American Chemical Society
Founded in 1876 and chartered by the U.S. Congress, we are the world’s largest scientific society. Our mission is to advance the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Earth and its people. Our vision is to improve people’s lives through the transforming power of chemistry.
American Chemistry Council
ACC is the primary trade group and lobbying organization for the US chemical industry. It publishes numerous reports, studies, and fact sheets. Beware of a strong anti-regulatory bias in its content.
Bureau of Labor Statistics: PPI
The BLS provides interactive tables of Producer Price Index data for commodities including chemicals.
BuyersGuideChem
Meta-site based in Germany.
ChemBuyersGuide.com
International meta-catalog site.
Chemical Data Access Tool (CDAT)
"Find a range of chemical-specific information submitted to EPA under the Toxic Substances Control Act." Caveat: TSCA data are self-reported, dated, and spotty, and companies frequently use a confidentiality exemption. Some production data are included.
Chemical Economics Handbook
Produced by IHS (formerly by SRI), the CEH is a source of commercial chemical market analysis for industry players. Its periodic reports on major commodity chemicals are thoroughly researched and very expensive, but abstracts are publicly available.
Chemical Engineering Buyers' Guide
Search for products or companies, or browse by category.
Chemical Week Buyers' Guide
Browse by type of service/product, and search by supplier, product, trade names, etc.
Elements of the Business of Chemistry (2017)
American Chemistry Council's profile of the U.S. chemical industry, covering everything from production and trade, to transportation and environmental performance. (Bias warning: ACC is the principal trade group and lobbying arm of the chemical industry.)
FRED Economic Data: PPI for Chemicals and Allied Products
Producer Price Index (PPI) trends for commodity chemicals and related products. (Federal Reserve of St Louis)
IHS Chemicals
IHS has acquired most of the major chemical market intelligence companies in recent years, including Chemical Market Associates (CMAI), SRI Consulting, and the magazine Chemical Week.
LookChem
A trading site of chemicals from various suppliers, mostly in China.
ThomasNet
ThomasNet (formerly the Thomas Register) profiles North American companies that manufacture various products and commodities. Search by product name or browse in the chemical categories. Includes a White Paper library of market analysis and case studies.
US Energy Information Administration : Petroleum and other Liquids
Current and historical prices for crude oil, gasoline, heating oil, diesel fuel, and propane, along with analysis and updates. [US EIA/DOE]
US Geological Survey: National Minerals Information Center
"Statistics and information on the worldwide supply of, demand for, and flow of minerals and materials essential to the U.S. economy, the national security, and protection of the environment." Includes annual reports on commodity minerals.
Air and Waste Management Association (A&WMA)
A nonprofit, nonpartisan professional organization that provides training, information, and networking opportunities to thousands of environmental professionals in 65 countries.
American Concrete Institute (ACI)
ACI is a technical and educational society with almost 16,000 members in 115 countries and 97 chapters in 32 countries. This site includes information about the organization, ACI student fellowships and scholarships as well as a searchable database for ACI publications dated back 1929.
American Institute of Steel Construction
Includes free technical publications, such as design guides and spec and codes.
American Public Works Association (APWA)
The American Public Works Association is an international educational and professional association of public agencies, private sector companies, and individuals dedicated to providing high quality public works goods and services.
American Society of Civil Engineers
The major professional society for civil engineers. Their site includes information on the society, its projects and links to related pages.
ASM International
ASM International is the society for materials engineers and scientists a worldwide network dedicated to advancing industry, technology and applications of metals and materials.
Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors (AEESP)
A private nonprofit organization with more than 700 members in universities throughout the world. This site includes links to BS, MS and Ph.D. degree programs in environmental engineering or sciences. The Environmental Engineering Student Forum (EESF) under AEESP allows students to be exposed to a variety of fields and professional organizations of environmental engineering and science.
Association of State Drinking Water Administrators (ASDWA)
The professional association serving state drinking water programs.
Atlanta Regional Commission (ARC)
The Atlanta Regional Commission (ARC) is the regional planning and intergovernmental coordination agency for the 10-county area including the City of Atlanta.
Institute of Structural Engineers
The Institute of Structural Engineers (UK) is an internationally recognised source of expertise and information concerning all issues that involve structural engineering and public safety within the built environment.
International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD)
Founded in 1990, the International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD) is in the business of promoting change towards sustainable development. This site includes publications (in PDF format) by theme, such as community sustainability, economic policy, secrity, measurement and assessment, and so on.
International Society for Rock Mechanics (ISRM)
ISRM was created in 1962 with about 5,000 current members from almost 50 countries. This site provides information on society conferences, interests groups, products and publications including educational software.
International Society for Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering (ISSMGE)
ISSMGE is a global organization, with over 17,000 individual members around the world, representing the interests and activities of Engineers, Academics and Contractors that actively participate in ground engineering. This site includes a conference database, full text guidelines for professional practice and links to other related interests.
National Resources Defense Council (NRDC)
An environmental action organization with 1.2 million members and online activists to protect the planet's wildlife and wild places and to ensure a safe and healthy environment for all living things.
Association for Bridge Construction and Design
Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute (PCI)
U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC)
The U.S. Green Building Council is a national coalition of leaders from across the building industry working to promote buildings that are environmentally responsible, profitable and healthy places to live and work.
Water Environmental Federation (WEF)
A not-for-profit technical and educational organization with members from varied disciplines working to preserve and enhance the global water environment. This site includes links to global policy development, training and professional development, publications as well as EPA funded projects.
Wei-Wen Yu Center for Cold-Formed Steel Structures
Established at the University of Missouri-Rolla in 1990, the Center for Cold-Formed Steel Structures (CCFSS) was funded with an initial grant from the American Iron and Steel Institute.
World Resources Institute (WRI)
The World Resources Institute (WRI) is an environmental think tank that goes beyond research to create practical ways to protect the Earth and improve people?s lives.
The International Association of Mechanical Engineers
The IAENG Society of Mechanical Engineering (ISME) is organized for the mechanical engineers and the scholars in the mechanical engineering discipline. Through regularly scheduled conferences and workshops on the mechanical engineering, the IAENG Society of Mechanical Engineering serves as a forum for networking, information sharing, idea exchange and problem solving for the mechanical engineering community.
eFluids
A web portal designed to serve as a one-stop web information resource for anyone working in the areas of flow engineering, fluid mechanics research and directly related topics.
A free online service providing access to Web resources for education and research. It covers the physical sciences, engineering, computing, geography, mathematics and environmental science.
The WWW Virtual Library-Engineering
A catalog of engineering resources.