A Clinician's Guide to Teaching Mindfulness by
Mindfulness-based interventions have exploded in popularity due to their success in treating everything from everyday stress to more serious mental health conditions such as depression, anxiety, and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).This breakthrough book provides professionals with a comprehensive, session-by-session guide to teaching mindfulness, complete with the scripts and training materials needed to teach introductory mindfulness in a wide variety of settings, despite theoretical background. Mindfulness--once an ancient practice honed in Buddhist monasteries--is now a mainstream, evidence-based, secular intervention employed by trained health and mental health professionals worldwide. The rapid spread of mindfulness increasingly involves psychologists, physicians, social workers, therapists, counselors, spiritual advisers, life coaches, and education professionals trained in their respective disciplines. Additionally, research continues to show that mindfulness is an effective treatment for anxiety, depression, stress, pain relief, and many other illnesses. If you are a professional interested in teaching mindfulness, this book will provide you with everything you need to get started right away. The introductory, six-week protocol outlined in this book is easy-to-use, and can be implemented in a variety of settings, ranging from an outpatient mental health clinic to an inpatient oncology clinic, from a substance abuse recovery program to educational settings. In addition, this book will tell you what to bring to each class; provides outlines for each session; offers scripts to help you differentiate the weekly meditative practices; and provides invaluable resources for further study and professional development. If you're looking to integrate mindfulness into your professional work, this is your go-to guide.
Cognitive Behavioral Group Therapy: Challenges and Opportunities by
With coverage of the latest theory and research, this is a complete guide to implementing cognitive behavioral group therapy for practitioners and trainees in a range of mental health disciplines. nbsp; Presents evidence-based protocols for depression, panic, social anxiety, generalized anxiety, posttraumatic stress, OCD, compulsive hoarding, psychosis, and addiction Provides innovative solutions for achieving efficient, effective therapy as mandated by emerging health care priorities, as well as trouble-shoots for common problems such as dropouts Details unique strategies for working with ethnic minorities and clients across the age spectrum, along with material on mindfulness augmentation and transdiagnostic approaches Includes clear, accessible instructions, complete with references to DSM-5 diagnostic changes, real-life clinical examples, and group session transcripts
Counseling and Psychotherapy: Theories and Interventions by
Featuring important theories and trends not covered in other foundational texts, this book is designed to equip the next generation of counselors with the tools they need for understanding the core dimensions of the helping relationship. Topical experts provide contemporary information and insight on the following theories: psychoanalytic, Jungian, Adlerian, existential, person-centered, Gestalt, cognitive behavior, dialectical behavior, rational emotive behavior, reality therapy/choice theory, family, feminist, transpersonal, and--new to this edition--solution-focused and narrative therapies, as well as creative approaches to counseling. Each theory is discussed from the perspective of historical background, human nature, major constructs, applications, the change process, traditional and brief intervention strategies, cross-cultural considerations, and limitations. The use of a consistent case study across chapters reinforces the differences between theories.
Creative Arts in Counseling by
This latest edition of The Creative Arts in Counseling is a powerful, evidence-based examination of how creative expression can be used in counseling with clients of various ages and backgrounds. It explores the clinical application of all of the major creative arts, including music, dance/movement, imagery, visual arts, writing/literature, drama, play and humor, and--new to this edition--animal-assisted therapy, therapeutic horticulture, and nature/wilderness experiences. The history, rationale, and theory behind each art form are discussed, in addition to its clinical benefits and uses in counseling settings. Each chapter contains a variety of practical exercises that clinicians, instructors, and students can incorporate immediately into their work, as well as "creative reflections" for personal and professional self-evaluation. The final chapter summarizes the 126 exercises that appear throughout the text so that readers can quickly access exercises that meet their needs. *Requests for digital versions from the ACA can be found on wiley.com. *To request print copies, please visit the ACA website.
