Contains electronic books across many academic disciplines. Some books may be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Contains electronic books across many academic disciplines. Some books may be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Contains ebooks across many academic disciplines with easy-to-use tools for taking notes and making citations. eBooks may be read online or be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Call Number R727.3 .W553 2023
The print reference (REF) sources can be found on the main level of the Wolfgram Memorial Library in the Reference Area. Ask a reference librarian if you need help locating an item.
Resources for Nursing Research: An Annotated Bibliography by
'The 4th edition of this extensive text is an outstanding resource prepared by nurses (and a librarian) for nurses. In a structured and helpful style it presents thousands of items from the literature - published papers, reports, books and electronic resources - as a clear, accessible, and most of all useful collection. The efforts to signpost and lead the reader to the sought-for information are effective and well-conceived, and the "How to use this book" section is remarkably simple...the book should be found in every nursing and health library, every research institute and centre, and close to many career researchers' desks' - RCN Research
Nursing Studies Index, 1900 to 1959 by 
Dictionary of American Nursing Biography by
The purpose of the volume is to provide, in one location, sketches of persons important to American nursing. It is intended as a companion volume to "Dictionary of American Medical Biography" (Greenwood, 1984) and utilizes a similar layout: biographical information, annotations concerning the subject's contribution to American nursing, a maximum of five important or representative works, and several selective references. . . . The consolidation of biographical information and suggested references for detailed historical data makes this a useful tool for graduate and undergraduate students who are developing a paper or presentation. "RQ" The Dictionary of American Nursing Biography is the first work to provide a detailed account of the lives and contributions of those who have had the most significant impact on the development of nursing as a profession. The product of an intensive research effort, it brings together a wealth of previously unpublished material as well as information from a wide range of published sources. Comprising a total of 196 biographical sketches, the "Dictionary" offers portraits of nineteenth-century pioneers as well as more recent innovators involved in the process of professionalization in specific areas, including military and public health nursing, nursing administration, and nursing education. Each entry describes major professional contributions and supplies data on the nurse's background, education, and career. Important or representative writings are listed, together with bibliographies and other source materials. The appendices list biographical subjects by place of birth, the state in which they worked, and their specialty or type of nursing. A comprehensive index provides ready access to specific information.
American Nursing by
From the frontier to the university, this exciting collection traces the development of the nursing profession through the biographies of individual nurses since 1925 that helped to create its unique history. Among the notable nurses featured in this volume are Faye Abdellah, Virginia Henderson, Margaret Kerr, Thelma Schorr, and many more.
Nursing Beyond the Bedside by
Nursing Beyond the Bedside: 60 Non-Hospital Careers in Nursing introduces nurses and nursing students to career opportunities outside of the hospital setting-in areas where RN job growth is projected to stay strong as patients live longer but with more chronic illnesses. This book provides practicing nurses and those pursuing a nursing career a thorough understanding of the many career options available outside the hospital. Book jacket.
201 Careers in Nursing by
Few professions have evolved as much as nursing has, or offer as much variety, opportunity for growth, and potential for great personal and professional satisfaction. 201 Careers in Nursing, the new edition significantly expanding, updating and revising 101 Careers in Nursing, is your guide to careers in nursing practice, education, research, and so much more. Comprehensive in scope and for nurses at all levels, each career description includes educational requirements, core competencies, and required skills. Interviews with nurses working in a variety of roles and settings bring to life the breadth of opportunities available to nurses today. Important tips within the book will help when making your career choices, along with compensation range per degree, certification requirements, and earning potential for each career. 201 Careers in Nursing is an essential resource for nurses entering the profession, nurses considering a career change, and counselors facilitating career choices. Key Features: Includes 201 careers, each with career description, educational requirements, core competencies, and requisite skills Reformatted for ease of use Provides compensation range per degree, certification requirements, and earning potential for each career Features interviews with nurses in different careers in academia and practice settings Useful for students and nurses at all levels Sample Careers: Addictions Counselor Military Nurse Childbirth Educator Clinical Research Nurse Family Nurse Practitioner Medical-Surgical Nurse Telehealth Nurse Consultant Cruise Ship/Resort Nurse Disaster/Bioterrorism Nurse Fraud and Abuse Investigator Genetics Counselor Health Policy Analyst/Lobbyist Media Consultant
Achieving Competencies For Nursing Practice : A Handbook For Student Nurses by
This book will offer examples to nursing students to enable a creative and innovative understanding of how the competencies may be demonstrated in the many contexts where practice occurs with individuals, groups or possibly communities.
