 |
Library Barcode Required |
 |
Electronic Book (eBook) |
 |
Print Resource |
 |
DVD Video |
 |
Additional Information |
 |
Open Access Resource |
 |
Website |
 |
Newly Added Resource |
 |
WorldCat Link |
The following sources that have call numbers which begin with "REF" can be found on the main level of the Wolfgram Memorial Library in the Reference Area. Books that do not include "REF", can be found on the third floor. Ask a reference librarian if you need help locating an item.
Encyclopedia of Sex by
Featuring over 250 alphabetically arranged entries, this reference text has been updated for its second edition to provide all the sexual knowledge anyone needs to be sexually literate. It addresses every aspect of sex: from the most basic biological information to psychological, cultural, legal and religious concerns.
The Complete Dictionary of Sexology by
A comprehensive dictionary of sexuality, this work covers 6000 sexually-related terms currently in use in the fields of the social and psychological sciences, biology and medicine, religion and law. Entries, many of which are mini-essays, offer insights into contemporary technical terms and cross-references allow easy checking of related issues. The Dictionary includes historical information, slang and colloquial terms, words imported into English-language use from other cultures, theories, frequent references to published sources, literature and biographies, plus legal cases.
A Descriptive Dictionary and Atlas of Sexology by
The editors of this dictionary have gathered terms and theories from glossaries in college textbooks on human sexuality, consulted medical dictionaries, and utilized concepts developed by psychologist John Money. The terms defined span the disciplines of sociology, biology, medicine, and the humanities. To be found among the more than 6000 entries are theories and observations about sex from Greek philosophers, Freud, and Masters and Johnson. Numerous entries include bibliographic information. Appendixes list philias and paraphilias; phobias and sexual anxieties; biographical sketches; and U.S. Supreme Court decisions relating to sexual behavior. "Library Journal" The field of sexuality spans a wide range of academic disciplines in the biological sciences, social sciences, and humanities, many of which do not share a common vocabulary. The diversity of expertise combined with a recent explosion of sexological research and knowledge has created confusion and inaccuracy in the cross-disciplinary use of language. By bringing together clear, succinct explanations of the terms and concepts used in each discipline, the authors of this descriptive dictionary have created a standard basis for communication throughout the field. This work provides more than six thousand entries. It defines the terms and theories that are essential to an understanding of the field and documents important contributions to sexology--ranging from the observations of Greek philosophers to findings of sexual researchers from Kraftt-Ebing and Margaret Mead to Masters and Johnson. A substantial number of entries reflect the work of Dr. John Money, who significantly enriched the language of sexology and was responsible for such pivotal concepts as gender role and gender identity. Bibliographical information in provided for each topic and additional information is offered in the appendix. Researchers, professionals, and students working on any aspect of sex or sexuality will find this dictionary comprehensive and easy to use.
Encyclopedia of Homosexuality by
First published in 1990, The Encyclopedia of Homosexualitybrings together a collection of outstanding articles that were, at the time of this book's original publication, classic, pioneering, and recent. Together, the two volumes provide scholarship on male and female homosexuality and bisexuality, and, reaching beyond questions of physical sexuality, they examine the effects of homophilia and homophobia on literature, art, religion, science, law, philosophy, society, and history. Many of the writings were considered to be controversial, and often contradictory, at that time, and refer to issues and difficulties that still exist today.
The International Encyclopedia of Sexuality by
Recipient of the "Citation of Excellence for an Outstanding Reference Work of Sexology" awarded by the American Foundation for Gender and Genital Medicine and Science at the Thirteenth World Congress of Sexology, Valencia, Spain
The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality by
--A completely updated one-volume edition of the 4-volume International Encyclopedia of Sexuality--Includes nearly 60 countries and places--12 not previously covered--by more than 200 authorities--It is the only reference work of its kind in any language Now in a thoroughly updated one-volume edition, The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality is the foremost reference work on sexual behavior throughout the world at the beginning of a new millennium. Written by more than 200 leading sexologists in their respective countries and cultures, each lengthy entry explores such areas as heterosexual relationships, children, adolescents, adults, gender-conflicted persons, unconventional sexual patterns, contraception, sexually transmitted diseases, AIDS, sexual dysfunctions, and therapies. It also includes sexual issues for older persons and physically and mentally challenged individuals.Places to be included for the first time are: Cuba, Denmark, Estonia, France, Hong Kong, Nepal, Norway, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, and Tanzania.
The following sources can be found on the third floor of the Wolfgram Library. Ask a reference librarian if you need help locating an item.