Ethics and Decision Making in Counseling and Psychotherapy, Fourth Edition by
Completely revised and updated to reflect the new 2014 ACA Code of Ethics and current ethics codes in psychology, social work, and marriage andfamily therapy. This unparalleled text guides helping professionals in the use of ethical decision-making processes as the foundation for ethicalapproaches to counseling and psychotherapy. The book focuses on ethical and legal challenges and standards across multiple professions emphasizingcounseling. It not only identifies relevant ethical issues in clinical mental health, rehabilitation, group, school, addictions, and career counseling, italso addresses couple and family therapy, clinical supervision, and forensics. The text illuminates the particular application of ethical standards withineach specialty. The book features five new chapters that clearly define how ethical standards are interpreted and applied: Privacy, Confidentiality, and PrivilegedCommunication; Informed Consent; Roles and Relationships With Clients; Professional Responsibility; and Counselor Competency. Under the umbrella of eachbroad topic, the particular nuances of ethical standards within each specialty are analyzed to facilitate comparison across all specialties and settings.The text also addresses current issues in office and administrative practices, technology, and forensic practice that are crucial to school, clinical, andprivate practice settings. Compelling case studies illustrate the connection between ethical decision-making models and ethical practice. Learningobjectives, a comprehensive review of scholarly literature, and a robust ancillary package for educators contribute to the fourth edition'Aos value for usein upper-level undergraduate and graduate classrooms. New to the Fourth Edition: Comprehensive reorganization and reconceptualization of content Reflects new 2014 ACA Code of Ethics Includes five new chapters on Privacy, Confidentiality, and Privileged Communication; Informed Consent; Roles and Relationships With Clients; Professional Responsibility; and Counselor Competency Emphasizes specialty practice organized by professional standards Facilitates comparison of standards across disciplines Addresses new issues in office, administrative, technology, and forensic practice Key Features: Delivers an unequaled overview of ethical decision making in counseling and psychotherapy Defines how ethical standards are interpreted and applied in specialty practice Describes how to avoid, address, and solve serious ethical and legal dilemmas Includes learning objectives, case studies, and scholarly literature reviews Offers robust ancillary package with Instructor'Aos Manual, Test Bank, and PowerPoint Slides
A Guide to the Standard EMDR Therapy Protocols for Clinicians, Supervisors, and Consultants, Second Edition by
This second edition of an acclaimed guide to the theory and practice of EMDR provides updated information regarding new evidence for its treatment efficacyand an in-depth presentation of state-of-the-art research on its mechanisms of action. The book reviews outcome studies suggesting EMDR'Aos effectiveness fordiagnoses beyond PTSD, along with studies on its use for treatment of depression, with cancer patients, and with groups. It surveys new strategies onadvanced EMDR therapy topics such as when treating dissociative and personality disorders, along with references for more in-depth information. The secondedition also provides an expanded glossary and extensively updated references and reflects changes corresponding to the DSM-5. The book delivers clear, concise treatment guidelines for students, practicing clinicians, supervisors, clinic directors, and hospital administratorsinvolved in the treatment of those with PTSD, specific phobias, and panic disorder. For researchers conducting treatment outcome studies, it provideseasy-to-access treatment guidelines and a comprehensive set of fidelity checklists for all aspects of EMDR therapy. Many new charts, forms, scripts, illustrations, tables, and decision trees present key information clearly and concisely to guide treatment planning and documentation. Case studies withtranscripts illustrate the different protocols and further guide practitioners of EMDR therapy in informed decision making. New to the Second Edition: Describes updated information on mechanisms of action of EMDR therapy Presents new evidence-based EMDR therapy Delivers outcome studies for the use of EMDR with a broad range of diagnoses Surveys new research about using EMDR with cancer patients and those with severe depression Discusses the evolution of the theory of memory networks in EMDR therapy Examines the effectiveness of bilateral stimulation on adaptive memories and images Reflects changes resulting from DSM-5 Includes extensively updated and expanded references and glossary Provides new charts, forms, scripts, illustrations, decision trees, and case studies illustrating different protocols Key Features: Presents an easy-to-use set of forms and scripts available for download from www.springerpub.com/leeds-2e Focuses on safety and efficiency of EMDR therapy in many situations Expands AIP model regarding using EMDR to resolve psychological defenses Discusses ethical issues in clinical application, consultation, supervision, and research
Inside Out and Outside In: Psychodynamic Clinical Theory and Psychopathology in Contemporary Multicultural Contexts by
Inside Out and Outside In has established itself as a foundational book for mental health practitioners in a variety of disciplines who work with clients in complex social environments. It is unique in its focus on the forces that shape people from within and also from their social worlds, with sensitivity to race, gender, sexuality, and class. The fifth edition features new material and revisions throughout while maintaining the respectful and accessible style for which the book is known. It has been fully updated to reflect the changing political and social landscape, regarding women's issues, immigration issues, and racism, to name just a few. Two new chapters have been added on Biopsychosocial Assessment and Neurobiology. In addition, the authors reinforce intersectionality and diversity through case studies in every chapter. The fifth edition of Inside Out and Outside In is an up-to-date and essential resource for mental health professionals and students practicing in today's increasingly complex environment.
