Skip to Main Content

RefWorks Tutorial

Step by step instructions for the use of RefWorks citation management software.

From an EBSCO Database to RefWorks

EBSCO Platform

  1. Once you have searched the database and found an article you are interested in, click the title of the article to bring up the full record.
  2. In the tools box, click the Export button.
  3. When the export manager pop up appears, select Direct Export to RefWorks then click save.

Once you click 'Save' within EBSCO, you will be brought to the RefWorks Platform to login. 

RefWorks

  1. The RefWorks page will automatically open where you will need to Login.
  2. The Import References page will open.
    • Select the Project you wish to add this reference too, if needed.
    • Use the dropdown to assign the reference to an existing folder or create a new folder to add it to. 
  3. Select Import tags from database 
  4. You will now see the new citation added to the assigned folder.

RefWorks saving a reference

ProQuest

  1. Once you have searched the ProQuest database and found an article you are interested in, click the title of the article to bring up the full record, click on the All Options button on the top right of the page.
  2. Select RefWorks
  3. When the export/save manager pop up appears, make the following selections:
    • Output type: RefWorks
    • Content: Citation, Abstract, Indexing
  4. When finished click on the Continue button.
  5. Once you click the 'Continue' button within ProQuest, you will be brought to the RefWorks Platform.

ProQuest RefWorks exportation

RefWorks

  1. The RefWorks page will automatically open where you will need to Login.
  2. The Import References page will open.
    • Select the Project you wish to add this reference too, if needed.
    • Use the dropdown to assign the reference to an existing folder or create a new folder to add it to. 
  3. Select Import tags from database 
  4. You will now see the new citation added to the assigned folder.

From the JSTOR Database to RefWorks

JSTOR

  1. Once you have searched JSTOR and found an article you are interested in, click the title of the article to bring up the full record, then click Cite This Item.
  2. When the export manager pop up appears, click the Export to RefWorks link.
  3. Once you click 'Export to Refworks' link within JSTOR, you will be brought to the RefWorks Platform.

JSTOR exporting to RefWorks

RefWorks

  1. The RefWorks page will automatically open where you will need to Login.
  2. The Import References page will open.
    • Select the Project you wish to add this reference too, if needed.
    • Use the dropdown to assign the reference to an existing folder or create a new folder to add it to. 
  3. Select Import tags from database 
  4. You will now see the new citation added to the assigned folder.

 

Exporting a Citation from a FirstSearch Database to RefWorks

FirstSearch

  1. Once you have searched the database and found an item you are interested in, click the title of the article to bring up the full record. click the Export button.
  2. When the export manager pop up appears, Export to: select RefWorks then click export.

firstsearch citation export process, as described above

Once you click 'Export' within FirstSearch, a new browser window will open, then select Yes.
** Be sure to have pop-ups enabled in your browser.

RefWorks

  1. The RefWorks page will automatically open where you will need to Login.
  2. The Import References page will open.
    • Select the Project you wish to add this reference too, if needed.
    • Use the dropdown to assign the reference to an existing folder or create a new folder to add it to. 
  3. Select Import tags from database 
  4. You will now see the new citation added to the assigned folder.