 |
Library Barcode Required |
 |
Electronic Book (eBook) |
 |
Print Resource |
 |
DVD Video |
 |
Additional Information |
 |
Open Access Resource |
 |
Website |
 |
Newly Added Resource |
 |
WorldCat Link |
Many people are familiar with reading books, but academic non-fiction is a lot different than reading a narrative. Most importantly, you usually don't need to read the entire book. Most print books will have a table of contents and index to help researchers find exactly what they need. eBooks provided by the library are full-text searchable. Both are a great source for definitions and foundational theories.
The Health Care Manager's Human Resources Handbook by
Principles and Practice of Sport Management, Third Edition, provides students with solid fundamental information on what they need to do to be successful in the sport industry. Updated and expanded, this best-selling text offers a unique blend of information on the foundations and principles on which sport management operates as well as how to apply those foundations and principles to the sport industry. The authors, all well-renowned professors in sport management or sport administration, have produced a text that is thorough, practical, and lively, and which lays the groundwork for students as they study and prepare for successful careers in sport management.
Encyclopedia of Medical Decision Making by
Decision making is a critical element in the field of medicine that can lead to life-or-death outcomes, yet it is an element fraught with complex and conflicting variables, diagnostic and therapeutic uncertainties, patient preferences and values, and costs. Together, decisions made by physicians, patients, insurers, and policymakers determine the quality of health care, quality that depends inherently on counterbalancing risks and benefits and competing objectives such as maximizing life expectancy versus optimizing quality of life or quality of care versus economic realities. Broadly speaking, concepts in medical decision making (MDM) may be divided into two major categories: prescriptive and descriptive. Work in the area of prescriptive MDM investigates how medical decisions should be done using complicated analyses and algorithms to determine cost-effectiveness measures, prediction methods, and so on. In contrast, descriptive MDM studies how decisions actually are made involving human judgment, biases, social influences, patient factors, and so on. The Encyclopedia of Medical Decision Making gives a gentle introduction to both categories, revealing how medical and healthcare decisions are actually made--and constrained--and how physician, healthcare management, and patient decision making can be improved to optimize health outcomes. Key Features Discusses very general issues that span many aspects of MDM, including bioethics; health policy and economics; disaster simulation modeling; medical informatics; the psychology of decision making; shared and team medical decision making; social, moral, and religious factors; end-of-life decision making; assessing patient preference and patient adherence; and more Incorporates both quantity and quality of life in optimizing a medical decision Considers characteristics of the decisionmaker and how those characteristics influence their decisions Presents outcome measures to judge the quality or impact of a medical decision Examines some of the more commonly encountered biostatistical methods used in prescriptive decision making Provides utility assessment techniques that facilitate quantitative medical decision making Addresses the many different assumption perspectives the decision maker might choose from when trying to optimize a decision Offers mechanisms for defining MDM algorithms
Encyclopedia of Health Care Management by
Health care is one of today's most discussed and debated topics. From issues such as accessibility to costs to quality, the debates range widely among doctors, patients, employers, and insurers. A popular topic in political campaigns and the media, health care and health care management is also a quiet and unremitting concern in the private and personal lives of individuals who worry about someday having to choose between food and prescription drugs. The Encyclopedia of Health Care Management will prove invaluable to libraries serving students and professionals in health and business. It will also be an essential reference for health providers and their employees, and students and professors in health and management for responsible and successful practice and administration in the health care industry.
Discovery @ Widener
Introduction to the Financial Management of Healthcare Organizations, Sixth Edition by
This book presents financial management in the healthcare organization and environment. In addition to core financial management topics, the unique aspects of finance in healthcare are covered, including the objectives of healthcare financial management, the tax status of healthcare organizations, and third-party payers and payment methodologies. Topics new to this edition include: new data on health economics and accounting; updates on changes caused by the Affordable Care Act, including requirements for tax-exempt hospitals and organizational billing and collection policies; information on capitation, entitlement reform, cost-benefit and cost-effectiveness analyses, and financial statements; recent legal action related to the distinctions between for-profit and not-for-profit hospitals; and information regarding federal government actions against providers on fraud and abuse allegation.
