What is a DOI?
"A digital object identifier (DOI) is a unique alphanumeric string assigned by a registration agency (the International DOI Foundation) to identify content and provide a persistent link to its location on the Internet." -American Psychological Association (APA)
Where can you find a DOI?
You can find the DOI in the search results list or the abstract page for a particular article.
Please Note: not all articles are assigned a DOI's (Digital Object Identifier), see flow chart below for info.
From the Purdue OWL, see how to cite the DOI.
Cited references are the articles, books or other materials listed in a bibliography or as works cited in a particular publication. Because citation databases index each reference, it is possible to search these cited references. One can follow a particular cited reference, or cited author, forward in time to find more current articles that have also cited that author or work.
Go to A-Z Database List, select Indexed from the All Database Types dropdown, see example .
| Scholarly (Refereed, Peer-Reviewed) Journal Articles |
Non-Scholarly (Popular) Journal Articles |
|
|---|---|---|
| Definition |
Scholarly articles are "peer-reviewed" by other experts in the field. Are also sometimes called "refereed articles." |
Non-scholarly articles are meant to inform or entertain readers rather than provide in-depth analysis. |
| Content | Content of articles usually reports on original research or experimentation. | Content of articles often reports on other research or events rather than presenting original research. |
| Bibliography | Articles usually list references in footnotes or endnotes. | Articles are seldom footnoted and the source of information is seldom given. |
| Illustrations | Illustrations, if any, are usually graphs and charts that support the subject content. | Often are illustrated with glossy or color photographs. |
| Author(s) | Articles are written by experts in the field. | Authors are usually on the staff of the magazine or are freelance writers. Author's name is often not supplied |
| Length/Depth | Articles are generally long and contain in-depth coverage of the topic. | Articles are often short and intended to provide an overview of a topic rather than an in-depth analysis. |
| Advertising | Contain few if any advertisements. | Usually contain many advertisements. |
| Publisher | Frequently, articles are published by a scholarly professional organization (e.g. American Chemical Society, American Psychological Association). | Publishers are marketing to the general public and usually make their publications available in stores and newsstands. |
| Language | Authors write in the language of their discipline. Readers are assumed to have some knowledge of the field. | Articles are directed towards the general public and written in non-technical language. |
Access tools help locate primary and secondary sources. Some types of access tools are:
| Databases | Bibliographies |
| Subject Guides | Online Catalogs |
| Subject Directories | Search Engines |
There are three types of sources used in research: Primary, Secondary and Access Tools.
A primary source is a firsthand testimony or direct evidence concerning a topic under investigation. Primary sources are written or created during the time period being studied, or by a person directly involved in the event. Primary sources offer an inside view of a particular event or time period. Some types of primary sources are:
| Original Documents | Creative Works | Artifacts |
|---|---|---|
| Diaries | Novels | Jewelry |
| Speeches | Music | Tools |
| Letters | Films | Pottery |
| Meeting Minutes | Visual Art | Clothing |
| Interviews | Poetry | Buildings |
| Research Data | Performing Arts | Furniture |
| Autobiographies | Film | Footage |
A Secondary source interprets and analyzes primary sources. Secondary sources are one step removed from the primary sources. Some types of secondary sources are:
| Textbooks | Journal Articles | Commentaries |
| Bibliographies | Criticism | Histories |
| Encyclopedias | Book Reviews |
