 |
Library Barcode Required |
 |
Electronic Book (eBook) |
 |
Print Resource |
 |
DVD Video |
 |
Additional Information |
 |
Open Access Resource |
 |
Website |
 |
Newly Added Resource |
 |
WorldCat Link |
Discovery @ Widener
WebPAC | Library Catalog Search
Historical Dictionary of Asian American Literature and Theater by
The Historical Dictionary of Asian American Literature and Theater covers the activities in this burgeoning field. First, its history is traced year by year from 1887 to the present, in a chronology, and the introduction provides a good overview. The most important section is the dictionary, with over 600 substantial and cross-referenced entries on authors, books, and genres as well as more general ones describing the historical background, cultural features, techniques and major theatres and clubs. More reading can be found through an extensive bibliography with general works and those on specific authors.
Historical Dictionary of Latin American Literature and Theater by
The Historical Dictionary of Latin American Literature and Theater provides users with an accessible single-volume reference tool covering Portuguese-speaking Brazil and the 16 Spanish-speaking countries of continental Latin America. Entries for authors, ranging from the early colonial period to the present, give succinct biographical data and an account of the author's literary production, with particular attention to their most prominent works and where they belong in literary history. Separate dictionary entries for each country offer insight into the history of national literatures. Entries for literary terms, movements, and genres serve to complement these commentaries, and an extensive bibliography points the way for further reading.
Historical Dictionary of Modern Japanese Literature and Theater by
Historical Dictionary of Modern Japanese Literature and Theater presents a broad perspective on the development and history of literature--narrative, poetry, and drama--in modern Japan. This book offers a chronology, introduction, bibliography, and over 400 cross-referenced dictionary entries on authors, literary and historical developments, trends, genres, and concepts that played a central role in the evolution of modern Japanese literature.
The Methuen Drama Dictionary of the Theatre by
This essential reference tool contains more than 2500 entries covering everything from the main stage to the fringes of theatrical fact and folklore. It contains biographies of playwrights, actors and directors, information on theatres and theatre companies and explanations of technical terms, theatre genres, and synopses of major plays.
Shakespearean Concepts
A handbook for school and university students of English literature studying Shakespeare. Arranged alphabetically, it provides a guide to the meaning and usage of over 500 Shakespearean concepts. The author is a specialist in the period 1560-1800 and is co-editor of New Theatre Quarterly.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater by
This volume traces the history of Latin American theater, including the Nuyorican and Chicano theaters of the United States, and surveys its history from the pre-Columbian period to the present. The entries for playwrights provide factual information about the dramatist's life and works and place the author within the larger context of international literature. Each entry closes with a list of works by and about the playwright. A selected, general bibliography appears at the end of the volume.
Encyclopedia of Musical Theater by
The acclaimed Encyclopedia of Musical Theatre -- a 1994 Dartmouth Medal honorable mention -- has been fully revised and updated to document developments with 500 new articles, more than 4,000 revised articles and dozens of color photos. From the dawn of operetta in the 18th century to the present, this set offers an unrivaled amount of information on the people, the songs and shows in America and around the world.
Contains electronic books across many academic disciplines. Some books may be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Contains electronic books across many academic disciplines. Some books may be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Contains ebooks across many academic disciplines with easy-to-use tools for taking notes and making citations. eBooks may be read online or be "checked out" for a limited period of time.