Financial Management in Health Care Organizations by
This new text provides financial managers with an overview of the financial management of health care organizations. By using an easy-to-read format and presenting a variety of case studies, this book focuses on the financial management function in the context of overall organizational management.
Accounting Fundamentals for Health Care Management by
Accounting Fundamentals for Health Care Management is the ideal text for an introductory course in financial management in both undergraduate and graduate programs. As most courses focus on basic accounting, this is the first book that focuses on basic accounting in health care management. This book is an essential for anyone who manages a department and a budget.
The Financial Management of Hospitals and Healthcare Organizations by
"This book introduces nonfinancial managers to the fundamental concepts and skills necessary to cost-effectively manage operations."--BOOK JACKET.
The Analytics Revolution by
The topics of big data and analytics continue to be among the most discussed and pursued in the business world today. While a decade ago many people still questioned whether or not data and analytics would help improve their businesses, today virtually no one questions the value that analytics brings to the table. The Analytics Revolution focuses on how this evolution has come to pass and explores the next wave of evolution that is underway. Making analytics operational involves automating and embedding analytics directly into business processes and allowing the analytics to prescribe and make decisions. It is already occurring all around us whether we know it or not. The Analytics Revolution delves into the requirements for laying a solid technical and organizational foundation that is capable of supporting operational analytics at scale, and covers factors to consider if an organization is to succeed in making analytics operational. Along the way, you'll learn how changes in technology and the business environment have led to the necessity of both incorporating big data into analytic processes and making them operational. The book cuts straight through the considerable marketplace hype and focuses on what is really important. The book includes: An overview of what operational analytics are and what trends lead us to them Tips on structuring technology infrastructure and analytics organizations to succeed A discussion of how to change corporate culture to enable both faster discovery of important new analytics and quicker implementation cycles of what is discovered Guidance on how to justify, implement, and govern operational analytics The Analytics Revolution gives you everything you need to implement operational analytic processes with big data.
Cost-Effectiveness Analysis in Health: A Practical Approach by
The field's bestselling reference, updated with the latest tools, data, and techniques Cost-Effectiveness Analysis in Health is a practical introduction to the tools, methods, and procedures used worldwide to perform cost-effective research. Covering every aspect of a complete cost-effectiveness analysis, this book shows you how to find which data you need, where to find it, how to analyze it, and how to prepare a high-quality report for publication. Designed for the classroom or the individual learner, the material is presented in simple and accessible language for those who lack a biostatistics or epidemiology background, and each chapter includes real-world examples and "tips and tricks" that highlight key information. Exercises throughout allow you to test your understanding with practical application, and the companion website features downloadable data sets for students, as well as lecture slides and a test bank for instructors. This new third edition contains new discussion on meta-analysis and advanced modeling techniques, a long worked example using visual modeling software TreeAge Pro, and updated recommendations from the U.S. Public Health Service's Panel on Cost-Effectiveness in Health and Medicine. Cost-effectiveness analysis is used to evaluate medical interventions worldwide, in both developed and developing countries. This book provides process-specific instruction in a concise, structured format to give you a robust working knowledge of common methods and techniques. Develop a thoroughly fleshed-out research project Work accurately with costs, probabilities, and models Calculate life expectancy and quality-adjusted life years Prepare your study and your data for publication Comprehensive analysis skills are essential for students seeking careers in public health, medicine, biomedical research, health economics, health policy, and more. Cost-Effectiveness Analysis in Health walks you through the process from a real-world perspective to help you build a skillset that's immediately applicable in the field.