Theory and Practice of Online Therapy: Internet-delivered Interventions for Individuals, Groups, Families, and Organizations by
This innovative new resource outlines the process of conducting individual, family and group therapy online with the use of video conferencing tools, and explores the unique concerns associated with this increasingly popular and convenient approach to treatment. Offering mental health practitioners a definitive presentation on how to use online tools to facilitate psychological intervention, the book will also enable readers to learn about the processes of virtual individual, couple, family and group therapy, specific concerns related to online group dynamics, as well as the responsibilities of the therapist and group leader in online sessions. This is the perfect companion for counselors of all backgrounds and disciplines who are interested in offering or improving their approach to virtual services.
Unlocked: Online Therapy Stories by
Unlocked tells the stories of ten different people in therapy in various cultural and geographical contexts - from Saudi Arabia to Venice or New York. Each narrative explores a unique presenting situation and uncovers the complexities of the therapeutic experience. All therapeutic work described in this book happens online. Inspired by real client sessions, the therapist narrator and the clients' stories are fictionalized for privacy. Rather than presenting a barrier, Unlocked demonstrates how a curious and skilled therapist can make the most of the unexpected gifts that the 'screen' offers--be it the intrusion of a pet, a parent breaking into the session, or a client taking her therapist for a ride outside. Therapeutic conversations that happen on the screen have a surprising close-up quality; these stories convey the renewed intimacy and intensity of such practice and present new possibilities for the therapeutic process. They will be of interest not only to therapists who are transitioning their practice online but also to those considering therapy or curious about the therapeutic process.
Conscious Calm by
When you are stressed and worried, looking for lasting stress relief can be overwhelming. There is so much information it's hard to know where to start and what to do. Conscious Calm makes
it simple. This book focuses on the internal patterns of stress that often go unnoticed, and shows you how to undo those patterns so that lasting calm becomes possible. Conscious Calm reveals
9 Stress Secrets that keep us stuck in stress, and 9 Conscious Calm Keys to experiencing stress relief and peace of mind. Integrating science and wisdom from both East and West, Conscious
Calm explains the inner stress traps that so many of us fall into, and provides a step by step, practical guide to lasting calm, inner peace and greater happiness.
