Wolfgram Subject Guides: Nursing: Web Resources

Online Nursing Reference Sites

Lab Tests Online
This site is provided by the American Association for Clinical Chemistry and has been designed to aid both patient and caregiver "to better understand the many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases." This non-commercial site provides peer-reviewed information.
MDCalc: click, solve, diagnose
Site provides a compilation of equations for various medical calculations. Hand re-checking of all calculations is advised.
Physical Exam Modules
These instructional modules and videos are produced by the University of Virginia School of Medicine and provide demonstrations of physical exam techniques. Viewing requires Quicktime version 7 or higher.

DailyMed
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs, including the most recent labeling information submitted to the FDA and provided in package inserts. Included is a link for the reporting of adverse events.
Drug Information Portal
This site is a gateway to current and accurate drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other federal agencies. More than 12,000 drugs are included.
MEDLINEplus Drug Information
Provides information on thousands of prescription and over-the-counter medications through two drug resources -- MedMaster™†, a product of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), and the USP DI® Advice for the Patient® ‡, a product of the United States Pharmacopeia (USP).
Perscribers' Digital Reference
Delivers innovative health knowledge products and services that support prescribing decisions and patient adherence to improve health. The Physicians' Desk Reference® suite of services provides healthcare professionals multichannel access to important drug information.

Medical Mnemonics.com: World's Database of Medical Mnemonics
Medical Mnemonics.com is a free, nonprofit, online searchable database of memory-boosting tools to assist in mastering medical information. The database can be downloaded to a personal digital assistant.
Merriam Webster Medical Dictionary
A concise guide to the essential language of medicine, including brand names and generic equivalents of common drugs. Provides more than 35,000 entries, each with a pronunciation guide.
Talking Glossary of Genetic Terms
Created by the National Human Genome Research Institute, this glossary assists in the understanding of the terms and concepts used in genetic research. Included are spoken pronunciations of terms, expert commentary, and 3-D animations.
Who Named It?
Useful site to identify the individuals for whom diseases, syndromes, etc. are named. The site intends to "present a complete survey of all medical phenomena named for a person, with a biography of that person. Eventually, this will include more than 15.000 eponyms and more than 6.000 persons."

Health Education Assets Library
This site provides access to more than 21,000 high quality and freely accessible digital teaching resources for health sciences education.
Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
This site contains photographs, illustrations, and multimedia files from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). It is intended to serve public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the public with their reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages.

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
This 1999 centennial edition of the Manual covers all the subjects expected in a textbook of internal medicine as well as expert information relating to special subjects. It is designed to provide "information that helps practitioners achieve optimal care." Material is presented in 23 sections and is completely searchable.
Merck Manual of Geriatrics
This publication focuses on the medical problems of the elderly, providing clinical information to all physicians, nurses, pharmacists, and other health care professionals involved in the care of elderly patients. Non-health care professionals will also find this publication extremely useful."
Merck Manual of Medical Information -- Home Edition
The Home Edition "uses everyday language to provide information about diseases, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment." Includes illustrations.

Twitter for Nursing

@allnurses
Nursing Community with over 5 million nurses networking with other nurses each month @ http://allnurses.com
@AmerMedicalAssn
American Medical Association: The premier national organization that empowers physicians, residents and med students to succeed at every phase of their career.
@AmJNurs
American Journal of Nursing, the leading voice of nursing since 1900. Peer-reviewed, evidence-based, the most trusted source for nursing.
@ANNAnurses
ANNA improves members' lives through education, advocacy, networking, and science.
@DoseOfNursing
A daily dose..er, TWEET of nursing stories, nursing program and travel nursing opportunities.
@InformedNurse
Official Twitter page of Nursing Essentials™
@minoritynurse
Get the latest news and jobs from http://minoritynurse.com , the leading nursing job board committed to increasing diversity in the nursing profession.
@NotesOnNursing
Personal twitter of John A. Hartford Foundation program officer on health of older adults @johnahartford #HPM #HCLDR #medx #TEDMED #epatient
@NurseGroups
The social career resource for nurses. Tweeting daily nursing and health news. #TeamNurses
@NursesDailyDose
NursesDailyDose.com is THE place for nurses to share their funny, bizarre and memorable hospital anecdotes.
@nursingideas
Sharing ideas and passion to improve nursing, health and healthcare. Run by @rdjfraser
@NursingTimes
All the news, research and opinion from http://www.nursingtimes.net .
@ReviewNursing
Simple concise Nursing Review guide for Smart Students & Nurses. Quick Answers to relevant Test Questions in Nursing School & NCLEX.
@WorkingNurse
Career Advice & Opportunities for California RNs

@ae_cancercenter
The Albert Einstein Cancer Center is an NCI designated Clinical Cancer Center, one of the first funded centers and continuously funded since 1972.
@CIDRAP
the Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy at the University of Minnesota
@DanaFarber
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute is a leading center for expert, compassionate cancer care and advanced research.
@mainlinehealth ‏
We're an integrated health care system in suburban Philadelphia dedicated to providing high-quality patient care & services http://facebook.com/mainlinehealth
@MayoClinic
An integrated clinical practice, education and research institution specializing in treating patients.
@NIHClinicalCntr
Official Twitter account of the NIH Clinical Center, the nation's largest hospital devoted entirely to clinical research.
@StanfordChild
Stanford Children's Health offers extraordinary pediatric & obstetric care.
@YNHH | Yale New Haven Hospital
YNHH is the 1,541-bed teaching hospital for Yale School of Medicine.

NLM | Tutorial

This 16 minute tutorial teaches you how to evaluate the health information that you find on the Web.

NOTE: You need the Flash plug-in, version 8 or above, to view it. If you do not have Flash, you will be prompted to obtain a free download of the software before you start.

Learn how you can download a version of the tutorial for use when no Internet connection is available. Read the transcript of the tutorial.

Nursing

Health Websites

Nurse Practitioners

Oncology

Grant Information

Additional Resources

Evaluating Web Resources

Online Nursing Reference Sites

Twitter for Nursing

NLM | Tutorial