Routledge Handbook of Sexuality, Health and Rights by
The last two decades have witnessed an explosion of research on sexuality as the social sciences have worked to find new ways of understanding a rapidly changing world. Growing concern for issues such as population, women's and men's reproductive health, and the HIV and AIDS pandemic, has since provided new legitimacy for work on sexuality, health and rights. A detailed and up-to-date reference work, the Routledge Handbook of Sexuality, Health and Rights provides an authoritative overview of the main issues in the field today. Leading academics and practitioners are brought together to reflect on past, present and future approaches to understanding and promoting sexual health and rights. Divided into nine parts, it covers: pioneering beginnings language, discourse and sexual categories from sexuality to health the reproductive imperative how to have sex in an epidemic the choreography of sex the darker side of sex from sexual health to sexual rights struggles for erotic justice. This Handbook surveys the state of the discipline and offers an examination and discussion of emerging, controversial and cutting edge areas. It is an essential reference for academics and researchers in the fields of sexuality studies, sexual health and human rights, and offers key reading for more advanced students.
Handbook of Adolescent Sexuality and Pregnancy by
This handbook contains all the tools necessary to carry out research in the field of adolescent sexual behaviour, without having to create, pretest and modify a new research instrument. The authors provide validated instrument items from long-term surveys, abstracts of over sixty previously designed and field-tested instruments, and two short questionnaires for adolescent care and prevention programmes.
The Handbook of Forensic Sexology by
The relationship of scientific research on human sexuality (sexology) to society's legal, judicial, and law enforcement systems (forensics) is the focus of this encyclopedic volume. Editors James J. Krivacska and John Money have assembled contributions by leading experts, covering a wide range of legal and medical issues pertaining to the interconnection between law and sexual behavior.
Handbook of Gender and Sexuality in Psychological Assessment by
Handbook of Gender and Sexuality in Psychological Assessmentbrings together two interrelated realms: psychological assessment with gender and sexuality. This handbook aids in expanding the psychological assessors' knowledge and skill when considering how gender and sexuality shapes the client's and the assessor's experiences. Throughout the six sections, gender and sexuality are discussed in their relation to different psychological methods of assessment; various psychological disorders; special considerations for children, adolescents, and older adults; important training and ethical considerations; as well as several in-depth case discussions.
Teaching Human Sexuality by
Originally designed for foster parents, Teaching Human Sexuality offers an excellent, age-appropriate program to help all parents and caregivers teach the multivaried aspects of human sexuality. Starting with the basics of how to discuss sexuality with children, the manual covers sexual development, interests, and concerns typical to specific age groups. Appendices include glossary-organized references and illustrative information on human sexuality arranged by topic.Note: Because of the particular nature of child sexual abuse, the manual covers the unique concerns of children who have been sexually abused.
The Classification of Sex by
Alfred C. Kinsey's revolutionary studies of human sexual behavior are world-renowned. His meticulous methods of data collection, from comprehensive entomological assemblies to personal sex history interviews, raised the bar for empirical evidence to an entirely new level. In The Classification of Sex, Donna J. Drucker presents an original analysis of Kinsey's scientific career in order to uncover the roots of his research methods. She describes how his enduring interest as an entomologist and biologist in the compilation and organization of mass data sets structured each of his classification projects. As Drucker shows, Kinsey's lifelong mission was to find scientific truth in numbers and through observation--and to record without prejudice in the spirit of a true taxonomist. Kinsey's doctoral work included extensive research of the gall wasp, where he gathered and recorded variations in over six million specimens. His classification and reclassification of Cynips led to the speciation of the genus that remains today. During his graduate training, Kinsey developed a strong interest in evolution and the links between entomological and human behavior studies. In 1920, he joined Indiana University as a professor in zoology, and soon published an introductory text on biology, followed by a coauthored field guide to edible wild plants. In 1938, Kinsey began teaching a noncredit course on marriage, where he openly discussed sexual behavior and espoused equal opportunity for orgasmic satisfaction in marital relationships. Soon after, he began gathering case histories of sexual behavior. As a pioneer in the nascent field of sexology, Kinsey saw that the key to its cogency was grounded in observation combined with the collection and classification of mass data. To support the institutionalization of his work, he cofounded the Institute for Sex Research at Indiana University in 1947. He and his staff eventually conducted over eighteen thousand personal interviews about sexual behavior, and in 1948 he published Sexual Behavior in the Human Male, to be followed in 1953 by Sexual Behavior in the Human Female. As Drucker's study shows, Kinsey's scientific rigor and his early use of data recording methods and observational studies were unparalleled in his field. Those practices shaped his entire career and produced a wellspring of new information, whether he was studying gall wasp wings, writing biology textbooks, tracing patterns of evolution, or developing a universal theory of human sexuality.