Emdr Therapy and Mindfulness for Trauma-Focused Care by
Based on the belief that mindfulness is a critical component in the delivery of EMDR, this innovative text integrates mindfulness-informed practice with EMDR therapy to create an effective new approach for healing trauma. Based on current evidence-based research, the book demonstrates--with clear, step-by-step guidelines--how clinicians can conceptualize and deliver trauma-focused care in both mental health and addiction treatment. Infused with practical applications, the book offers clearly articulated and effective approaches that provide a concrete beginning, middle, and end of treatment planning. Following a description of the long history of mindfulness practices, the book offers guidelines for developing one's own mindfulness practice--emphasizing the use of trauma-focused language--and suggestions for teaching specific techniques to clients. The book describes both classic and creative mindfulness practices, including breath awareness/sensory grounding, breath meditation, body scanning, feeling tone meditation, labeling, standing meditation, walking meditation, and loving-kindness meditation, along with using day-to-day objects as a meditative focus, movement practices, the expressive arts, and other forms of creativity. Key Features: Offers a complete framework for healing trauma by integrating mindfulness-informed practice with EMDR therapy. Provides clearly articulated, step-by-step approaches that are evidence-based. Authored by noted experts in EMDR and mindfulness-based therapies. Includes guidelines for developing one's own mindfulness practice and tools for teaching specific practices to clients. Describes both classic and creative mindfulness practices
Essential Psychotherapies, Theory and Practice by
Acclaimed for its clear writing and stellar contributors, this authoritative text is now in a revised and updated fourth edition. The book explains the history, assessment approach, techniques, and research base of each of the 12 most important psychotherapies practiced today, along with its foundational ideas about personality and psychological health and dysfunction. The consistent chapter format facilitates comparison among the various approaches. Every chapter includes engaging clinical vignettes and an extended case example that bring key concepts to life, as well as suggested resources for further learning. New to This Edition *Incorporates important developments in clinical practice and research. *Entirely new chapters on CBT, third-wave CBT, couple therapies, and interpersonal and brief psychodynamic therapies; all other chapters fully updated. *Increased attention to multiple dimensions of diversity, the evidence-based practice movement, psychotherapy integration, and applications to physical health care.
Ethical Challenges in Digital Psychology and Cyberpsychology by
Our technologies are progressively developing into algorithmic devices that seamlessly interface with digital personhood. This text discusses the ways in which technology is increasingly becoming a part of personhood and the resulting ethical issues. It extends upon the framework for a brain-based cyberpsychology outlined by the author's earlier book Cyberpsychology and the Brain: The Interaction of Neuroscience and Affective Computing (Cambridge, 2017). Using this framework, Thomas D. Parsons investigates the ethical issues involved in cyberpsychology research and praxes, which emerge in algorithmically coupled people and technologies. The ethical implications of these ideas are important as we consider the cognitive enhancements that can be afforded by our technologies. If people are intimately linked to their technologies, then removing or damaging the technology could be tantamount to a personal attack. On the other hand, algorithmic devices may threaten autonomy and privacy. This book reviews these and other issues.
Growing Up: revisiting child development theories and their application to patients of all ages by
Editors Henri Parens and Salman Akhtar present a collection that draws on over fifty years of professional experience in child development. Contributors to this collection touch on psychoanalytic conceptualizations of child development, separation-individuation theory, personal clinical experiences, the effects of trauma and neurodevelopmental disorders in the mother-child relationship, and the intergenerational transmission of trauma. This edited collection is recommended for scholars and practitioners interested in psychoanalysis, child development, and clinical psychology.
Treatment of Borderline Personality Disorder by
Acclaimed for its wisdom and no-nonsense style, this authoritative guide has now been revised and expanded with 50% new content reflecting a decade of advances in the field. Distinguished psychiatrist Joel Paris distills current knowledge about borderline personality disorder (BPD) and reviews what works in diagnosis and treatment. Rather than advocating a particular therapy, Paris guides therapists to flexibly interweave a range of evidence-based strategies, within a stepped-care framework. The book presents "dos and don'ts" for engaging patients with BPD, building emotion regulation and impulse control skills, working with family members, and managing suicidality and other crises. It is illustrated throughout with rich clinical vignettes. New to This Edition *Up-to-date findings on treatment effectiveness and outcomes. *Chapter on dimensional models of BPD, plus detailed discussion of DSM-5 diagnosis. *Chapter on stepped care, including new findings on the benefits of brief treatment. *Chapter on family psychoeducation and other ways to combat stigma. *New and expanded discussions of cutting-edge topics--BPD in adolescents, childhood risk factors, and neurobiology.
