eBook Academic CollectionThis link opens in a new windowContains electronic books across many academic disciplines. Books may be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Download for Android Here | Download for Apple IOS Here
EBSCO eBook CollectionThis link opens in a new windowContains electronic books across many academic disciplines. Books may be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Download for Android Here | Download for Apple IOS Here
ProQuest eBook CentralThis link opens in a new windowContains electronic books across many academic disciplines with easy-to-use tools for taking notes and making citations. eBooks may be read online or be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Online Tutorial Available Here
The Body Keeps the Score by Bessel van der Kolk#1 New York Times bestseller "Essential reading for anyone interested in understanding and treating traumatic stress and the scope of its impact on society." --Alexander McFarlane, Director of the Centre for Traumatic Stress Studies A pioneering researcher transforms our understanding of trauma and offers a bold new paradigm for healing in this New York Times bestseller Trauma is a fact of life. Veterans and their families deal with the painful aftermath of combat; one in five Americans has been molested; one in four grew up with alcoholics; one in three couples have engaged in physical violence. Dr. Bessel van der Kolk, one of the world's foremost experts on trauma, has spent over three decades working with survivors. In The Body Keeps the Score, he uses recent scientific advances to show how trauma literally reshapes both body and brain, compromising sufferers' capacities for pleasure, engagement, self-control, and trust. He explores innovative treatments--from neurofeedback and meditation to sports, drama, and yoga--that offer new paths to recovery by activating the brain's natural neuroplasticity. Based on Dr. van der Kolk's own research and that of other leading specialists, The Body Keeps the Score exposes the tremendous power of our relationships both to hurt and to heal--and offers new hope for reclaiming lives.
Publication Date: 2015-09-08
The Boy Who Was Raised as a Dog by Bruce Perry; Maia SzalavitzWhat happens when a young brain is traumatized? How does terror, abuse, or disaster affect a child's mind--and how can that mind recover? Child psychiatrist Bruce Perry has helped children faced with unimaginable horror: genocide survivors, murder witnesses, kidnapped teenagers, and victims of family violence. InThe Boy Who Was Raised as a Dog, he tells their stories of trauma and transformation through the lens of science, revealing the brain's astonishing capacity for healing. Deftly combining unforgettable case histories with his own compassionate, insightful strategies for rehabilitation, Perry explains what exactly happens to the brain when a child is exposed to extreme stress-and reveals the unexpected measures that can be taken to ease a child's pain and help him grow into a healthy adult. Through the stories of children who recover-physically, mentally, and emotionally-from the most devastating circumstances, Perry shows how simple things like surroundings, affection, language, and touch can deeply impact the developing brain, for better or for worse. In this deeply informed and moving book, Bruce Perry dramatically demonstrates that only when we understand the science of the mind can we hope to heal the spirit of even the most wounded child.
Publication Date: 2007-01-08
Clinical Practice of Cognitive Therapy with Children and Adolescents, Second Edition by Robert D. Friedberg; Jessica M. McClureWidely regarded as the definitive practitioner reference and teaching text, this book provides a complete introduction to doing cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) with 6- to 18-year-olds. The authors offer a blueprint for formulating cases and tailoring treatment to each child's or adolescent's unique developmental and clinical needs. Coverage includes how to orient children and families to cognitive therapy, structure each session, and implement a wide range of CBT techniques. Rich case material illustrates ways that CBT can help children struggling with specific emotional and behavioral problems. Reproducible forms and handouts can be downloaded and printed in a convenient 8 1/2" x 11" size. New to This Edition *Incorporates the latest advances in CBT with youth and gives increased attention to cultural issues, including new case examples. *Chapter on working with patients with autism spectrum disorder. *Chapter on cognitive-behavioral family therapy. *Pull-out boxes throughout that summarize key points. *Epilogue on developing clinical wisdom. See also the authors' Cognitive Therapy Techniques for Children and Adolescents: Tools for Enhancing Practice, which presents creative ways to address challenging problems.
Publication Date: 2015-06-04
Clinical Work with Substance-Abusing Clients, Third Edition by Shulamith Lala Ashenberg Straussner (Editor)A leading professional resource and course text, this book provides practical guidance for treating clients with substance use disorders in a variety of contexts. Expert contributors present major assessment and treatment approaches together with detailed recommendations for intervening with particular substances. Clinical techniques are clearly explained and illustrated with helpful case examples. Important topics include harm reduction; strategies for working with family members; and ways to meet the needs of specific populations, including women, adolescents, older adults, LGBT clients, and those with frequently encountered co-occurring problems. New to This Edition *Revised to reflect current research and clinical advances; updated for DSM-5. *Chapters on trauma-informed care, cognitive-behavioral therapy, and complementary/alternative approaches. *Chapters on neurobiology and behavioral addictions. *Significantly revised chapters on family treatment and dual disorders.
Publication Date: 2013-12-12
Doing Play Therapy by Terry Kottman; Kristin K. Meany-WalenCovering the process of therapy from beginning to end, this engaging text helps students and practitioners use play confidently and effectively with children, adolescents, and adults struggling with emotional or behavioral problems or life challenges. With an accessible theory-to-practice focus, the book explains the basics of different play therapy approaches and invites readers to reflect on and develop their own clinical style. It is filled with rich case material and specific examples of play techniques and strategies. The expert authors provide steps for building strong relationships with clients; exploring their clinical issues and underlying dynamics; developing and working toward clear treatment goals; and collaborating with parents and teachers. A chapter on common challenges offers insightful guidance for navigating difficult situations in the playroom.
