Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Work

This guide covers selected resources for Social Work research available through the Wolfgram Library.

Getting Started

  • Every major government and private agency has a website.
  • Most major government agencies have subsidiary agencies.  Both the parent agency’s website and the subsidiary agency’s website provide access to policies and information.
  • You can get valuable policy and program information from both the parent agency’s website and the subsidiary agency’s website as well as links to additional agencies and policies.
  • The sites include important primary source material about the policies and programs as well as the policies themselves.
  • Laws and legislation are examples of pure policies that assist people.  By finding the full text of legislation, you can obtain the language used by legislators to address social problems.

Sources to Consider:

  • Government Agency Websites
  • Private Agency Websites
  • Legislative Websites

Searching for Social Policies and Legislation

Set Up Your Search

In the following example  search for Government Agencies shows the search example for government agencies working on mental illness issues
working on Mental Illness.

 

  1. Go to www.google.com
  2. Under Settings, select Advanced Search
  3. Enter your Search Terms in the all theses words section (ex: Mental Illness)
  4. In the narrow your results by section, under site or domain, enter .gov (This ensures all results will come from U.S. Government sites)
  5. Select Advanced Search.

 

 

 

 

 

From the Results List

Select: NIMH » Mental Health Information -- https://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/topics/index.shtml

  1. Notice how the title clearly places this agency as a subsidiary of the National Institutes of Health

  2. Look at the Health topics listed on the page, select Depression. This page includes a general description of this disorder and provides links to:

    • Science News about Depression
    • Featured Publications about Depression
    • Research Results
    • Journal Articles about Depression from PubMed
    • Clinical Trials
  3. From the Outreach tab, select Outreach Partnership Program, then click on National Partners.  This provides a list of over 80 National Organizations offering programs to help people with Mental Illness.

  4. Search the National Institutes of Health website --  https://www.nih.gov -- for Mental Illness. You will find information about programs sponsored by other government agencies as well.

Set Up Your Search

In the following example search for policy information about Head Start.
example google search as described above

 

  1. Go to www.google.com
  2. Under Settings, select Advanced Search
  3. Enter your Search Terms in the all theses words section (ex: Head Start)
  4. In the narrow your results by section, under site or domain, enter .gov (This ensures all results will come from U.S. Government sites)
  5. Select Advanced Search.

 

 

 

 

 

From the Results List

 

Select: Home | Office of Head Start | Administration for Children and Families --  https://www.acf.hhs.gov/ohs

  1. Notice the title clearly places this agency as a subsidiary of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services

  2. This site provides background about the program, data & reports as well as a Policy & Regulation section that includes the Head Start Act of 2007

Office of Head Start website, highlighting the Policy & Regulation section

Click on Public Law 110-134 Improving Head Start for School Readiness Act of 2007 and you will obtian tge Full Text of this legislation.

 

In the following example search for The Foster Care Independence Act of 1999.

  1. Go to congress.gov
  2. In the search box drop down, change from Current Legislation to All Legislation
  3. Enter the search term: "Foster Care Independence Act of 1999" (use quotation marks to locate the exact legislation)
  4. Click Search

    search page, highlighting steps 1-3 as described above

  5. From the Results List, limit your search to tatus of Legislation: Select Became Law to obtain only bills that have become law.
  6. Clicking on the Bill Number will bring you to the full text of the Legislation.

search results page, highlighting steps 4-6 as described above

In the following example search for current legislation on Foster Care.

  1. Go to congress.gov
  2. In the search box drop down, keep it set for Current Legislation
  3. Enter your Keyword(s), “Foster Care” (use quotation marks)
  4. Click Search
  5. You will obtain 188 Bills, Laws or Resolutions that demonstrate how the current congress is discussing the term Foster Care, .
    • H.R.2952 | Foster Youth Mentoring Act of 2017
    • S.1215 | Foster Youth Independence Act of 2017
    • H.R.2847 | Improving Services for Older Youth in Foster Care Act
    • H.R.2236 | Foster and Homeless Youth Food Security Act of 2017
    • S.1795 | Higher Education Access and Success for Homeless and Foster Youth Ac
  6. From the Results List, limit to Status of Legislation (Became Law), and  you obtain the 7 Bills that have passed by the current congress.
  7. Clicking on the Bill/Resolution Number will bring you to the full text of the legislation

search results page, highlighting steps 1-6 as described above