The Cambridge Handbook of Clinical Assessment and Diagnosis by
This Handbook provides a contemporary and research-informed review of the topics essential to clinical psychological assessment and diagnosis. It outlines assessment issues that cross all methods, settings, and disorders, including (but not limited to) psychometric issues, diversity factors, ethical dilemmas, validity of patient presentation, psychological assessment in treatment, and report writing. These themes run throughout the volume as leading researchers summarize the empirical findings and technological advances in their area. With each chapter written by major experts in their respective fields, the text gives interpretive and practical guidance for using psychological measures for assessment and diagnosis.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5#65533;), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5#65533; easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Guide to Board Certification in Clinical Psychology by
" T]he increasing emphasis on quality in health care reform will almost certainly advantage psychologists who become Board Certified. The credential will increasingly become expected as a quality differentiator in the community.... In preparing this book the highly experienced authors, with many years of service as ABPP examiners, have provided a comprehensive and thoughtful guide to assist you in completing the process successfully." From the Foreword by Gerald P. Koocher, PhD, ABPP DePaul University Past President, American Psychological Association This practical guide to successfully achieving Board Certification in Clinical Psychology offers experience-based methods for increasing applicant success rates. Written by a team of accomplished clinical psychologists who are experienced mentors and former American Board of Professional Psychology (ABPP) examiners who have participated in the work of ABPP Academies, it is the only guide to focus specifically on the clinical psychology specialty. It explains the many benefits of Board Certification, and is replete with practical advice on all aspects of the three-step certification process that includes credentialing, practice samples, and the oral examination. The guide discusses how to find the right mentor, set realistic preparation timelines, create exemplary practice samples, and prepare for the oral exam. It provides examples of application elements such as professional work statements, practice examples, oral exam questions, and excerpts from a simulated transcript of an oral exam session. Helpful tips and handy checklists reinforce each stage of the process. The guide examines and dispels myths surrounding Board Certification that promote unnecessary anxiety, and offers examples of pitfalls to avoid during the application process. Key Features: Provides practical advice for successfully obtaining Board Certification in Clinical Psychology Is the only guide available that focuses exclusively on the Clinical Psychology certification Authored by experienced clinical psychologists who have long served as ABPP examiners and mentors to applicants, as well as leaders in the ABPP Academies Contains examples of application elements, including professional statements, practice samples, and oral exam questions Includes excerpts from a simulated transcript of an oral exam session
Handbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry by
This four-volume text features contributions from over 300 researchers and clinicians. Volumes 1, 2 and 3 explore the developmental stages and syndromes of infancy and preschool, grade school and adolescence. Each volume addresses the normal development during each period, the theoretical and clinical perspectives and the clinical syndromes most commonly associated with it. Volume 4 explores the varieties of development and the impact of psychosocial, medical, and foreign cultural factors on development of all three age groups.
Handbook of Child Psychology by
This authoritative four-volume reference spans the entire field of child development and has set the standard against which all other scholarly references are compared. Updated and revised to reflect the new developments in the field, the Sixth Edition is sure to be as successful as the previous editions.
Handbook of Child Psychopathology by
In our first edition of the Handbook in 1983, we the origins and course(s) of maladaptive behav#65533; ior, whatever the causes, whatever the age of on#65533; noted that child psychopathology should no longer be viewed as a downward extension of set, whatever the transformations in behavioral adult psychopathology. Rather, we suggested expression, and however complex the develop#65533; that children should be viewed as children, not mental pattern may prove to be. It strives to inte#65533; as miniature adults, and that a merger of the dis#65533; grate these two disciplines in an intimate and of#65533; ciplines of clinical child psychology and devel#65533; tentimes complex manner. opmental psychology must occur for this evolu#65533; Careful attention to issues of development and tion to be fully realized. In the second edition of other contextual issues relevant to children, ad#65533; the Handbook in 1989, we asserted that the syn#65533; olescents, and their families guided us in our ef#65533; thesis of these two fields of inquiry was under#65533; forts to solicit contributors for this third edition.
