Contains electronic books across many academic disciplines. Some books may be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Online Tutorial Available Here
This collection contains over 700 ebooks on topics like psychoanalysis, psychotherapy, counseling, and more.
Contains ebooks across many academic disciplines with easy-to-use tools for taking notes and making citations. eBooks may be read online or be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Contains electronic books across many academic disciplines. Some books may be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Library Classic Catalog is the online catalog for the library collections at Widener University.
Find what you want in a library near you with WorldCat, a global catalog of library collections. Great resource for distance learners, here you can search for library materials that are available in libraries near you. WorldCat also includes links to interlibrary loan information and to materials in Wolfgram Library.
Cognitive Dissonance: Reexamining a Pivotal Theory in Psychology by
What mental process occurs when a person does something she knows is unhealthy? When an honest person tells a "white lie," what happens to his or her sense of integrity? If we must choose between two equally attractive options, why does our value judgement of the options change after the choice has been made? In 1954 Dr. Leon Festinger first posited a theory of cognitive dissonance to describe the psychological phenomenon that occurs in these situations. In the years since, cognitive dissonance has become a central pillar of psychological theory, as was documented in the first edition of this book. In this new and fully-updated edition, editor Eddie Harmon-Jones brings the study of cognitive dissonance into the twenty-first century. Contributors survey recent discoveries about the role dissonance plays in a variety of information processes, as well as connections between dissonance processes and other motivational processes. Other authors introduce mathematical and action-based models that summarize how dissonance works. Evidence describing the neural correlates of dissonance are also provided, helping demonstrate the biological foundations of the theory.
Culture, Work, and Psychology: Invitations to Dialogue by
This books arises from the observation that mainstream psychology, especially work and organisational psychology (WOP), suffers from critical limitations in its attempts to deal with the complexities of work as a cultural phenomenon. We can only mention a few examples here. In the WOP field, especially in Anglo-Saxon tradition, work experiences are seen through the lenses of traditional behavioural approaches, whereas culture is seen as a 'software of the mind', to use a popular definition found in this field (based on cross-cultural mainstream psychology). 'Competences', to take another example, are thought of as something that do or do not people have inside them. Suffering, like stress (a common work-based problem of our times), is considered to be dependent on a person's personality, perceptions or as a set of behaviours triggered by facing an 'objective' environment. Even meaning-making process can be found to be defined from a WOP mainstream point of view: meanings are 'social cognitions' shared by people by means of unidirectional socialisation processes. Therefore, the goal of this book is to deliver to the reader a new and challenging theoretical and methodological tool box, inspired by insights developed from a broad cultural psychological perspective. Its focus is on the consideration of work and organisations based on core concepts developed inside cultural psychology. Therefore, it is designed to discuss potential extensions of these concepts to work psychology.
The Psychology of Covid-19: Building Resilience for Future Pandemics by
The Psychology of Covid-19 explores how the coronavirus pandemic is giving rise to a new order in our personal lives, societies, and politics. Rooted in systematic research on Covid-19 and previous pandemics, this book describes how people perceive and respond to Covid-19, and how it has impacted a broad range of domains, including lifestyle, politics, science, mental health, media, and meaning in life. Building on this, the book then sets out how we can improve our psychological and social resilience, to safeguard ourselves against the psychological effects of future pandemics.
Recover from Burnout: Life Lessons to Regain Your Passion and Purpose by
Chances are you're suffering from burnout. For some time, Master Coach Judy Klipin has waged what felt like a lonely battle, speaking up about the scourge of burnout that is approaching epidemic proportions in South Africa, one of the most stressed nations in the world. Men and women, young and old, from all walks of life have sought her help for their Burnout. Housewives, students, young adults in their first jobs, executive business-people, teachers, mothers, fathers, doctors, nurses, police officers, journalists... all complaining of feeling run-down, exhausted, overwhelmed and under-enthused about life in general and their lives in particular. Burnout is not only restricted to high-flying business executives, it can affect anyone. Burnout is not one thing, it is also a feeling of listlessness and ineptitude, a lack of enthusiasm and excitement, an existential emergency. Recover from Burnout will help you to understand why we get it, how to get better from it, and how not to get it again. You'll discover how to: · understand your burnout, · recognise and engage with the underlying fears and beliefs that underpin your drive to push your body, mind and spirit to breaking point, · change the beliefs and habits that have exhausted you, · regain your energy and enthusiasm, and · avoid falling back into the burnout traps.
Treating Complex Traumatic Stress Disorders in Adults, Second Edition by
This authoritative reference on complex traumatic stress disorders (CTSDs) and their assessment and treatment has now been significantly revised with more than 75% new material reflecting a decade of advances in the field. Leading experts delve into ways to understand, engage, assess, and treat adults with complex trauma histories, whose symptoms often include but may go well beyond those of posttraumatic stress disorder. The volume presents cutting-edge theory and research on CTSDs, considers diagnostic controversies, and identifies core elements of effective, culturally responsive treatment. Established and emerging therapies specifically tailored to this population are described and illustrated with vivid case examples. Other highlights are chapters on transtheoretical treatment, the crucial role of professionalism and training, and recognizing and managing vicarious traumatization. New to This Edition *Incorporates major advances in research and clinical practice. *Chapters on additional evidence-based individual treatments: prolonged exposure therapy, cognitive therapy, cognitive processing therapy, brief eclectic psychotherapy, eye movement desensitization and reprocessing therapy, narrative exposure therapy, interpersonal psychotherapy, emotion-focused therapy, and the TARGET recovery model. *Chapters on additional evidence-based group and conjoint family therapy models: attachment-based couple therapy and integrated treatment of co-occurring CTSDs and substance use disorders. *Chapters on promising treatments: treatment for structural dissociation, experiential/somatotherapy approaches, mindfulness approaches, and complementary healing therapies. See also Drs. Ford and Courtois's authored book, Treatment of Complex Trauma, which presents their own therapeutic approach for adult clients in depth, and their edited volume Treating Complex Traumatic Stress Disorders in Children and Adolescents.