Mastering Healthcare Informatics: A Healthcare Handbook for Success by
Informatics, the science of processing data for storage and retrieval, is vital in today's healthcare environment. At the core of informatics practice is the electronic health record (EHR). However, the scope of informatics encompasses many areas peripheral to the EHR, such as use of mobile devices, patient portals, data analytics, telehealth, and conducting health IT research. Health informatics specialists are at the forefront of effective programs that are changing patient outcomes and education, but producing these systems is not a simple task for any healthcare professional. This book presents key informatics concepts to help readers increase knowledge and expertise. The authors begin with the phases of the system development lifecycle (SDLC): planning and analysis, design and usability, testing, training, implementation, maintenance, and evaluation. This overview provides informatics nurses, physicians, pharmacists, dentists, dieticians, and other clinical professionals with a solid foundation of knowledge of each SDLC phase, positioning them for success within any clinical system. Coverage includes: essential tools for project management, patient safety and engagement, security and privacy concepts and healthcare clinical decision support.
An Introduction to Healthcare Organizational Ethics by
This is a lucid, readable discussion of ethical questions in health care as they arise on the business or organizational level: an effort to spell out an ethical perspective for healthcare organizations. It will be of use to students in health services management programs, health careprofessionals, healthcare administrators, and members of healthcare ethics committees. Hall begins with the ethical analysis of decision-making in the management of healthcare organizations and then addresses some of the questions of organizational ethics through an analysis of corporate socialresponsibility in for-profit and not-for-profit organizations and of the problem of uncompensated care. Later chapters take up patient development, community relations, diversity, employee relations, governmental relations, regulatory compliance and medical records. The author's analysis focuses onhealthcare institutions as business organizations with many of the problems faced by corporate management in other fields but with the difference that health care holds a special place among human needs and has traditionally been viewed from an altruistic perspective. He gives special attention tothe new standards on organizational ethics promulgated by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations and includes many case studies not only to illustrate the main points but also to direct the reader's attention to peripheral aspects that can complicate theses issues.
Safety and Ethics in Healthcare: A Guide to Getting It Right by
As more and more people survive into old age, the burden of caring for them becomes greater and greater. Although it is now possible to alleviate many of the afflictions that beset mankind, no society can afford to pay for all the healthcare that is now available or technically possible. People working in healthcare increasingly have to do more with less. Rationing takes many forms, mostly covert, and the less privileged in most societies end up struggling to get their proper share of the available healthcare resources. All too often, those in the front-line have to deal with the consequences of this 'rationing by default': healthcare professionals find themselves rushed off their feet simply doing the basic tasks and completing all the paperwork; placing frail, sick people in ever lengthening queues, sometimes asking them to wait for hours in the middle of the night under uncomfortable and even unsafe conditions; and, worst of all, working under conditions they would rather avoid in which the safety margin for those they are caring for has been greatly diminished. We are all aware that under these conditions the chance of making a mistake which can seriously harm or even lead to the death of a patient is greatly increased. But what can be done about this? How can you be sure that you are doing the right thing when faced with having to practise an uncertain science on vulnerable patients in a complex system under ever-changing conditions? At what point could you cross the invisible line from reasonable to irresponsible or unethical behaviour by tolerating conditions or tacitly accepting practices which may be regarded as unacceptable, even though you may have little immediate control over them? This book is a guide to getting it right for healthcare professionals. It is about doing the right thing, in the right way, at the right time, for the right people. These are the dimensions of quality in healthcare, and although some are in conflict (equitable access and efficiency, for example), adherence to ethical practice and professional behaviour will help lead healthcare practitioners through the minefield of responsibilities and priorities. Real-life situations are integral to the book, with over 500 clinical examples referred to within the text.