Publication Date: 2018-07-06
Essentials of Psychiatric Diagnosis by Allen FrancesThis trusted practitioner resource and text helps the busy clinician find the right psychiatric diagnosis and avoid the many pitfalls that lead to errors. Covering every disorder routinely encountered in clinical practice, Allen Frances provides the ICD-9-CM codes and (where feasible) ICD-10-CM codes required for billing, a useful screening question, a descriptive prototype, diagnostic tips, and other disorders that must be ruled out. Frances was instrumental in the development of past editions of DSM and provides helpful cautions on questionable aspects of DSM-5. An index of common presenting symptoms lists possible diagnoses that must be considered for each. The Appendix (which can also be accessed at the companion website) features a Crosswalk to ICD-10-CM codes.
Publication Date: 2013-08-15
Healing Developmental Trauma by Laurence Heller; Aline LaPierreAn essential piece of trauma literature, this "well-organized, valuable book" draws from somatic-based psychotherapy and neuroscience to offer "clear guidance" for coping with complex PTSD (Peter Levine, author of Waking the Tiger) Although it may seem that people suffer from an endless number of emotional problems and challenges, Laurence Heller and Aline LaPierre maintain that most of these can be traced to five biologically based organizing principles: the need for connection, attunement, trust, autonomy, and love-sexuality. They describe how early trauma impairs the capacity for connection to self and others and how the ensuing diminished aliveness is the hidden dimension that underlies most psychological and many physiological problems. Heller and LaPierre introduce the NeuroAffective Relational Model® (NARM), a method that integrates bottom-up and top-down approaches to regulate the nervous system and resolve distortions of identity such as low self-esteem, shame, and chronic self-judgment that are the outcome of developmental and relational trauma. While not ignoring a person's past, NARM emphasizes working in the present moment to focus on clients' strengths, resources, and resiliency in order to integrate the experience of connection that sustains our physiology, psychology, and capacity for relationship.
Publication Date: 2012-09-25
Inside Out and Outside In by Joan Berzoff (Editor); Laura Melano Flanagan (Editor); Patricia Hertz (Editor)Inside Out and Outside In has established itself as a foundational book for mental health practitioners in a variety of disciplines who work with clients in complex social environments. It is unique in its focus on the forces that shape people from within and also from their social worlds, with sensitivity to race, gender, sexuality, and class. The fifth edition features new material and revisions throughout while maintaining the respectful and accessible style for which the book is known. It has been fully updated to reflect the changing political and social landscape, regarding women's issues, immigration issues, and racism, to name just a few. Two new chapters have been added on Biopsychosocial Assessment and Neurobiology. In addition, the authors reinforce intersectionality and diversity through case studies in every chapter. The fifth edition of Inside Out and Outside In is an up-to-date and essential resource for mental health professionals and students practicing in today's increasingly complex environment.
Publication Date: 2021-04-23
Living Through Loss by Betty Kramer; Nancy HooymanLiving Through Loss is the first book to identify the many ways in which people experience loss over the course of life and to discuss the interventions most effective at each stage of life. The authors' starting point is that loss comes in many forms and can include not only suffering the death of a person one loves but also giving birth to a child with disabilities, living with chronic illness, or being abused, assaulted, or otherwise traumatized. They approach loss from the perspective of the resilience model, which acknowledges the capacity of people to integrate loss into their lives, and write sensitively about the role of age, race, culture, sexual orientation, gender, and spirituality in a person's response to loss. More than a comprehensive source on loss, the volume is distinguished by the authors' beautiful use of clients' experiences-and their own-thus making their book definitive and indelible.
Publication Date: 2008-03-19
Spiritual Diversity in Social Work Practice by Edward R. Canda; Leola Dyrud Furman; Hwi-Ja CandaSocial workers and helping professionals serve many people who draw upon religion and spirituality to find meaning, thrive, and overcome oppression and obstacles in their lives. The third edition of Spiritual Diversity in Social Work Practice provides a comprehensive framework of values,knowledge, and skills for spiritually sensitive and culturally appropriate practice with diverse religious and non-religious clients.This classic text contains forty different case examples and stories that vividly illustrate the professional values and ethical principles that guide spiritually sensitive practice. Learning activities at the end of each chapter encourage readers' personal and professional development throughself-reflection, dialogue, creative expression, outreach to the community, and skill application.The book also draws connections between spiritual and cultural diversity, gender, and LGBTQI issues. It introduces beliefs, values, and social welfare applications of Buddhism, Christianity, Confucianism, Hinduism, Indigenous spiritual perspectives, Islam, Judaism, Existentialism, and Transpersonaland Deep Ecological Theories. Skills for spiritual assessment and spiritually sensitive practices include mindfulness, meditation, ritual and ceremony, forgiveness, spiritually sensitive administration, and engagement with community-based spiritual support systems.For social workers and other professional helpers committed to supporting the spiritual care of individuals, families, and communities, this definitive guide offers state-of-the-art interdisciplinary and international insights as well as practical tools that students and practitioners alike can putto immediate use.