Neonatal Nursing Care Handbook, Second Edition by
Neonatal nurses face an ever-changing practice landscape that requires swift decisions and actions. This is an up-to-date, comprehensive, quick reference resource written specifically for neonatal nurses throughout the globe. Designed for speedy information retrieval, it encompasses vital information about commonly encountered conditions and procedures on the neonatal unit. The handbook is written by outstanding neonatal practitioners in accessible language and consistently formatted for ease of use. Illustrations, diagrams and flow charts enhance information, which is divided into sections covering Systems Assessment and Management of Disorders, Special Care Considerations, and Procedures and Diagnostic Tests. Appendices deliver such valuable tools for clinical practice as a list of common abbreviations and pertinent web resources. Also included are downloadable, digital, patient management tools, reusable templates, and quick-reference calculation tools. Key Features: Provides quick-access, current information about common neonatal conditions and procedures Assists neonatal nurses in making sound clinical decisions Written by prominent leaders in the neonatal field Delivers information concisely and clearly for neonatal nursing staff and APs worldwide Enhances content with illustrations, diagrams, and flow charts and digital patient management and calculation tools
Nurse's Legal Handbook by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Here is the current authoritative tool you need as you weigh potential ethical issues and make important decisions for you and your patients. Nurse's Legal Handbook works as your personal legal nurse consultant, with practical direction on how to navigate legal ethics, pitfalls, and preventative steps. This indispensable handbook demonstrates the issues with recent nursing malpractice cases, to help you be protected and informed regarding your legal rights, risks, and responsibilities as a nurse. Get informed on current laws, practice standards, and areas of legal liability ... · NEW Current laws and trends in litigation that affect nursing · NEW Current legal/ethical controversies, including: the definition of death; the nurse's response to a patient request to stop treatment · NEW Legal guidance on: o How to protect yourself from being sued for nursing negligence o The importance of professional liability insurance o The litigation process, and the four elements needed to prove nursing negligence or malpractice o Signs you are at risk for civil or criminal prosecution o What to do if you are named as a defendant o Testifying as a nurse expert o Nursing documentation as the best courtroom evidence o How testifying experts use medical records in malpractice litigation o The effects of Good Samaritan Laws on nursing o Making ethical decisions; ethical relationships with patients and coworkers o Your employee rights; the meanings of employee contracts; and whistleblowing · NEW How the states' Nurse Practice Acts and the current American Nurse Association (ANA) Scope and Standards of Nursing Practice regulate quality of care · NEW How nursing standards and hospital policies affect court decisions · NEW Ethical issues raised by landmark cases: End of life, quality of life; laws such as the Patient Self-Determination Act; violence against nurses and the ANA's response · Crucial information for advanced practice nurses and nurse practitioners, legal nurse consultants, risk managers, critical care nurses, medical/surgical nurses, nurse attorneys, emergency nurses, long-term care nurses, and nurse educators
Nursing: The Ultimate Study Guide by
The key to success in nursing school is effective studying Why not have a concise study guide that conveys all the essential, tested material for each course? Tired of buying study guides for each nursing course? This is the ultimate, all-in-one study guide to the core information nursing students need for success in all of their foundational courses. This is a small study guide that packs a big punch. This guide is also a great tool for new nurse graduates. Presented in a well-organized and easy-to-read style, it contains everything a nursing student needs to know from the first nursing course through the last. The second edition is updated with critical new information about medications, lab values, assessments, emerging disorders, and nursing interventions. It includes three new chapters: "What to Expect in Nursing School," "Decreasing Test Anxiety," and "Emergency Nursing." The guide closely follows the standard nursing curriculum and is designed as a reference for every core nursing course. To facilitate successful exam preparation, the text highlights important material most likely to appear on class exams. Also included are tips on what to expect on the NCLEX-RN√U. NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION: New and updated information on medications, lab values, emerging conditions, and nursing interventions A new chapter on emergency nursing A new chapter on anxiety-reducing test-taking strategies A new chapter on what to expect in nursing school
Oxford Handbook of Emergency Nursing by