The Tracks We Leave : Ethics in Healthcare Management by
This work provides guidance to executives dealing with the competing values and moral conflicts inherent in healthcare, using cases, discussion, and essays to bring to life debates on issues such as medical errors, physician impairment, sexual harassment, workforce reduction, and patient safety. Cases illustrate what others in similar situations have done, and an epilogue discusses the effects of decisions. Perry has served as a healthcare management consultant to both national and international levels, and held management positions at the American College of Healthcare Executives. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)
Human Resources in Healthcare: Managing for Success by
Human Resources in Healthcare: Managing for Success, Third Edition, presents the techniques and practices behind effectively managing people-the healthcare industrys most important asset. It provides the concepts and practical tools necessary for meeting the unique challenge of managing healthcare employees. Key Features: This edition includes: * An expanded chapter on health and safety in the workplace, highlighting disaster preparedness and management * A new chapter on globalization and the mobile workforce * A new chapter focusing on employee benefits and benefit design * An expanded chapter on training and career development * A new section containing complex cases Chapters include cases, discussion questions, and exercises Covers fundamental topics as well as timely issues
Strategic Human Resource Management in Health Care by
Strategic management of HR in health care is important in delivering high-quality patient care. Given that salary and wages constitute about 65 to 80% of the total operating budget in a typical health care organization and also the fact that people play a critical role in delivering high quality patient care, it is imperative for health care organizations to manage their human resources more effectively. Unfortunately, the HR function remains one of the most neglected in health care organizations and 'warm body syndrome' seems to characterize the role of HRM in health care organizations. The purpose of the special issue of AHCM on Human Resource Management is to explore the strategic role that HR function can play in delivering high quality and affordable health care.
Big Data in Organizations and the Role of Human Resource Management by
Big data are changing the way we work as companies face an increasing amount of data. Rather than replacing a human workforce or making decisions obsolete, big data are going to pose an immense innovating force to those employees capable of utilizing them. This book intends to first convey a theoretical understanding of big data. It then tackles the phenomenon of big data from the perspectives of varied organizational theories in order to highlight socio-technological interaction. Big data are bound to transform organizations which calls for a transformation of the human resource department. The HR department's new role then enables organizations to utilize big data for their purpose. Employees, while remaining an organization's major competitive advantage, have found a powerful ally in big data.
Fundamentals of Human Resources in Healthcare by
Human Resources in Healthcare: Managing for Success, Third Edition, presents the techniques and practices behind effectively managing people -- the healthcare industrys most important asset. It provides the concepts and practical tools necessary for meeting the unique challenge of managing healthcare employees. Key Features: * This edition includes: - An expanded chapter on health and safety in the workplace, highlighting disaster preparedness and management - A new chapter on globalization and the mobile workforce - A new chapter focusing on employee benefits and benefit design - An expanded chapter on training and career development - A new section containing complex cases * Chapters include cases, discussion questions, and exercises * Covers fundamental topics as well as timely issues
Information Systems for Healthcare Management by
This updated best seller provides the comprehensive knowledge readers need to understand healthcare information technology (HIT) and to hone their skills in HIT management. The, book explores the areas where leaders must exhibit basic awareness or competency, including the evaluation, selection, and implementation of hardware, software, and communication systems and operational, management, and clinical applications. Each chapter has been revised to reflect current trends and challenges in the field as well as the implications of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act and other relevant federal mandates. Each chapter also features learning objectives and discussion questions. Links to web resources supplement the information presented on the major topics covered in each chapter. This hew edition includes a glossary of technical terms as well as a list of commonly used abbreviations. The Eight Edition covers the Following Topics: The five broad forces that will drive future change and potentially have profound impacts on HIT in and across organizations, The roles that government policy and healthcare reform play in influencing HIT, HIT governance and strategic planning in healthcare organizations, including pertinent background, organization of planning efforts, the importance of system integration, the basics of systems theory, and an overview of management control and decision support systems, The various elements of an information system-the devices, programs, and communication networks-and possible configurations that support clinical service delivery and associated business processes, The ten key operational and tactical processes that are critical to maximizing. HIT efficiencies and effectiveness, Electronic health records and financial applications as prime example of important technologies in patient care and financial management, The Major techniques used to evaluate an HIT investment Book jacket.