Publication Date: 2019-11-12
Therapeutic Interventions for Families and Children in the Child Welfare System by Sheri Pickover; Heather BrownThis one-of-a-kind resource for mental health professionals covers treatment issues unique to children and families who have a relationship with the fostercare system. With a focus on understanding how to navigate the complexities of the child welfare system, the book identifies and addresses mental healthand behavioral issues specific to this population and provides proven, effective treatment interventions. It brings together in one place the myriad ofcurrent resources available to help such children and families, and addresses situations that span removal from the home to kin or foster care, toreunification, adoption, or other permanent family connections. Broad in scope and depth, the text addresses treatment issues not discussed elsewhere, such as how to cope with acting out in the foster home, how to drafta behavior modification plan, and how to maneuver through the court process. It delivers evidence-based guidelines for engaging and collaborating withother professionals, addressing crises, and assisting with transitions. The book also discusses the use of medications and barriers to effective treatment.Strategies are directed at such specific issues as sexual abuse, physical abuse, substance abuse, neglect, trauma, and attachment. Of special interest is afocus on the worldview of the parties involved in the child welfare system, including the child, the family, the birth parent, and the foster parent.Chapters weave case studies, ethical issues, multicultural concerns, and current research into a highly accessible guide. KEY FEATURES: Provides core information about the child welfare system for mental health professionals who work with this population Includes treatments that really work Illustrates, through case studies, how to combat common issues for the child welfare population and their families Describes strategies for engagement, collaboration, addressing crises, and assisting with transitions
Publication Date: 2015-12-01
Working with Families of the Poor, Second Edition by Patricia Minuchin; Jorge Colapinto; Salvador MinuchinThis widely adopted text and practical guidebook presents the fundamentals of family-based intervention with clients struggling with chronic poverty-related crises and life stressors. Grounded in Salvador Minuchin's influential systemic model and the extensive experience of all three highly regarded authors, the book illustrates innovative ways for professionals within substance abuse, foster care, and mental health contexts to build collaboration with families and other helpers, and to elicit families' strengths.
Publication Date: 2006-12-19
Addiction, Behavioural Change and Social Identity by Sarah Buckingham (Editor); David Best (Editor)Changing health-related behavior is for many people a lonely and isolating experience. Individual willpower is often not enough, particularly in addressing addictive behavior, but research increasingly points to the potential of group identity to shape behavior change and support recovery. This important collection explores the social and cognitive processes that enable people who join recovery groups to address their addictive issues. In an era of increasing concern at the long-term costs of chronic ill-health, the potential to leverage group identity to inspire resilience and recovery offers a timely and practical response. The book examines the theoretical foundations to a social identity approach in addressing behavior change across a range of contexts, including alcohol addiction, obesity and crime, while also examining topics such as the use of online forums to foster recovery. It will be essential reading for students, researchers and policy makers across health psychology and social care, as well as anyone interested in behavioral change and addiction recovery.
Call Number: RC533 .A3185 2017
Publication Date: 2016-11-23
Child Trafficking, Youth Labour Mobility and the Politics of Protection by Neil HowardThis book provides the first overarching, empirically grounded, critical analysis of child trafficking as an idea, ordering principle, and artefact of politics. It examines (once) hegemonic anti-child trafficking discourse, policy and practice, and does so by placing secondary literature from around the world in conversation the author's paradigmatic case study of the situation in southern Benin. It deconstructs the child trafficking paradigm, contrasts it with 'real' histories of child and youth labour and mobility, and seeks to explain it by going 'inside' the anti-trafficking field. In doing so, Howard tells a gripping story of ideology at work.
Call Number: HV6250.4.C48 H69 2017
Publication Date: 2016-12-20
Clinician's Guide to Evidence-Based Practices by John C. Norcross; Thomas P. Hogan; Gerald P. Koocher; Lauren A. MaggioEveryone, it seems, is talking and arguing about Evidence-Based Practice (EBP). Those therapies and assessments designated as EBP increasingly determine what is taught, researched, and reimbursed in health care. But exactly what is it, and how do you do it? The second edition of Clinician's Guide to Evidence-Based Practices is the concise, practitioner-friendly guide to applying EBPs in mental health. Step-by-step it explains how to conduct the entire EBP process-asking the right questions, accessing the best available research, appraising theresearch, translating that research into practice, integrating that research with clinician expertise and patient characteristics, evaluating the entire enterprise, attending to the ethical considerations, and when done, moving the EBP process forward by teaching and disseminating it. This book will help you:* Formulate useful questions that research can address* Search the research literature efficiently for best practices* Make sense out of the research morass, sifting wheat from chaff* Incorporate patient values and diversity into the selection of EBP* Blend clinician expertise with the research evidence* Translate empirical research into practice* Ensure that your clients receive effective, research-supported services* Infuse the EBP process into your organizational setting and training methods* Identify and integrate ethics in the context of EBPCoauthored by a distinguished quartet of clinicians, researchers, and a health care librarian, the Clinician's Guide has become the classic for graduate students and busy professionals mastering EBP.
Call Number: RC455.2.E94 N67 2017
Publication Date: 2016-12-06
Communities of Health Care Justice by Charlene GalarneauThe factions debating health care reform in the United States have gravitated toward one of two positions: that just health care is an individual responsibility or that it must be regarded as a national concern. Both arguments overlook a third possibility: that justice in health care is multilayered and requires the participation of multiple and diverse communities. Communities of Health Care Justice makes a powerful ethical argument for treating communities as critical moral actors that play key roles in defining and upholding just health policy. Drawing together the key community dimensions of health care, and demonstrating their neglect in most prominent theories of health care justice, Charlene Galarneau postulates the ethical norms of community justice. In the process, she proposes that while the subnational communities of health care justice are defined by shared place, including those bound by culture, religion, gender, and race that together they define justice. As she constructs her innovative theorization of health care justice, Galarneau also reveals its firm grounding in the work of real-world health policy and community advocates. Communities of Health Care Justice not only strives to imagine a new framework of just health care, but also to show how elements of this framework exist in current health policy, and to outline the systemic, conceptual, and structural changes required to put these justice norms into fuller practice.