Handbook of Psychoeducational Assessment by
The Handbook of Psychoeducational Assessment is a practical guide for educational and psychological professionals using norm-referenced tests in the ability, achievement, and behavioral assessment of children. Written by key individuals involved in the construction and evolution of the most widely used tests, this book provides critical information on the nature and scope of commonly used tests, their reliability and validity, administration, scoring and interpretation, and on how the tests may differ and complement each other in their utility with specific populations. Part 1 of the Handbook of Psychoeducational Assessment focuses on ability assessment and the use of full battery intelligence tests as well as brief scales and short forms. Part 2 discusses achievement and the expanded role of psychologists in consultation with educators. Part 3 covers behavior assessment with special attention given to discussion of which tests are most suitable for assessing specific behavioral problems such as ADHD, anxiety, and depression. The final section recognizes the importance of context and person sensitive assessment practices, discussing cross-cultural assessment, neuropsychological assessment, and the usefulness of dynamic assessment for program planning and intervention delivery. Key Features: Covers the most commonly used and newest assessment instruments Describes the nature, scope, reliability, and validity of each test Discusses the administration, scoring, and interpretation of tests Provides empirical findings on patterns of performance with tested populations Includes case studies to highlight the utility of specific tests for specific populations Illustrates new developments in instrumentation and unique features Covers the most commonly used and newest assessment instruments Describes the nature, scope, reliability, and validity of each test Discusses the administration, scoring, and interpretation of tests Provides empirical findings on patterns of performance with tested populations Includes case studies to highlight the utility of specific tests for specific populations Illustrates new developments in instrumentation and unique features
Psychologists' Desk Reference by
Here is the revised and expanded edition of the indispensable companion for every mental health practitioner. Improved over the first edition by input and feedback from clinicians and program directors, the Psychologists' Desk Reference, Second Edition presents an even larger variety ofinformation required in daily practice in one easy-to-use resource. Covering the entire spectrum of practice issues--from diagnostic codes, practice guidelines, treatment principles, and report checklists, to insight and advice from today's most respected clinicians--this peerless reference givesfingertip access to the entire range of current knowledge. Intended for use by all mental health professionals, the Desk Reference covers assessment and diagnosis, testing and psychometrics, treatment and psychotherapy, ethical and legal issues, practice management and insurance, and professionalresources. Chapters have been clearly written by master clinicians and include easy-to-read checklists and tables as well as helpful advice. Filled with information psychologists use everyday, the Psychologists' Desk Reference, Second Edition will be the most important and widely used volume inthe library of psychologists, social workers, and counselors everywhere.This new edition features: -Thoroughly revised chapters by the field's leaders.-29 entirely new chapters, now totaling 140.-Sections reorganized to be smaller and more specific, making topics easier to find.-A listing of valuable Internet sites in each chapter.-Increased emphasis on evidence-based practices.A companion website containing graphics, illustrations, tables, primary resources, extensive bibliographies, links to related sites, and much more.
The print reference (REF) sources can be found on the main level of the Wolfgram Memorial Library in the Reference Area. Ask a reference librarian if you need help locating an item.
APA Dictionary of Psychology by
The American Psychological Association is proud to announce the publication of an invaluable addition to your reference shelf, one that represents a major scholarly and editorial undertaking. With over 25,000 terms and definitions, the APA Dictionary of Psychology encompasses all areas of research and application, and includes coverage of concepts, processes, and therapies across all the major subdisciplines of psychology. Ten years in the making and edited by a distinguished editorial board of nearly 100 psychological scholars, researchers and practitioners, the APA Dictionary of Psychology is destined to become the most authoritative reference of its kind. authoritative definitions; thousands of incisive cross-references directing the user to synonyms and antonyms, acronyms and abbreviations, and related terms and concepts that deepen the user's understanding of related topics; and balanced coverage of over 100 subject areas across the field of psychology including clinical, experimental, neuropsychology, cognitive, personality and social, developmental, health, psychopharmacology, methodology and statistics, and many others. Entries include nearly 8,000 terms from the APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms registered] which helps students and researchers refine their APA database searches (such as the flagship PsycINFO registered] bibliographic database's 2+ million records). It also includes A Guide to Use and Quick Guide to Format that together explain important stylistic and format features to help readers most effectively use the Dictionary. covering biographies; institutions, associations and organizations; psychological therapies and interventions; and psychological tests and assessment instruments. It contains thumb tabs for locating definitions quickly and easily. Academicians, researchers, clinicians, undergraduates and graduate students, and professionals in allied mental health, education, medicine, and law, as well as academic and public libraries, will find the Dictionary essential.