Healthcare Systems Engineering by
Apply engineering and design principles to revitalize the healthcare delivery system Healthcare Systems Engineering is the first engineering book to cover this emerging field, offering comprehensive coverage of the healthcare system, healthcare delivery, and healthcare systems modeling. Written by leading industrial engineering authorities and a medical doctor specializing in healthcare delivery systems, this book provides a well-rounded resource for readers of a variety of backgrounds. Examples, case studies, and thoughtful learning activities are used to thoroughly explain the concepts presented, including healthcare systems, delivery, quantification, and design. You'll learn how to approach the healthcare industry as a complex system, and apply relevant design and engineering principles and processes to advance improvements. Written with an eye toward practicality, this book is designed to maximize your understanding and help you quickly apply toward solutions for a variety of healthcare challenges. Healthcare systems engineering is a new and complex interdisciplinary field that has emerged to address the myriad challenges facing the healthcare industry in the wake of reform. This book functions as both an introduction and a reference, giving you the knowledge you need to move toward better healthcare delivery. Understand the healthcare delivery context Use appropriate statistical and quantitative models Improve existing systems and design new ones Apply systems engineering to a variety of healthcare contexts Healthcare systems engineering overlaps with industrial engineering, operations research, and management science, uniting the principles and practices of these fields together in pursuit of optimal healthcare operations. Although collaboration is focused on practitioners, professionals in information technology, policy and administration, public health, and law all play crucial roles in revamping health care systems. Healthcare Systems Engineering is a complete and authoritative reference for stakeholders in any field.
Dynamic Capacity Management for Healthcare: advanced methods and tools for optimization by
While hospitals can learn from other industries, they cannot be improved or run like factories. With work that is more individualized than standardized, and limited control over volume and arrivals, even the leanest-minded hospital must recognize that healthcare systems are more dynamic than nearly any work environment. Written with the creativity needed to navigate the rapidly changing landscape of healthcare, Dynamic Capacity Management for Healthcare: Advanced Methods and Tools for Optimizationpresents the unique new tools, methodologies, and thinking required of healthcare systems that want to survive and thrive in a reduced reimbursement, higher-cost world. Demonstrating his approaches and recommendations through case studies specific to the complex issues of healthcare delivery, Pierce Story, a long-time and passionate healthcare operations expert, shows how hospitals and health systems can make leaps in performance in an environment in which both financial and human resources are shrinking as expectations for clinical perfection continue to rise. Through its unique approach to the dynamic management of complex care systems, this volume raises the bar for what is possible. This text presents an excellent opportunity for healthcare's change agents to meet the challenges and responsibilities of our day.
Mastering Leadership: a vital resource for health care organizations by
The challenges facing the healthcare industry are unparalleled in scope, number, and magnitude. Organizational realignments of health care systems, uncertainty about the course and impact of legislation, an aging population with evolving clinical needs, the rapid evolution of information management technologies--all combined with pressure to establish reliable systems of quality management have created an unprecedented environment for health care leaders at every level of the system. Mastering Leadership: A Vital Resource for Health Care Organizations defines and clarifies the extraordinary challenges leaders in the health care industry are facing and will continue to confront in the coming years. This text advances a model of leadership that enables executives to steer their organizations through the maze of uncertainty created by legislative, economic, demographic, clinical, information management, and political change. With contributions from leading scholars and experts in the field, the authors skillfully demonstrate how the transformational demands of leadership can be effectively integrated with the transactional and operational necessities of managing. Key Features: * Uses the Competing Values Framework to guide leaders toward an aptitude for assimilating vision development, strategic planning, and operational management. * Lead authors highly experienced in a professional and academic capacity, having served as both health care executives and leaders of growing graduate programs in business, management, and leadership. * Organized into four distinct sections: competition and commitment; communication and collaboration; community and credibility; as well as coordination and compliance.
