Skip to main content

Widener University Archives & Distinctive Collections

About Us!

Printed image of Old Main

Introduction

Widener University traces its origins to Wilmington, Delaware, where it began in 1821 as a small Quaker school for boys. Since then, the school has been transformed numerous times, changing into Pennsylvania Military Academy, Pennsylvania Military College, PMC Colleges, Widener College, and finally Widener University. The holdings of the University Archives document much of this rich and diverse history. Our online digital exhibits, including our Oral Histories by PMC graduates, give a flavor of life as it was experienced by the many diverse students who have been educated here.

Mission

The mission of the Widener University Archives is to collect, preserve and make available to researchers, print and digital materials such as papers, photographs, audiovisual items and memorabilia related to the history of Widener, its predecessor institutions, and the Chester community. The Archives focuses on assisting Widener administration, faculty, and staff as they work to achieve the goals of the University, as well as assisting students as they research the history of the institution. The Archives also reaches out to the broader community by making its resources available to off-campus researchers. In addition, the Archives partners with the PMC Museum to create exhibits celebrating the institutions rich history.

Contact Us

The University Archives are located at:

Wolfgram Memorial Library

Widener University 

One University Place

Chester, PA 19013

If you have any research questions, would like to donate related materials, or wish to schedule an appointment to view our physical holdings, please contact University Archivist Jill Borin (610) 499-4376 or Assistant Archivist Kayla Van Osten (610) 499-4591.