Human Sexuality

The mission of the Sexuality Archives is to collect, preserve and make available to researchers, materials such as pamphlets, papers, newsletters, books, journals and audiovisual materials related to the history of Sexuality, Sexology and Sexuality Education as well as Widener's Human Sexuality program.

The Carter/Johnson Leather Library is a collective history of various communities who have chosen to live and love differently. The Library, a 501(c)(3) organization, is chartered to bring this history to the communities that it serves. As the only library of its kind, it is our mission to create an interactive relationship with the stories from the past and the present and link them to future generations. The Library collection includes thousands of leather, fetish, S/m, kink and alternate sexuality books, magazines, posters, art, newspapers, ephemera and memorabilia dating back to the 1700's. The Carter/Johnson Library is designed to put people in touch with their history by allowing them to hold it, read it, smell it and know it.

The Haeberle-Hirschfeld Archive of Sexology is part of the University Library's special collections and contains literature on sexology in the sociological context.

The Human Sexuality Collection seeks to preserve and make accessible primary sources that document historical shifts in the social construction of sexuality, with a focus on U.S. lesbian and gay history and the politics of pornography.

Search this site and online catalog to discover art, artifacts, publications, and anthropological resources that document the stories of our common humanity.

The Leather Archives & Museum is dedicated to the compilation, preservation, and maintenance of leather, kink, and fetish lifestyles. Our museum galleries serve to present educational and historical material to an adult audience. Our reading library and archive serve to support researchers and community members in accessing materials and documentation relevant to the history and culture of leather.

The Transgender Archives at the University of Victoria is committed to the preservation of the history of pioneering activists, community leaders, and researchers who have contributed to the betterment of trans, gender non-binary, and two-spirit people.