Foundations of Health Care Administration by
This foundational text introduces future health care administrators to the full scope of responsibilities associated with these crucial positions. Fundamentals of Health Care Administration prepares students for comprehensive education on the health care industry, and helps them build the strong critical thinking and analysis skills they will need as administrators. Its broad coverage includes finance, human resources, risk assessment, crisis management, compliance, internal and external audits, quality assessment/control, performance improvement, legal and ethical concerns, and more. The first chapter includes a bulleted list of required knowledge and skills from an actual health care administrator's job description. The remaining chapters tie directly to that job description. Each chapter illustrates key concepts with relevant examples, including short selections from authoritative government documents. Complex concepts are organized into bulleted lists or steps, making them easier to understand and use. Extensive chapter review includes multiple choice, matching, short answer, and true/false questions.
Health Care Operations Management by
Health Care Operations Management: A Systems Perspective, Second Edition provides comprehensive and practical coverage of all aspects of operations management specific to the healthcare industry. It covers everything from hospital finances to project management, patient flows, performance management, process improvement, and supply chain management. This is an ideal text for university courses in healthcare management at all levels. It is also an excellent professional reference for healthcare administrators, clinical support managers, and supply chain professionals. The Second Edition has been thoroughly updated with the most recent data, statistics, and references. It also offers expanded coverage of quality, financial, and systems management, as well as a new chapter entitled "Operational Metrics in Health Care Organization".
Healthcare Management by
This popular book is amongst the most comprehensive textbooks on healthcare management available. Written with healthcare managers, professionals and students in mind, it provides an accessible guide to healthcare systems, services, organisations and management. Key areas include: Allocating resources for healthcare: setting and managing priorities Health technologies, research and innovation Internationalisation of health systems and policies Healthcare services: structure and delivery Chronic disease and integrated care Healthcare leadership and networks: incentives, governance and performance The new edition features an updated structure to support teaching and learning and thirteen new chapters which draw upon a wealth of experience from leading international experts in the field. This includes references to practical policy and case study materials, chapter summaries focusing on key points, self-assessment learning exercises, further reading and links to useful web-based resources. Healthcare Management is valuable reading for students and healthcare professionals involved in management, research and health policy making. The links between the theory and practice of healthcare management are skilfully explored and the authors show how best practice within healthcare systems can be maintained. Contributors: Vidhya Alakeson, Ruth Boaden, Jeffrey Braithwaite, Iain Buchan, Mirella Cacace, Naomi Chambers, Elaine Clark, Helen Dickinson, Jennifer Dixon, Barrie Dowdeswell, Jon Glasby, Scott Greer, Anthony Harrison, Paula Hyde, Valerie Iles, Ann Mahon, Russell Mannion, Anne McBride, Andrew McCulloch, Shirley McIver, Matt Muijen, Ellen Nolte, James Raftery, Suzanne Robinson, Rebecca Rosen, Judith Smith, Helen Sullivan, Anne Tofts, Kieran Walshe, Andy Wilkes, Iestyn Williams, Juliet Woodin and Steve Wright. "This is an outstanding book that provides the concepts and tools necessary to enable healthcare managers and policy makers to build better health care systems. The book maintains the strengths of the first edition ... and adds new chapters and updated content throughout to make the book more international and comprehensive in its coverage of topics." Tom Rundall, Professor of Organised Health Systems, University of California at Berkeley, USA "This book covers the main areas of knowledge which managers need, and gives tools for thinking and empirical examples relevant to current challenges. Evidence based management might not always be possible, but this book gives a way for a manager to become research-informed and therefore more effective." Professor John Øvretveit, Director of Research, The Karolinska Institute, Sweden
Introduction to Health Care Management by
