Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AMA Style Guide

This guide is intended to introduce you to the basics of citation formatting as outlined in the 11th edition of the AMA Manual of Style

Websites

If you do not have every element of a citation include as much information as you have. Remember that URLs and DOIs do not have a period after them if they are at the end of the citation.

Websites with no named author

When the responsible organization for the website is not part of the website's name, include the organization before the name of the webpage. 

Responsible Organization. Webpage name. Website Name. Month Day, Year. Updated Month Day, Year. Accessed Month Day, Year.  URL
  1. International Society for Infectious Diseases. ProMED-mail. Accessed February 10, 2016. http://www.promedmail.org
  2. Scientific Responsibility, Human Rights & Law Program. American Association for the Advancement of Science. Accessed June 18, 2019. https://www.aaas.org/program/scientific-responsibility-human-rights-law
  3. Recommendations for primary care practice. US Preventive Services Task Force. Accessed March 9, 2019. https://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/Page/Name/recommendations

Social Media

Blog post

Author AA. Blog post title. Blog Name blog. Month Day, Year. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL

  1. Gray T. Advice after mischief is like medicine after death. AMA Style Insider blog. February 11, 2019. Accessed March 10, 2019. https://amastyleinsider.com/2019/02/11/advice-after-mischief-is-like-medicine-after-death/
Facebook
Author/Responsible Organization Facebook page. Post content. Month Day, Year. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL
  1. Mayo Clinic Sports Medicine Facebook page. #RotatorCuff tears are among the most common shoulder injuries, particularly in individuals who engage in activities that require repetitive arm motions. Discover the possible treatment options for a torn rotator cuff: https://mayocl.in/2H6AR3P. March 3, 2019. Accessed March 4, 2019. https://www.facebook.com/mayoclinicsportsmedicine
Twitter

Twitter Handle. Post content. Month Day, Year. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL

  1. @AMAManual. Double negatives can be used to express a positive, but this yields a weaker affirmative than the simpler positive and may be confusing. “Our results are not inconsistent with the prior hypothesis.” “That won’t do you no good.” And the classic: “I can’t get no satisfaction.” March 7, 2019. Accessed March 10, 2019. https://twitter.com/AMAManual/status/1103678998327017483
YouTube

YouTube channel

Channel name YouTube page. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL
  1. Khan Academy health and medicine YouTube page. Accessed February 10, 2016. https://www.youtube.com/user/khanacademymedicine

YouTube video

Channel name. Video Name. YouTube video. Month Day, Year. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL
  1. WolfgramLibrary. Health Science Research Tips. YouTube video. June 13, 2022.  Accessed August 17, 2022. https://youtu.be/uZi3Kk6xUOM

Databases

Entire database without an author
Database name. Publisher/Database Owner/Host; Year of Publication. Updated Month Day, Year. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL
  1. PDQ: NCI’s Comprehensive Database. National Cancer Institute; 2015. Updated July 17, 2015. http://www.cancer.gov/publications/pdq
  2. Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM). Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine; 2016. Updated March 13, 2016. Accessed March 14, 2016. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/omim
Entire database with an author or group author
Author/Group Author. Database name. Publisher/Database Owner/Host; Year of Publication. Updated Month Day, Year. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL
  1. HUGO Gene Nomenclature Committee (HGNC). Human Gene Nomenclature database search engine. Accessed March 14, 2016. http://www.genenames.org/
Single entry in a database
Entry Name. Author/Group Author. Identifier. Month Day, Year. Updated Month Day, Year. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL
  1. Symbol Report: BRAF. HUGO Gene Nomenclature Committee. Accessed August 17, 2016. http://www.genenames.org/cgi-bin/gene_symbol_report?hgnc_id=HGNC:1097
  2. Evaluation of phage therapy for the treatment of Escherichia coli and Pseudomonas aeruginosa wound infections in burned patients (PHAGOBURN). ClinicalTrials.gov identifier: NCT02116010. Updated July 23, 2015. Accessed October 13, 2016. https://www.clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT02116010