Call Number: RA399.A3 G35 2016
Publication Date: 2016-11-03
Critical Social Work with Children and Families by Steve RogowskiThis book traces the changing fortunes of radical and critical social work, examining the theory, context, and application of such approaches. Advancing the notion that critical practices are both necessary and possible in the neoliberal world--despite the challenges critical practices face--it explores new approaches to family and child services, arguing for emancipatory practices that are geared toward meeting immediate needs while still offering a vision of a more just and equal future society. Including case studies, key point summaries, and suggestions for further reading, this is a thorough new resource for students and teachers.
Call Number: HV751.A6 R64 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Immigrants and Refugees by Vamik D. VolkanAside from the many political, cultural and economic aspects of the present refugee crisis in Europe, it is also crucial to consider the psychological element. In our fast-changing world, globalisation, advances in communication technology, fast travel, terrorism and now the refugee crisis make psychoanalytic investigation of the Other a major necessity. Psychoanalyst Vamik Volkan, who left Cyprus for the US as a young man, brings his own experiences as an immigrant to bear on this study of the psychology of immigrants and refugees, and of those who cross paths with them. In Part 1, case examples illustrate the impact of traumatic experiences, group identity issues, and how traumas embedded in the experience of immigrants and refugees can be passed down from one generation to the next. Part 2 focuses on the host countries, considering the evolution of prejudice and how fear of newcomers can affect everything from international politics to the way we behave as individuals.
Restorative Responses to Sexual Violence by Estelle Zinsstag (Editor); Marie Keenan (Editor)Sexual violence, in all its forms, is a crime for which anecdotal accounts and scholarly reports suggest victims in their great majority do not receive adequate 'justice' or redress. The theory and practice of restorative justice is rapidly developing and offers some well-argued new avenues for dealings with crime in general. It has the potential to be extended to cases of sexual violence and a number of small scale programmes are already underway across the world. Restorative Responses to Sexual Violence examines this innovative justice paradigm in more depth in the particular context of sexual trauma and violence in order to establish the empirical realities of restorative justice approaches in cases of sexual violence, and considers how such approaches could be developed adequately in the future. This book is divided into two parts, each representing a key area of research and practice: theoretical and conceptual frameworks, and justice and therapeutic perspectives. This international collection brings together leading expert scholars and practitioners to offer both theoretical and practical perspectives on restorative justice and sexual violence. This book will be of interest to researchers in the field of law, criminology, psychology, social science, social work and psychotherapy, as well as practitioners in the fields of criminal justice, restorative justice and sex offender and victim trauma therapies.
Call Number: HV6556 .R48 2017
Publication Date: 2017-01-31
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice by Gary L. Anderson (Editor); Kathryn G. Herr (Editor)SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice. This encyclopedia is designed to give understanding to the topics, concepts and ideas which have motivated and shaped the fields of activism, civil engagement and social justice as well as offering short biographies of all the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced, and continue to influence, the study of activism. With anti-globalization rallies and acts of civil disobedience increasing in the western world, activism and social justice are topics of general public debate in the media. This encyclopedia looks to put into context the history of 20th and 21st century political and social activism and further the debate on social justice. The Three-Volume Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice is a multidisciplinary work with contributions from the fields of: education; communication studies; political science; leadership studies; social work; social welfare; environmental studies; health care; social psychology; and sociology.
Publication Date: 2007-04-13
Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity by Linwood H. Cousins (Editor)Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity is the first encyclopedia to reflect the changes in the mission of human services professionals as they face today's increasingly diverse service population. Diversity encompasses a broad range of human differences, including differences in ability and disability, age, education level, ethnicity, gender, geographic origin, religion, sexual orientation, socioeconomic class, and values. Understanding the needs and problems of Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, the deaf, the blind, the LGBT community, and many other groups demands an up-to-date and cutting-edge reference. This three-volume encyclopedia provides human services students, professors, librarians, and practitioners the reference information they need to meet the needs of an increasingly diverse population.Features: 600 signed entries are organized A-to-Z across three volumes. Entries, authored by key figures in the field, conclude with cross references and further readings. A Reader's Guide groups related articles within broad, thematic areas, such as aging, community mental health, family and child services, substance abuse, etc. A detailed index, the Reader's Guide, and cross references combine for search-and-browse in the electronic version. A helpful Resource Guide guides students to classic books, journals, and web sites, and a glossary assists them with the terminology of the field. Available in both print and electronic formats, Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity is an ideal reference for students, practitioners, faculty and librarians.