The Blackwell Dictionary of Neuropsychology by
This large single volume dictionary defines and explains the great number of technical terms employed within those areas of neuropsychology and medicine that are strictly relevant to neuropsychology.
When accessing eBooks from off campus, you will be required to enter the barcode from the back of your Widener ID Card or Library Research Card to access databases from Off Campus.
Dictionary of Psychopathology by
Psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers, psychiatric nurses, theoreticians, practitioners, and other allied professionals who together represent the entire arc of the mental health field must be versed in psychopathology, the study of mental and emotional phenomena, abnormal psychology, and specific symptoms and behaviors. Building a reference that speaks to all of these professions and subjects, Henry Kellerman assembles the first dictionary to focus exclusively on psychopathology, featuring more than two thousand entries (over fifteen hundred primary and more than five hundred subentries) on specific symptoms and disorders, general syndromes, facets of personality structure, and diagnosis. He also includes a sampling of benchmark contributions by theoreticians and researchers that cover the history of psychopathology. These contributions reflect those of a psychodynamic nature as well as cognitive and behavioral approaches, and represent the relatively new field of neuropsychoanalysis as well. This branch of neuroscience is concerned with the relation between the brain and the mind, specifically with reference to brain architecture and function. Monitored by a distinguished editorial board, the Dictionary of Psychopathology mostly adheres to the latest DSM nomenclature while also retaining useful residual diagnoses of previous DSM formulations, as well as diagnostic formulations outside of traditional nosologies. The aim of the Dictionary is to broadly contribute to the synthesis of psychopathology.
Dictionary of Psychological Testing, Assessment and Treatment by
`A useful book for the specialist engaged in assessment and research'. - Journal of Analytical Psychology `This book is a must-have for the bookshelf if you are a student or practitioner in the fields of psychology or even sociology. It will be of equal value to anyone working in the fields of brain injury, mental health or related fields. It is a handbook of references, terms and abbreviations related to neuroanatomy, psychology, medicine and their experiments and therapies, as well as dipping in and out of statistical processes and their meanings. The book will have broad appeal from student to practitioner to doctor. This book is a new and improved second edition. I only wish I had known of the existence of the first edition as it will most certainly prove a valuable tool.' - The Encephalitis Society The fully revised and updated second edition of this well-established reference provides over 400 new or improved terms, and is an exhaustive guide to the key terms used in psychological testing, assessment and measurement. Over 3000 definitions offer clear explanations of statistical procedures commonly used in psychology; major psychometric and other psychological tests; categories of mental illness, mental disability, and brain damage; frequently used medical terms; basic neuroanatomy; and types of psychological therapies. This book is suitable for all levels of understanding, from undergraduate and postgraduate students to practitioners of psychology and associated fields, with particular attention to statistical terms used in typical university syllabuses, as well as tests commonly available in computer packages and cited in psychological journals and similar publications.
The Psychologist's Companion: A Guide to Writing Scientific Papers for Students and Researchers by
The Psychologist's Companion is intended for students as well as young professionals and writers at all stages of their careers seeking inspiration and guidelines for better scientific writing. This book is also a resource for researchers in related fields. It has been comprehensively updated, revised, and extended for its fifth edition and includes the latest style guidelines of the American Psychological Association's Publication Manual (sixth edition, 2009) as well as chapters encompassing the entire research process from doing literature research and planning an experiment to writing the paper. It features new chapters on literature research; ethics; and generating, evaluating, and selling ideas. The Psychologist's Companion also provides information on writing book proposals, grant proposals, and lectures.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
A Short Guide to Writing about Psychology by
Featuring up-to-date writing techniques and the latest APA-style guidelines, this brief guide helps students master the skills necessary for writing in psychology.This brief guide takes students step-by-step through the writing process--from choosing a topic, to outlining, drafting, and revising their papers, to seeking feedback from peers. In addition, it presents thorough discussions of researching psychological literature in the library and on the Internet and presenting those findings in written and oral formats. Special attention is given to interpreting and reporting the results of statistical tests, as well as preparing data displays in tables and figures. Introducing students to all elements of professional writing in APA style, this supplemental guide provides practical tips for general types of writing that students encounter in the social sciences.