Introduction to Health Care Management is a concise, reader-friendly, introductory healthcare management book that covers a wide variety of healthcare settings, from hospitals to nursing homes and clinics. Filled with examples to engage the reader's imagination, the important issues in healthcare management, such as ethics, cost management, strategic planning and marketing, information technology, and human resources, are all thoroughly covered. Guidelines and rubrics along with numerous case studies make this text both student-friendly and teacher friendly. It is the perfect resource for students of healthcare management, nursing, allied health, business administration, pharmacy, occupational therapy, public administration, and public health. "Drs. Buchbinder and Shanks have done a masterful job in selecting topics and authors and putting them together in a meaningful and coherent manner. Each chapter of the book is designed to give the student the core content that must become part of the repertoire of each and every healthcare manager, whether entry level or senior executive. Each of the chapters and accompanying cases serve to bring to life what it means to be a truly competent healthcare manager." --Leonard H. Friedman, PhD, MPA, MPH, Professor, Dept of Health Services Management and Leadership, and Director of the Master of Health Services Administration program, George Washington University, School of Public Health and Health Services "I am very happy with Health Care Management and will be adopting it for a new course that I will be teaching. This is probably the best management text I have seen so far. I was thrilled to receive it." --Sally K. Fauchald, PhD, RN, Assistant Professor of Nursing, The College of St. Scholastica "A solid text that covers a wide range of management topics." --Michael H. Sullivan, Director HCA Program, Methodist University, Fayetteville, North Carolina
Managing Modern Healthcare by
Until now, research has given us only a limited understanding of how managers actually make sense of and apply management knowledge; how networks of interaction amongst managers help or hinder processes of knowledge diffusion and the sharing of best practice; and how these processes are all influenced both by the organisations in which managers act and by the professional communities of practice they belong to. Managing Modern Healthcarefills these important gaps in our understanding by drawing upon an in-depth study of management networks and practice in three healthcare organisations in the UK. It draws from the primary research a number of important and grounded lessons about how management networks develop and influence the spread of management knowledge and practice; how management training and development relates to the needs of managers facing challenging conditions; and how those conditions are themselves shaping the nature of management in healthcare. This book reveals how managers in practice are responding to the many contemporary challenges facing healthcare (and the NHS in particular) and how they are able or not to effectively exploit sources of knowledge, learning and best practice through the networks of practice they engage in to improve healthcare delivery and healthcare organisational performance. Managing Modern Healthcare makes a number of important theoretical contributions as well as practical recommendations. The theoretical and empirical contributions the book makes relate to wider work on networks and networking, management knowledge, situated learning/communities of practice, professionalization/professional identity and healthcare management more generally. The practical contribution comes in the form of recommendations for healthcare management practitioners and policy makers that are intended to impact upon and help enhance healthcare management delivery and performance.
The ALA Guide to Information Sources in Insurance, Risk Management, and Actuarial Science by
The insurance industry is among the most highly regulated industries today, and literature on the field is a complex thicket of sources. Compiled by a team of specialist business librarians, this valuable, one-of-a-kind resource is a comprehensive guide to locating and using information resources about the insurance industry. Pointing researchers, practitioners, faculty and students of business administration, law firms, and anybody interested in researching the insurance industry to the most relevant information, each chapter contains an annotated list of specific print and digital sources, plus explanations on how to make best use of sometimes-forbidding technical materials.
Risk Management in Health Care Institutions by
This text serves as a primer for risk management professionals. It covers basic concepts of risk management, employment practices, and general risk management strategies. It also goes over specific risk areas including medical malpractice, strategies to reduce liability, managing positions and litigation alternatives. It includes an emphasis on outpatient medicine and the risks associated with electronic medical records. This new edition covers academic medical settings and the impact on healthcare delivery, ambulatory and outpatient surgery, and office based surgery (OBS). Each and every chapter will be updated, and more emphasis will be placed on electronic medical records including security and encryption issues. New chapters cover Risk Management for Infection Control Programs, Telemedicine, Risk Management in Ambulatory Care Settings, and Risk Management in Office-Based Surgery.