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Trauma: An interdisciplinary Guide by Charles R. Figley (Editor)Trauma is defined as a sudden, potentially deadly experience, often leaving lasting, troubling memories. Traumatology (the study of trauma, its effects, and methods to modify effects) is exploding in terms of published works and expanding in terms of scope. Originally a narrow specialty within emergency medicine, the field now extends to trauma psychology, military psychiatry and behavioral health, post-traumatic stress and stress disorders, trauma social work, disaster mental health, and, most recently, the subfield of history and trauma, with sociohistorical examination of long-term effects and meanings of major traumas experienced by whole communities and nations, both natural (Pompeii, Hurricane Katrina) and man-made (the Holocaust, 9/11). One reason for this expansion involves important scientific breakthroughs in detecting the neurobiology of trauma that is connecting biology with human behavior, which in turn, is applicable to all fields involving human thought and response, including but not limited to psychiatry, medicine and the health sciences, the social and behavioral sciences, the humanities, and law. Researchers within these fields and more can contribute to a universal understanding of immediate and long-term consequences-both good and bad-of trauma, both for individuals and for broader communities and institutions. Trauma encyclopedias published to date all center around psychological trauma and its emotional effects on the individual as a disabling or mental disorder requiring mental health services. This element is vital and has benefited from scientific and professional breakthroughs in theory, research, and applications. Our encyclopedia certainly will cover this central element, but our expanded conceptualization will include the other disciplines and will move beyond the individual.
Publication Date: 2012-09-17
Handbook of Social Work Practice with Vulnerable and Resilient Populations by Alex Gitterman (Editor)When community and family support systems are weak or unavailable, and when internal resources fail, populations that struggle with chronic, persistent, acute, and/or unexpected problems become vulnerable to physical, cognitive, emotional, and social deterioration. Yet despite numerous risk factors, a large number of vulnerable people do live happy and productive lives. This best-selling handbook examines not only risk and vulnerability factors in disadvantaged populations but also resilience and protective strategies for managing and overcoming adversity. This third edition reflects new demographic data, research findings, and theoretical developments and accounts for changing economic and political realities, including immigration and health care policy reforms. Contributors have expanded their essays to include practice with individuals, families, and groups, and new chapters consider working with military members and their families, victims and survivors of terrorism and torture, bullied children, and young men of color.
Publication Date: 2014
Social Workers' Desk Reference by Albert R. Roberts (Editor-In-Chief); Kevin Corcoran (Editor-In-Chief)People all over the world are confronted by issues such as poverty, a lack of access to quality education, unaffordable and or inadequate housing, and a lack of needed health and mental services on a daily basis. Due to these issues, there is a need for social workers who have access to relevant and timely scholarly materials in order to meet the needs of those facing these issues. The social, psychological, and biological factors resulting from these issues determine the level of a person's mental health at any given point in time and it is necessary for social workers to continue to evolve and develop to the new faces and challenges of the times in order to adequately understand the effects of these issues.In the first and second editions of the Social Workers' Desk Reference, the changes that were occurring in social work practice, education, and research were highlighted and focused upon. This third edition continues in the same tradition and continues to respond to the changes occurring in society and how they are impacting the education, research, and practice of social work as a whole. With 159 chapters collaboratively written by luminaries in the profession, this third edition serves as a comprehensive guide to social work practice by providing the most recent conceptual knowledge and empirical evidence to aid in the understanding of the rapidly changing field of social work. Each chapter is short and contains practical information in addition to websites and updated references. Social work practitioners, educators, students, and other allied professionals can utilize the Social Workers' Desk Reference to gain interdisciplinary and interprofessional education, practice, and research.
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Clinical Assessment and Diagnosis in Social Work Practice by Jacqueline Corcoran; Joseph WalshIn Clinical Assessment and Diagnosis in Social Work Practice, seasoned practitioner-scholars Jacqueline Corcoran and Joseph Walsh provide an in-depth exploration of fourteen major mental disorders that social workers commonly see in practice, including anxiety disorders, depression, bipolardisorder, and schizophrenia. They skillfully integrate several perspectives in order to help practitioners meet the challenges they will face in client assessment, and present a risk and resilience framework that helps social workers understand environmental influences on the emergence of mentaldisorders and the strengths that clients already possess. The authors also catalog the latest evidence-based assessment instruments and treatments for each disorder so that social workers can intervene efficiently and effectively, using the best resources available. Students and practitioners alike will appreciate the wealth of case examples,evidence-based assessment instruments, treatment plans, and new social diversity sections that make this an essential guide to the assessment and diagnostic processes in social work practice.
Publication Date: 2016
Community Economic Development in Social Work by Steven D. Soifer; Cathy Costa; Joseph B. Mcneely; Nancy Pickering-BernheimCommunity economic development (CED) is an increasingly essential factor in the revitalization of low- to moderate-income communities. This cutting-edge text explores the intersection of CED and social work practice, which both focus on the well-being of indigent communities and the empowerment of individuals and the communities in which they live. This unique textbook emphasizes a holistic approach to community building that combines business and real-estate development with a focus on stimulating family self-reliance and community empowerment. The result is an innovative approach to rehabilitating communities in decline while preserving resident demographics. The authors delve deep into the social, political, human, and financial capital involved in effecting change and how race and regional issues can complicate approaches and outcomes. Throughout, they integrate case examples to illustrate their strategies and conclude with a consideration of the critical role social workers can play in developing CED's next phase.
Publication Date: 2014
Decision Cases for Advanced Social Work Practice by Terry A. Wolfer; Lori D. Franklin; Karen A. GrayThese fifteen cases take place in child welfare, mental health, hospital, hospice, domestic violence, refugee resettlement, veterans' administration, and school settings and reflect individual, family, group, and supervised social work practice. They confront common ethical and treatment issues and raise issues regarding practice interventions, programs, policies, and laws. Cases represent open-ended situations, encouraging students to apply knowledge from across the social work curriculum to develop problem-solving and critical-thinking skills. An instructor's manual with teaching notes is available by emailing: firstname.lastname@example.org.
