Wolfgram Subject Guides: Disability &amp; Sexuality: Databases &amp; Journals

Journals

Sexuality & Disability
Presents clinical and research progress developments in the area of sexuality as it relates to a wide range of physical and mental illness and disabling conditions.
more...less...
Impact factor: 1.016 (2019)
Journal of Applied Research in Intellectual Disabilities
JARID is an international, peer-reviewed journal which draws together findings derived from original applied research in intellectual disabilities. The journal is an important forum for the dissemination of ideas to promote valued lifestyles for people with intellectual disabilities. It reports on research from the UK and overseas by authors from all relevant professional disciplines. It is aimed at an international, multi-disciplinary readership.
more...less...
Impact factor:1.909 (2019)
Journal of Literary & Cultural Disability Studies
Focusing on representations of disability, Journal of Literary & Cultural Disability Studies publishes a wide variety of textual analyses that are informed by disability theory and, by extension, experiences of disability.

Instrumental in the interdisciplinarity of literary studies, cultural studies, and disability studies, It is an essential disability studies journal for scholars whose work concentrates on the portrayal of disability.
American Journal of Sexuality Education
A journal for sexuality educators and trainers focusing on prevention of pregnancy and sexuality transmitted diseases, sexual orientation and gender identity.
more...less...
CiteScore: 0.9 (2019)
Sexualities: Studies in Culture and Society
Sexualities is an established international journal and an invaluable resource, publishing articles, reviews and scholarly comment on the shifting nature of human sexualities. The journal adopts a broad, interdisciplinary perspective covering the whole of the social sciences, cultural history, cultural anthropology and social geography, as well as feminism, gender studies, cultural studies and lesbian and gay studies.
The Journal of Sex Research
The Journal of Sex Research publishes research into the scientific study of sexuality, spanning the disciplines of psychology, education and allied health.
more...less...
Impact Factor: 3.683 (2019)

Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1975 - present
ASP provides comprehensive content, including PDF backfiles to 1975 for nearly 140 journals and searchable cited references for more than 1,000 titles. As a leading scholarly database, it provides access to acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Adam Matthew | Sex & Sexuality This link opens in a new window
Module I: Research Collections from The Kinsey Institute Library & Special Collections
Carefully selected in partnership with The Kinsey Institute for Research in Sex, Gender, and Reproduction, the first module of Sex & Sexuality provides unprecedented access to collections from prominent sex researchers and sexologists including the Institute’s first three directors: Dr. Alfred C. Kinsey, Dr. Paul H. Gebhard and Dr. June Reinisch.

Module II: Self-Expression, Community & Identity
Documenting LGBTQI+ personal histories from the late-nineteenth century to the present day, the second module of Sex & Sexuality focuses on individual stories and experiences. This module presents accounts of grass-roots organizations and LGBTQI+ activism, self-expression in the form of diaries and correspondence, public service announcements, campaigns, and video interviews. Showing the shifting attitudes and varied experiences of sexuality throughout the twentieth century, the content covers pivotal historical events such as the aftermath of the Stonewall riots, the Wolfenden Committee, and the HIV/AIDs crisis.
ERIC | EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1966 - present
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text educational literature and resources. In addition, it provides an education-specific thesaurus that includes controlled vocabulary to help users find what they need.
Online Tutorial Available Here
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1950 - present
The Essential Resource for LGBT Literature. This database provides full-text coverage for the most important literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. Offering a variety of scholarly, popular and regional resources, it includes journals, books, magazines and more.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1946 - present
International index for medical literature, produced by the National Library of Medicine. Addresses all aspects of medicine and health care and offers citations from nearly 4,000 journals, books and book chapters, research and other sources. Includes citations originally found in the print indexes.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Nexis Uni formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe This link opens in a new window
Click here for On Campus Access

Includes international, national and local news sources; legal research resources; business news and financial information; medical and reference resources.
Online Tutorial Available Here
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Coverage: varies
PQC allows you to search multiple top databases within one platform.
Online Tutorial Available Here
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1987 - present
PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1910 -present
Full text (when available) of psychological tests and measures as well as a source of structured information about tests in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neurosciences, law, medicine, and social work.
Online Tutorial Available Here

Disability & Sexuality

Journals

Databases

Discovery Search

Discovery Search