Combine Search Terms
Article databases use more advanced search syntax than web search engines. Understanding how they are different can make it easier to manipulate your search results.
Use the Advanced Search option within the database for best results.
AND narrows down your results because it only finds items that include both search terms as a keyword.
Example: college students AND risky behavior
OR expands your results because it finds items that include either one or both search terms as a keyword.
Example: climate change OR climate variability OR environmental impact
NOT makes your results more specific by excluding words that aren't relevant to your search.
Example: renewable energy NOT Solar
Combine each to create a detailed search for very specific resources
Print Books
The following reference works are shelved on the main floor of the Wolfgram Library.
Encyclopedia of Political Theory by
How do we arrange our collective affairs? Why do we live together in the ways we do? How ought we to live together? All humans think about the world they live in, its history and future, and the ideals by which they want to live in relation to others. How we think today decisively influences the world of tomorrow. This encyclopedia attempts to bring greater clarity and understanding to political debate. Drawing together a team of international scholars, the Encyclopedia of Political Theory examines the ideas of the major political theorists from before Plato to our own times; the main schools of political thought; the concepts and issues that have captured the imagination and attention of political theorists; and some of the main institutions and practices inspired by political thought. With more than 450 entries, these three volumes provide a quick, one-stop source to key topics in the field. Key Features Examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them Includes specific lists of entries that deal with constitutional thought and democratic thought Refers to distinctive norms and features of various governments, legal systems, and societies Devotes large parts to the history of ideas about government, ethics, and society Provides a chronology of political theory to help readers see how a given theorist, school, or issue fits into the bigger historical picture Key Themes Ancient Thought Applied Ethics Biographies Comparative Theory Constitutional Thought Critical Theory Democratic Thought Early Modern Thought International Theory Justice Liberal Theory Medieval Thought Modern Theory Power and Authority Religious Thought Self and Community This work is designed to serve as a reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary political theory. It will be a welcome addition to any academic or public library.
eBooks
Encyclopedia of Global Studies by
The Encyclopedia of Global Studies is the reference work for the emerging field of global studies. It covers both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes, including: the globalization of economies and technologies; the diaspora of cultures and dispersion of peoples; the transnational aspects of social and political change; the global impact of environmental, technological and health changes; and the organizations and issues related to global civil society.
Encyclopedia of Politics by
Although the distinction between the politics of the left and the right is commonly assumed in the media and in treatments of political science and history, the terms are used so loosely that the student and the general reader are often confused: What exactly are the terms left and right supposed to imply? This two-volume Encyclopedia of Politics contains over 450 articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles, with those usually thought of as left in the left-hand volume (Volume 1) and those considered on the right, in the right-hand volume (Volume 2). Topics Covered Countries/Regions: Leftist Politics Countries/Regions: Rightist Politics Leftist "Isms" Leftist Laws Leftist Political Issues Leftist Political Movements Leftist Political Parties People on the Left People on the Right Rightist "Isms" Rightist Laws Rightist Political Issues Rightist Political Movements Rightist Political Parties
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Islamic Political Thought by
The first encyclopedia of Islamic political thought from the birth of Islam to today, this comprehensive, authoritative, and accessible reference provides the context needed for understanding contemporary politics in the Islamic world and beyond. With more than 400 alphabetically arranged entries written by an international team of specialists, the volume focuses on the origins and evolution of Islamic political ideas and related subjects, covering central terms, concepts, personalities, movements, places, and schools of thought across Islamic history. Fifteen major entries provide a synthetic treatment of key topics, such as Muhammad, jihad, authority, gender, culture, minorities, fundamentalism, and pluralism. Incorporating the latest scholarship, this is an indispensable resource for students, researchers, journalists, and anyone else seeking an informed perspective on the complex intersection of Islam and politics. Includes more than 400 concise, alphabetically arranged entries Features 15 in-depth entries on key topics Covers topics such as: Central themes and sources of Islamic political thought: caliph, modernity, knowledge, shari'a, government, revival and reform Modern concepts, institutions, movements, and parties: civil society, Islamization, secularism, veil, Muslim Brotherhood Islamic law and traditional Islamic societies: justice, taxation, fatwa, dissent, governance, piety and asceticism, trade and commerce Sects, schools, regions, and dynasties: Mu'tazilis, Shi'ism, Quraysh, Mecca and Medina, Baghdad, Indonesia, Nigeria, Central Asia, Ottomans Thinkers, personalities, and statesmen: Mawardi, Shafi'I, Saladin, Tamerlane, Akbar, Atat#65533;rk, Nasser, Khomeini Contains seven historical and contemporary maps of Muslim empires, postcolonial nation-states, populations, and settlements Guides readers to further research through bibliographies, cross-references, and an index
Contains electronic books across many academic disciplines. Some books may be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Coverage: 1965 to present
Search all EBSCO databases all at once.
Contains ebooks across many academic disciplines with easy-to-use tools for taking notes and making citations. eBooks may be read online or be "checked out" for a limited period of time.