Publication Date: 2013
Helping Skills for Social Work Direct Practice by Jacqueline CorcoranDirect practice foundation courses in social work prepare students for every step of the problem-solving process, yet too often emphasize the what and the why of practice at the expense of the how. This practical, easy-to-use, and hands-on guide bridges this gap by illustrating the helpingskills that practitioners can actually use to influence people's lives in positive ways. Integrating two major helping models -- motivational interviewing and solution-focused therapy -- it equips students with the techniques and skills necessary for activating client strengths throughout theproblem-solving process. Helping Skills for Social Work Direct Practice presents a wealth of sample dialogue, exercises, tips, and do's and don'ts, all designed to encourage learning by doing. This workbook helps make the links between theory and practice with these unique features:- Chapters logically organized by phases of the problem-solving process- Case demonstrations involving a variety of roles, including case manager, crisis intervention counselor, medical social worker, and school social worker- Practice exercises that prompt students to apply and generalize skills to different practice settings and client problems- Exhibits and reflection questions facilitate integration between classroom learning and the internship experience- An online instructor's manual (www.oup.com/us/helpingskills) with detailed answers to discussion questionsFrom the first meeting with clients, to assessment, goal-setting, evaluation, and the ethics that guide the process throughout, this is the nuts-and-bolts guide to helping clients using a strengths-based perspective.
Publication Date: 2011
Immigrant and Refugee Children and Families - Culturally Responsive Practice by Alan J. Dettlaff; Rowena Fong (Editor)Designed for students of social work, public policy, ethnic studies, community development, and migration studies, Immigrant and Refugee Children and Families provides the best knowledge for culturally responsive practice with immigrant children, adolescents, and families. This textbook summarizes the unique circumstances of Asian/Pacific Islander, Latino, South Asian, African, and Middle Eastern immigrant and refugee populations and the challenges faced by the social service systems, including child welfare, juvenile justice, education, health, and mental health care, that attempt to serve them. Each chapter features key terms, study questions, and resource lists, and the book meets many Council on Social Work Education Educational Policy and Accreditation Standards (EPAS) competencies. The book addresses the policy landscape affecting immigrant and refugee children in the United States, and a final section examines current and future approaches to advocacy.
Publication Date: 2016
Multicultural Social Work Practice by Derald Wing Sue; Kelly F. Jackson; Janice M. Rasheed; Mikal N. RasheedA thorough exploration of diversity and social justice within the field of social work Multicultural Social Work Practice: A Competency-Based Approach to Diversity and Social Justice, 2nd Edition has been aligned with the Council on Social Work Education's 2015 Educational Policy and Standards and incorporates the National Association of Social Workers Standards of Cultural Competence. New chapters focus on theoretical perspectives of critical race theory, microaggressions and changing societal attitudes, and evidence-based practice on research-supported approaches for understanding the influence of cultural differences on the social work practice. The second edition includes an expanded discussion of religion and spirituality and addresses emerging issues affecting diverse populations, such as women in the military. Additionally, Implications for Multicultural Social Work Practice' at the end of each chapter assist you in applying the information you have learned. Multicultural Social Work Practice, 2nd Edition provides access to important guidance regarding culturally sensitive social work practice, including the sociopolitical and social justice aspects of effective work in this field. This thoroughly revised edition incorporates new content and pedagogical features, including: Theoretical frameworks for multicultural social work practice Microaggressions in social work practice Evidence-based multicultural social work practice New chapter overviews, learning objectives, and reflection questions Multicultural Social Work Practice, 2nd Edition is an integral guide for students and aspiring social workers who want to engage in diversity and difference.
Publication Date: 2016
Social Work ASWB Clinical Exam Prep Guide by Dawn Apgar; Association of Social Work Boards Staff (Contribution by)"Dawn gave us the tools we needed to take the exam, and let me tell you--she was on point Not only did she cover the content areas we needed to focus in on, but she also showed us how to read and interpret the questions on the exam." --Ammu D. Kowolik, LMSW, McSilver Institute for Poverty Policy and Research Students and social workers preparing for the social work clinical licensure exam will find an invaluable study resource in the Social Work ASWB(R) Clinical Exam Guide. Written by a prominent social work leader and trainer for social work licensing exams in the United States, this guide is based on years of time-tested exam prep workshops conducted by the author. It mirrors the ASWB Clinical "Knowledge, Skills, and Abilities" upon which the exam is based and incorporates information from the DSM(R)-5. The guide is comprehensive yet focuses on the material most likely to be included on the exam, so readers can prioritize information as they study. A self-assessment section helps identify strengths and weaknesses before tackling the material. The author shares her extensive knowledge of the exam by providing useful test-taking strategies and tips for overcoming test anxiety. The 170-question practice test at the end of the guide (with explanations of the correct answers) mirrors the actual exam in both length and structure. Content includes human development, human behavior in the environment, diversity, addictions, assessment and diagnosis, treatment planning, clinical interventions, case management, and professional values and ethics. This book will be a valuable asset for social workers throughout the United States and Canada. Key Features: Developed by a highly respected educator of social work licensure candidates Covers all the content areas on the clinical examination, including new content added in 2015 Begins with a self-assessment section to help identify areas of strength and weakness Offers a wealth of test-taking tips and strategies to foster exam confidence Includes a practice test (with explanations of the correct answers) that mirrors the exam ASWB is a registered service mark of the Association of Social Work Boards, which neither sponsors nor endorses this product.