Emergency nursing requires rapid assessment and decision-making. Often nurses are required to make sense of considerable amounts of information and act on it. The Oxford Handbook of Emergency Nursing provides an essential resource when time is short and the need for practical clinical guidance is paramount. This second edition has been fully updated to reflect new guidelines and approaches which have impacted emergency nursing in recent years. This handbook provides clear, focussed information that will aid all areas of patient assessment and management in emergency care. The concise format will enable the reader to quickly locate the information needed and provides alerts regarding critical 'must-dos' for ill adults and children. The skills section provides a quick summary of the many clinical skills needed in emergency care, ideal as an introduction for the uninitiated and as a refresher for skills performed infrequently. Additionally, this second edition has been expanded to cover nursing in major trauma and emergencies in the elderly. This handbook will empower nurses to deliver excellence in emergency care. Written by practising nurses and subject experts, the Oxford Handbook of Emergency Nursing is a unique and invaluable companion for qualified and student nurses, and to all health care professionals working in the emergency care setting.
Fast Facts for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing, by
Designated a Doody's Core Title This is a pithy, pocket-sized resource for students and practicing nurses alike that delivers the foundations of evidence-based practice (EBP) and basic nursing research concepts in an easy-to-read, quick-access format. It demystifies the research process with straightforward information presented in concise sentences and bullet points. The book focuses on providing readers with the most practical information on EBP--including how to get the best evidence quickly using various databases and includes coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. At-a-glance charts categorize research and simple examples demonstrate concepts. The second edition has been updated to reflect rapidly changing trends and stateof-the-art information in EBP, including such new research methods as narrative inquiry and storytelling. Using proven, class-tested content for both traditional and online courses, this updated edition includes guidance on how EBP is used to obtain and retain Magnet status, and presents examples of how health care providers are integrating EBP into their practice. The text differentiates between EBP and research, often a difficult distinction for students to grasp. Extensive coverage of how EBP can be used to improve patient care includes many practical examples. Every chapter includes the popular "Fast Facts in a Nutshell" feature, highlighting must-know information. The book also provides background information on defining the "compelling question" which is essential to finding the appropriate evidence-based material. New to the Second Edition: Reflects new trends, research methods, and state-of-the-art EBP information Includes guidance on how EBP is used to obtain and retain Magnet status Provides examples of how health care providers and hospitals are integrating EBP into their practice Differentiates between EBP and research Discusses how EBP can be used to improve patient care
Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research by
Designated a Doody's Core Title Praise for the previous edition: This reference is valuable to scholars at all levels of nursing and is especially useful to researchers. . . . With this volume at hand consumers of research and theory will learn more easily and quickly.Molly (Mickey) Dougherty, PhD, RN Professor of Nursing, University of North Carolina Editor, Nursing Research What distinguishes this Dictionary from others are its attention to the diversity in inquiry and distinctively nursing 'takes' on key concepts in theory and research. This Dictionary will be a welcome addition to the libraries of both new and experienced researchers." Margarete Sandelowski Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill The fourth edition of this classic dictionary for understanding traditional and new concepts in nursing theory and research encompasses the considerable changes that have occurred in the clinical health sciences since the previous edition was published. It includes updates and new references for entries from the previous edition, and information related to developing areas of research and practice. New content that reflects nursing priorities in research and theory development in the current interprofessional health care environment is featured. This book remains an invaluable reference for nursing students, researchers, theoreticians, and scholars.Key features: Includes new and updated entries on developing national and international research trends, such as translational research, implementation science, and comparative effectiveness research Contains content related to high-priority research areas, such as biological and biobehavioral research, outcomes research, health services research, and participatory models of research Presents cross-references and citations from relevant multinational nursing and interdisciplinary literature sources Incorporates information based on the scrutiny of students and faculty to ensure utmost clarity
