Skip to Main Content

The Research Process

This guide presents the Research Process that uses Resources at Wolfgram Memorial Library.

Finding the Full Text of a Journal Article

There are 3 options for finding the full text of a journal article:

Option 1 - Find the Full Text in the Article's Record

Option 2  - Find the Full Text through Full Text Finder

Option 3 - Use ILLiad to order the Full Text

Finding the Full Text of a Journal Article

Search Example:

  1. From the Library's Homepage, select A - Z Databases.

  2. View this alphabetical list that shows rich variety of databases available at Widener.

  3. Select A and then Academic Search Premier.

Search for Human Trafficking and United States and limit to Peer Reviewed:

Brief Record:

One Result from search for Human Trafficking and United States showing the Access Options for full Text with a red circle around Access Options

Important: When you select Access Options, click on the PDF to download the article or Online full text to read it on the screen.

 

Search Example:

  1. On the Library's Homepage, scroll down until you see the Blue Discovery Box -

  2. Under START YOUR SEARCH, enter the terms Human Trafficking and United States and Limit to Peer Reviewed.

  3. Press enter or select the search icon link.

Discovery Search Box with the terms Human Trafficking and United States and limited to Peer Reviewed

Brief Record::

* The Full Text Finder link, found in some article records, provides a way to obtain the Full Text of an article from another Widener online resource. These links appears in the brief record:

One Result from search for Human Trafficking and United States showing the Access Options for full Text with a circle around Access Options and Full Text Finder appearing below

  • Click on the Full Text Finder link.

Full Text Finder Results:

Full text finder result for A DIRTY BUSINESS? MAKING SENSE OF HOTEL LIABILITY TO HUMAN TRAFFICKING SURVIVORS. with a red rectangle around Find this article from ProQuest Central

  • The Full Text Finder results include the sane title and publication information, indicating that it is the same article from the brief record. In this example above, there are four options. You can select any option listed. Pro tip:  Always select the one that features a named database. Ex: Click on -- Find this article in full text from ProQuest Central2012-10-01 - present

ProQuest Results:The brief record for the full text of the article, A DIRTY BUSINESS? MAKING SENSE OF HOTEL LIABILITY TO HUMAN TRAFFICKING SURVIVORS in ProQuest with a red circle around the Full Text - PDF link on the left side

  • This is the brief record in ProQuest for the article with the same title found in the Discovery search. Click on the Full Text - PDF link to obtain the PDF for Download.

Search Example:

  1. On the Library's Homepage, scroll down until you see the Blue Discovery Box -

  2. Under START YOUR SEARCH, enter the terms police brutality and trauma and Limit to Peer Reviewed.

  3. Press enter or select the search icon link.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) is free service that obtains books and Full Text journal articles from other libraries on your behalf!

Record for article Stream of Sadness: Young Black Women’s Racial Trauma, Police Brutality and Social Media with a red circle around ILLiad Wolfgram.

  • When you select Access Options, you notice that you do not see any PDF or other resource options.
  • Instead, you see three ILLiad Access links.
  • Select the option that matches your campus, for the Main campus select ILLiad Access - Wolfgram.
  • The first time you use ILLiad, you must register and create an account using your Widener email address and password. 
  • After Registering, the screen with all of the information about the article will appear.

ILLiad request screen with the information filled out to order the article. A red arrow points to the blank space in the Year field and includes the phrase Add Year of Publication

  • Notice that all the important information about the article you are requesting, including the Title of the Source. Page numbers, Article Author, Article Title, etc. is all filled out for you.
  • Note: The Year field is left blank. As this is a required filed, click on the browser's back button, find the publication year and select ILLiad Wolfgram again. Once you add the Publication Year,  select Submit Request link
  • After submitting your request you will receive your article in about 1-4 days (the wait time varies). You will receive an email from ILL.Wolfgram@widener.edu indicating that your request has arrived.
  • To obtain the article from the library's home page, click on the Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) tile. Then Login to ILLiad and click on Electronically Received Articles.
  • You will obtain a listing of all the PDF Full Text documents that have arrived.
    IMPORTANT:     Download and save the article ASAP! Articles stay in ILLiad for 30 days and then they disappear, you don't want have to order it again.