Publication Date: 2015
Recent Social Work Student Dissertations from the Widener University Digital Repository
Native Voices: Changing the Narrative -- Ünal, Donalee -- 2021For many people residing in the United States, Natives are imagined rather than understood (A. Treuer, 2012). One of the reasons for this is that they comprise a very small portion (2.9%) of the entire U.S. population (U.S. Census, 2021). According to Echo Hawk (2021), 78% of Americans have little to no knowledge about Native people. This is not unexpected when one considers only 14 states have Native populations greater than 100,000 and almost one-fourth of Native persons live on reservations (Leavitt et al., 2015).
Consequently, it is not surprising that a study conducted by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE, 2007) suggested that social workers may not be adequately educated to address the needs of Natives. In order for social workers to move towards cultural competency and advocate effectively, it is essential that the information available to social workers go beyond the limited information presented in the social work literature.
Negotiating Clinical and Activist Practices in the Field: A Qualitative Analysis -- Hipple, Erin -- 2021There is little research on the experiences of social workers in micro practice settings and how they negotiate their clinical and activist practices in micro practice settings. This dissertation is a five chapter qualitative study that uses Thematic Analysis (Braun & Clark, 2006) to explore the experiences of clinical social workers who also identify as doing activist practices affiliated with non-dominant frameworks. Chapter I introduces the topic and states the problem that my research intends to address. Chapter II provides a review of relevant theory and existing literature. Chapter III describes the methodology of the study. Chapter IV presents the emergent themes and sub-themes. Chapter V provides discussion of the results, limitations, implications for social work, and a final reflexivity.
Revising the Script: Mixed-Method Study of Trauma Drama for Complex-Trauma-Exposed Youth in Residential Treatment -- Sullivan, Mimi Elizabeth -- 2021Creative-arts interventions have historically been used to treat people exposed to complex trauma. In the United States, however, such interventions have failed to achieve widespread use, perhaps because of obstacles to systematic study, which have prevented development of a sufficient evidence base. This may be attributable in part to the challenges of measuring drama’s differential impact on the unique psychophysiological system of the individual, as well as the complications related to having no legitimized complex trauma diagnosis around which to organize a research agenda until publication of the complex post-traumatic stress (CPTSD) diagnostic classification of 2018 (ICD 11; World Health Organization). In order to simplify future field research and data aggregation across settings, the current study of Trauma Drama (TD; Spinazzola, 2019) made a first attempt to identify a core matrix of variables that might imply an increased flexibility in the underlying constituents that bind heterogeneous symptoms (Insel, 2014). The TD study, as described in this dissertation, is an embedded, combined, concurrent, and sequential mixed-method investigation in a complex-trauma-exposed population of 47 youth in residential treatment in the northeastern United States (treatment condition [n = 27] and a semi-matched comparison condition [n = 20]).
Longitudinal pattern analysis of the subtracted distance between resting and maximum capacity heart rate variability (HRV) was used to calculate the novel high frequency HRV (HF HRV) variable, an index of parasympathetic nervous system balance at pre- vs. posttest. My analysis suggested the presence of three physiological subgroups across the treatment and comparison groups. The treatment condition of one of the subgroups appeared to account for improved depression symptoms in the overall treatment group as contrasted with the comparison group. Therefore, it appears that in this study, response to the TD intervention may be, at least partially, moderated by electrophysiological subtype. I used Interpretive Phenomenological Analysis (IPA; Smith & Osborn, 2008) to analyze interviews of treatment group participants (n = 29) and intervention-facilitators (n = 12). The superordinate theme of the qualitative arm of the study was the shift that occurs from a state of Absence (a survival state of fight, flight, and/or freeze that dissociates people from being in the now) to a state of greater Presence (being rooted in the now) via the Modification of Associations Process (MAP). The MAP reorganizes and expands associations undergirding subjective experience of self, others, and the world.
Taken together, triangulated data imply that the treatment group experienced a decrease in dissociation (a central symptom in the network of the Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder [PTSD] cluster of the CPTSD diagnosis [Knefel & Lueger-Schuster, 2013]), as well as a decrease in depression (a central symptom in the network of the Disturbances of Self Organization [DSO] cluster of the diagnosis [Haselgruber et al., 2020]). These findings suggest that TD may work to diminish complex trauma pathology in this population, and as a result, further study of TD is indicated. The data also suggest that the stabilization phase of TD is essential to engagement in the intervention and for the consequent reduction of DSO symptoms in particular; therefore further study of TD may offer an opportunity to use the intervention as an exemplar through which the general characteristics, effect, and value of the stabilization phase of component-based treatments for CPTSD may be examined.
The Integration of Children with Disabilities in Libyan Schools: Perspectives of Parents, Teachers, and School Principals -- Abulhul,, Zeniab S. -- 2022Many countries worldwide have adopted inclusive education programs into their educational systems to abide by the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities in 2006. This ensures that all people, including children with disabilities, should have the right to access education services as experienced by their peers who are non-disabled. Although many international studies have shown the positive impact of integrating children with disabilities into mainstream schools, the idea of integrating children with disabilities into public schools in practice has encountered widespread debate among Libyan parents.