Measurement in Nursing and Health Research, Fifth Edition by
Praise for the Previous Edition: "This is a valuable resource for readers seeking basic to advanced information on measurement. It should be on the bookshelf of all researchers, and a requirement for graduate nursing students." Score: 100, 5 stars -- Doody's Medical Reviews "...this book is a wonderful shelf reference for nurse researcher mentors and investigators who may need to explore content or use content to design, test, select, and evaluate instruments and methods used in measuring nurse concepts and outcomes." --Clinical Nurse Specialist "Presents clearly the methodological principles for research planning in nursing with examples that facilitate the understanding of them. Excellent." 5.0 out of 5 stars --Nursing Research This highly popular resource--written in an easy-to-read style and format-- delivers everything nurses and other health researchers need to know about designing, testing, selecting, and evaluating instruments and methods for measurement in nursing. The Fifth Edition features the most current content, strategies, and procedures available with direct applicability to nurses and health researchers engaging in interprofessional research, collaboration, education, and evidence-based practice. Five new chapters focus on challenges to using big data, evaluation and measurement in interprofessional practice and education, metrics and benchmarking in health professions education and practice, and measurement issues in translational science. The book gives particular attention to measurement issues resulting from changes in nursing, health research, and the increased emphasis on and undertaking of interprofessional research and evaluation. Presenting the material in step-by-step format, the book is designed for readers with little or no experience in measurement, statistics, or interprofessional issues. It focuses on increasing the reader's ability to use measures that are operationalized within the context of theories and conceptual frameworks, derived from sound measurement principles and practices and adequately tested for reliability and validity. Additionally, the text provides a pragmatic account of the processes involved in all aspects of measurement. Studies conducted by nurses and researchers in varied settings illustrate the measurement processes. New to the Fifth Edition: Thoroughly updated and revisedDelivers new and emerging strategiesReflects recent changes to nursing, health research, and emphasis on interprofessional researchIncludes five completely new chapters addressing challenges to using big data, evaluation and measurement in interprofessional practice and education, metrics and benchmarking in health professions education and practice, and measurement issues in translational science Key Features: Easy-to-read content and formatAssumes no prior knowledge of measurement, statistics, or interprofessional issuesProvides studies conducted by nurses and researchers in varied settingsOffers a pragmatic account of the processes involved inn all aspects of measurement
Nursing Research Using Case Studies by
Once considered to be a lesser pedagogical method, the case study is now recognized as a powerful, in-depth tool for examining evidence-based practice as it relates to patient care, family dynamics, professional roles, and organizational systems. Here is a unique how-to guide to conducting research using case studies. Focusing on current leading methodologies, the text describes the philosophical basis and state of the art for using this qualitative method. The peer-reviewed designs (including interviews, physiological measurements, psychological tests, and analyses of patients' diaries and journals) are accompanied by an in-depth research plan, a discussion of appropriate methods, and ethical considerations. The text provides clear directives - bolstered by nursing examples - on how to solve practical problems a researcher may encounter. Examples from international scholars who have published research using case studies are included along with coaching designed to support the new researcher in making decisions and facing challenges. The text is the eighth in a series of concise volumes addressing a variety of methods for conducting qualitative research. Conceived and edited by a noted expert in qualitative research, the book is designed for both novice and practicing researchers seeking to develop or expand their competency, health institution research divisions, in-service educators and students, and graduate nursing educators and students. Key Features: Explains clearly and concisely how to conduct research using case studiesReviews the philosophical basis for using case studiesFocuses on solving practical problems related to conducting researchOffers rich nursing exemplars and coaching from international health/mental health contributors
Mental Measurements Yearbook Online
Coverage: 1985 - present
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this resource is essential for evaluating contemporary testing instruments. Designed for novices and professionals alike, it contains full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership.
Online Tutorial Available Here
