January 2005 Choice review noted, the field is changing so rapidly you almost could consider any encyclopedia on the topic obsolete on arrival. While that may be somewhat true of specific details of a fast-moving technology, more enduring will be the social issues raised by emerging technologies like these. That same Choice review noted neither of the new encyclopedias attempted to deal with such issues, focusing instead on engineering aspects, #65533;so economic and social implications of nanoresearch await treatment.#65533; We propose to provide that treatment in an encyclopedia covering the ethical, legal, policy, social, economic, and business issues raised by the science and the technology. Because of their far-reaching consequences, truly transformative technologies always generate controversy. Thus, while nanotechnologies hold promise to dramatically improve quality of life, the popular press often focuses on negative specters of a Frankenstein or a Pandora#65533;s box. Somewhere between the hype of those promising abundance for all and the gloom of those forecasting global doom are social scientists and ethicists attempting to identify and understand the broad implications of nanotechnology, to gauge its promise and acceptance, to assess impacts for decisions by regulatory agencies, and to facilitate the development of judicious policy approaches to new technology options.
Handbook of Environment and Waste Management by
This is a compilation of topics that are at the forefront of many technical advances and practices in air and water control. These include air pollution control, water pollution control, water treatment, wastewater treatment, industrial waste treatment and small scale wastewater treatment.
Handbook of Renewable Energy Technology by
This text provides a comprehensive coverage of renewable energy technologies, such as wind, wave and solar thermal energy. Other industrial terms like photovoltaic systems, biomass, distributed generations and small hydro power stations are also discussed and further elaborated upon.
Handbook of Sustainable Energy by
Sustainable energy is the provision of energy such that it meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their needs. A broader interpretation may allow inclusion of fossil fuels and nuclear fission as transitional sources while technology develops, as long as new sources are developed for future generations to use. A narrower interpretation includes only energy sources which are not expected to be depleted in a time frame relevant to the human race. Sustainable energy sources are most often regarded as including all renewable sources, such as biofuels, solar power, wind power, wave power, geothermal power and tidal power. It usually also includes technologies that improve energy efficiency. This new and important handbook gathers the latest research from around the globe in the study of sustainable energy and highlights such topics as: monitoring sustainable energy development; methane; energy and territory; biodiesel production; electrochemical hydrogen storage; environmental policies in an electricity sector and others).