Skip to Main Content

The Research Process

This guide presents the Research Process that uses Resources at Wolfgram Memorial Library.

How to Find Books

Discovery allows you to search for books, eBooks, journal articles and other resources accessible from the Wolfgram Memorial Library's system. You can access Discovery from the Library's Home Page from any computer with Internet access.

  • Scroll down until you see the box titled - START YOUR SEARCH (The library refers to this as the Discovery Box, as it allows you to "discover" many different resources.)

Search for the keywords adolescents and mental illness

Discovery search box displaying the terms adolescents and mental illness, with check marks next to Books and Ebooks and an arrow pointing to an image of a magnifier with the words Click here to Search

  • Enter your keywords in the box and then select the boxes next to Books and Ebooks below the box. With these limits, you will only obtain results that are books and eBooks.
  • The click on the search icon The search icon that looks like a magnifier

Search Results

  • The search returned over 2,000 results.
  • When you search Discovery in this way, you get a combination of books and eBooks that that can both address your research needs

Brief Records:

The brief results showing two records. The first one is titles Kids and Mental Illness and ebook is circled. The second is titles The first session with children and adolescents: conducting a comprehensive mental health evaluation and Book is circled

Important Features of the Brief Record:

  • Notice that this search returned over 2,000 results of book or eBooks.
  • Each entry indicates where your keywords appear in the title, content notes or subjects using highlighted or bold text. 
  • The word eBook or Book indicates the format of the resource (by selecting both of these limits on the previously search screen, you obtain a mixture of both formats,)
  • The eBook Brief Record:
    • Click on the Access now (eBook) link to directly open the eBook
  • The print book Brief Record:
    • The title, author and publication date are shown.
    • Status: Available - That means the book in on the shelf in the Wolfgram Memorial Library.
    • Location: Wolfgram Circulating - That means that book in located on the shelves on the 3rd floor of the Wolfgram Memorial Library
    • Call number: RJ503.5 .H683 2002 - This number will guide you to find the book on the 3rd floor of the Wolfgram Memorial Library

Detailed Records:

eBook Detailed Record:

  • When you click on the Access now (eBook) link you obtain the full eBook.

eBook full record with image of book cover and table of contents to the right

Important features of the eBook Detailed record:

  • If you put your cursor over the book cover image and scroll down, you can read the full eBook on your computer screen.
  • If you click on one of the chapters in the Table of Contents, you see a Download icon will be obtain. When you click on a chapter, you obtain the download options. (It will tell you how many pages you can download and you can select what chapters you want based on the publishers limit).

Print Book Detailed Record

Shows the title, publication date, author and image of the book cover

The detailed record of the book "The first session with children and adolescents : conducting a comprehensive mental health evaluation" with red circles around Subject Terms Abstract and Content Notes

 

Important features of the Print Book Detailed record:

  • The title, author and publication date are more clearly showm.
  • Subject Terms: This list provides  Library of Congress Subject Terms assigned to this book, clicking on them will give you a list of available books.
  • Abstract and Contents: These paragraphs provide summaries of the book and its contents, both help you decide if this book is relevant for you research needs.

 

To help you find materials quickly and systematically, books are shelved according to the Library of Congress Classification System. The system is a combination of letters and numbers which identify the books and gives you the unique location on the library's shelves. Each book has its own call number. The Library of Congress (LC) call number begins with a letter or letters that represent the broad subject area into which the book falls. For example: P = Literature, and PS = American Literature

 

1. Books are shelved in alphabetical order by the letter(s) on the top line:

 

2. ...and then in numerical order by the second line:

3. The third and following lines in the call number are arranged in alphabetical and decimal order. There is a decimal point placed at the beginning of the third line:

 

4. Some call numbers may even have a fourth line. This may be the year the book was published, a copy number, or a volume number:

 

5. The books that you may check out of the library are circulating books, they are located on the third level. The library also has books that are in special collections or other locations. Some are listed below:

set of 5 books depicting the special collection indicator for call numbers located on the books spine showing reference, archives and curriculum collectionsReference Books (REF) are books that you may use in the library, but they are not to be checked out. Reference books are located on the main level of the library. They are indicated by additional information that is above the LC call number.

Archives (ARCHIVES) are materials that are stored in the Archives Storage Areas on the third and ground levels. They include yearbooks, course catalogs, newspapers, photographs, and other items of historical value that pertain to Widener.

The Curriculum Collection (CURR) consists of children's literature and classroom materials. It is located on the fourth level.

The Wolfgram Memorial Library subscribes to many eBook collections:

For detailed information select eBook Database Tutorials.

IMPORTANT: You need to download Adobe Digital Editions (it's free) for your computer before you begin. 

You can also search for eBooks in the Discovery Box, on the library's Homepage. This searches all of the eBook databases and more! Follow these steps:

  1. From the Library's Homepage
  2. Enter your search terms in the  Discovery Box under START YOUR SEARCH.
    Search for the keywords human trafficking.

Screen shot blue discovery box with the search terms human trafficking in the search box and a bolded circle around the checked Ebooks limitation

Select search and you will obtain a list showing the brief records of many Full Text eBooks, from a variety of database,  that you can access.

Search screen showing three results of eBooks with the term Human Trafficking. Red squares highlight the Access Options drop down menu

Example: 

  • Select the title Human Trafficking: a treatment guide for mental health professions. a
  • Important: When you click on Access Options, you obtain a drop-down own Menu -- Select eBook Full Text!

Result screen showing the book Human Trafficking: A Treatment Guide for Mental Health Professionals with a red box around highlighting eBook Full Text

Full Text Screen:

Full record for the eBook Human Trafficking: A Treatment Guide for Mental Health Professionals, showing a red box highlighting Read Online, Book Details and the Description

 

Important Features of the Full Text: 

  •  Read Online: Click here to read the entire text on your screen. 
     
  • Download PDF Chapter: You can only download 115 pages of this eBook.
     
  • Book Details: Find all the details that will ensure your references are accurate.
     
  • Description: By reading this summary, you will know if the book is relevant for your topic.

 

Scroll down the Table of Contents until you reach the Chapters:

 

Important Features of Chapter Listings:This image shown three chapters titles in the eBook Human Trafficking: A Treatment Guide for Mental Health Professionals.

  • Download PDF: Click here and a PDF of the chapter will appear. (Remember you are restricted to downloading 115 pages.)
     
  • Read Online: Click here to read the chapter on your computer screen.