There is a gap in understanding the reasons for the challenges of integrating children with disabilities into mainstream schools in Libya. Therefore, to address this lack of understanding, it is important to know the Libyan’s perceptions toward integrating disabled children into mainstream schools. This study aims to understand factors associated with attitudes toward the integration of children with disabilities into mainstream schools. This study used a quantitative survey method to survey 222 participants' attitudes toward mainstreaming children with disabilities. The framework was social cognitive theory and constructionism theory that provides a lens on current attitudes towards children with disabilities. The results of this study provide insight for Libyan social workers in the Educational Department and Social Security Department Fund on how to raise awareness among Libyan parents about the importance of children with disabilities' educational rights. This study will enrich the knowledge in scholarly fields and may encourage other researchers across the country to replicate the study in other municipalities in Libya and beyond.
Advisor(s) Houser, Linda
Committee Member(s) Wyatt, Jeannette; Schug, Mariah; Cullen, Jen; Campbell, Margo
Institution Widener University
Rights Management The author has granted Widener University limited permission to reproduce this dissertation or thesis, in electronic or paper form and to make it available to the general public at no charge. This permission is granted in addition to rights granted to ProQuest. The author retains all other rights.
Pennsylvania Resource Parents’ Knowledge and Beliefs about Trauma and Their Preparedness to Provide Trauma-Informed Resource Parenting -- DeBiase, Lydia -- 2022The purpose of this study was to fill the gaps in the literature by investigating how resource parents’ personal and professional characteristics relate to their knowledge about trauma-informed care, tolerance of child misbehavior, and parenting self-efficacy. In this research study, I assessed Pennsylvania resource parents’ level of knowledge and beliefs about trauma and explored the types of training resources parents participate in and the different ways they try to obtain trauma knowledge. I measured resource parents’ trauma-informed parenting knowledge, their tolerance of foster child misbehavior, and their perceptions of their parenting self-efficacy using the Trauma Knowledge and Beliefs Survey, an instrument developed by Murray et al. (2019). My findings showed that Pennsylvania resource parents sought information about trauma-informed knowledge through multiple avenues, such as other resource parents, family members, friends, books, internet, online trainings, and webinars. The resource parents’ personal characteristics that showed statistically significant differences related to their trauma knowledge and belief scores were gender, sexual orientation, race, and education level. The resource parents’ professional characteristics that showed statistically significant differences related to their trauma knowledge and beliefs scores were the location of their child welfare agency and the number of years’ experience as a resource parent. I discuss these findings in relationship to other research, contemporary trauma theory, implications for social work, and the need for future research.
Clinical Social Workers and Psychedelic-Assisted Therapies: A Qualitative Study on Knowledge, Attitudes, and Professional Response -- Ellow, Joshua M. -- 2022Psychedelic-assisted therapies are promising treatment options for several conditions, including addictions, depression, anxiety, and trauma as indicated by recent therapy designations, funding opportunities, and research findings that supports their efficacy. While these treatment developments are multidisciplinary in nature, the social work profession has been largely removed from the research and application of these treatments even though they provide the majority of behavioral services and have historically responded favorably to medication-assisted modalities. In lieu of no prior studies, this study investigates the knowledge, attitudes, influences, and professional response of social workers towards psychedelic-assisted treatments. Semi-structured interviews were conducted with fifteen participants following a chain recruitment model. Content and thematic analyses led to the findings of this study. The analysis found limited knowledge among participants. The study also found that past experiences, including one’s use/non-use of psychedelics, geographic residency, and personal connectivity to certain diagnoses, impact participants’ attitudes towards these treatments. Ultimately, the study concluded that while safety concerns and stigma are inherent to their perspectives, participants agree that psychedelic-assisted therapies align with the ethical standards of the social work profession. The findings of this study lead to important implications for the field of social work relating to educational curricula, practice guidelines, language and stigma, advocacy, and ethical decision-making, which are discussed.
The Court Appointed Advocate: Perceptions of Emerging Adults in Foster Care -- Gobourne, Zamantha M. -- 2022Current literature on the topic of young adults in foster care reveals the vulnerabilities of this population, identifies the gaps in resources and services that create barriers to their becoming secure and well-functioning adults, and suggests new ideas to advance progress on their behalf. Although public policy has been established to address their varying needs and fill systemic gaps, the child welfare system continues to fall short in its provision of supports for these individuals to achieve optimum success as adults. For these reasons, further research is necessary for developing effective programs and services that will help improve outcomes for emerging adults in foster care, on both a short and a long-term basis.
The purpose of this phenomenological investigation was to explore the lived experiences of young adults in foster care (aged 18 to 21) who currently receive or have received the services of a court-appointed advocate, which may include a Social Worker (SW), Guardian Ad Litem (GAL), or Court Appointed Special Advocate/Guardian Ad Litem (CASA/GAL) volunteer advocate. To date, the perceptions of these young adults regarding the receipt of services from the aforementioned case advocates has been minimally explored or researched. As such, data from (10) recipients of services was directly obtained in the context of the assertion made by child welfare policy makers, advocates, and officials alike, that the appointment of a court-appointed advocate helps to improve case outcomes for children and youth committed to the foster care system (Leung, 1996; Litzelfelner & Petr, 1997; Stein, 2006; The National CASA/GAL Association for Children, 2022).
Findings from this study signal that a re-evaluation of existing policy is necessary to facilitate effective programming for these young adults so they can feel empowered to create better outcomes for themselves. Furthermore, it is evident that the challenges these individuals face are interconnected and any decisions that are made must be considered within multiple contexts, and in the spirit of providing high quality support and opportunities for healthy development. This may include in-depth consideration of their family structure, peer groups, surrounding community or other social supports, and most importantly their right to self-determination.