Emotion-Focused Therapy for Generalized Anxiety by
Generalized anxiety disorder (GAD) -- characterized by near-constant worry that often coincides with intense feelings of shame and despair -- is a highly treatment-resistant disorder, with clients often relapsing after making some progress. Master therapists Jeanne Watson and Leslie Greenberg argue, however, that emotion-focused therapy (EFT) is uniquely capable of targeting the maladaptive emotional schemes that underlie GAD and helping clients maintain lasting, positive change. In this practical guide, Watson and Greenberg teach mental health practitioners how to employ EFT methods in their work with GAD clients. The authors first review EFT's conceptualization of GAD, emphasizing the key role that emotion plays in pervasive anxiety. They then translate those foundational principles into detailed techniques and strategies as they walk readers through the EFT process, beginning with the establishment of a healing therapeutic relationship. Chapters review different stages of EFT, describing specific therapeutic exercises, such as empty-chair and two-chair tasks, that allow clients to vocalize and directly address their deep-rooted emotional pain, anxieties, and relational injuries with significant others. Through this work, clients eventually learn to self-soothe and transform their maladaptive coping mechanisms into healthier ones. Sample client-therapist dialogues demonstrate how these EFT techniques can be applied in actual practice.
Essential Psychotherapies: Theory and Practice by
Acclaimed for its clear writing and stellar contributors, this authoritative text is now in a revised and updated fourth edition. The book explains the history, assessment approach, techniques, and research base of each of the 12 most important psychotherapies practiced today, along with its foundational ideas about personality and psychological health and dysfunction. The consistent chapter format facilitates comparison among the various approaches. Every chapter includes engaging clinical vignettes and an extended case example that bring key concepts to life, as well as suggested resources for further learning. New to This Edition *Incorporates important developments in clinical practice and research. *Entirely new chapters on CBT, third-wave CBT, couple therapies, and interpersonal and brief psychodynamic therapies; all other chapters fully updated. *Increased attention to multiple dimensions of diversity, the evidence-based practice movement, psychotherapy integration, and applications to physical health care.
Minding Emotions: Cultivating Mentalization in Psychotherapy by
Mentalization--the effort to make sense of our own and others' actions, behavior, and internal states--is something we all do. And it is a capacity that all psychotherapies aim to improve: the better we are at mentalizing, the more resilient and flexible we tend to be. This concise, engaging book offers a brief overview of mentalization in psychotherapy, focusing on how to help patients understand and reflect on their emotional experiences. Elliot Jurist integrates cognitive science research and psychoanalytic theory to break down "mentalized affectivity" into discrete processes that therapists can cultivate in session. The book interweaves clinical vignettes with discussions of memoirs by comedian Sarah Silverman, poet Tracy Smith, filmmaker Ingmar Bergman, and neurologist Oliver Sacks. A reproducible assessment instrument (the Mentalized Affectivity Scale) can be downloaded and printed in a convenient 8 1/2" x 11" size. Winner--American Board and Academy of Psychoanalysis Book Prize (Theoretical Category)
Psychological, Social, and Cultural Aspects of Internet Addiction by
Addiction is a powerful and destructive condition impacting large portions of the population around the world. While typically associated with substances, such as drugs and alcohol, technology and internet addiction have become a concern in recent years as technology use has become ubiquitous. Psychological, Social, and Cultural Aspects of Internet Addiction is a critical scholarly resource that sheds light on the relationship between psycho-social variables and internet addiction. Featuring coverage on a broad range of topics such as human-computer interaction, academic performance, and online behavior, this book is geared towards psychologists, counselors, graduate-level students, and researchers studying psychology and technology use.
Psychological Evaluations for the Courts: A Handbook for Mental Health Professionals and Lawyers by
Tens of thousands of readers have relied on this leading text and practitioner reference--now revised and updated--to understand the issues the legal system most commonly asks mental health professionals to address. The volume demystifies the forensic psychological assessment process and provides guidelines for participating effectively and ethically in legal proceedings. Presented are clinical and legal concepts and evidence-based assessment procedures pertaining to criminal and civil competencies, the insanity defense and related doctrines, sentencing, civil commitment, personal injury claims, antidiscrimination laws, child custody, juvenile justice, and other justice-related areas. Case examples, exercises, and a glossary facilitate learning; 19 sample reports illustrate how to conduct and write up thorough, legally admissible evaluations. New to This Edition *Extensively revised to reflect important legal, empirical, and clinical developments. *Increased attention to medical and neuroscientific research. *New protocols relevant to competence, risk assessment, child custody, and mental injury evaluations. *Updates on insanity, sentencing, civil commitment, the Americans with Disabilities Act, Social Security, juvenile and family law, and the admissibility of expert testimony. *Material on immigration law (including a sample report) and international law. *New and revised sample reports.
The print reference (REF) sources can be found on the main level of the Wolfgram Memorial Library in the Reference Area. Ask a reference librarian if you need help locating an item.
APA Dictionary of Psychology by
The American Psychological Association is proud to announce the publication of an invaluable addition to your reference shelf, one that represents a major scholarly and editorial undertaking. With over 25,000 terms and definitions, the APA Dictionary of Psychology encompasses all areas of research and application, and includes coverage of concepts, processes, and therapies across all the major subdisciplines of psychology. Ten years in the making and edited by a distinguished editorial board of nearly 100 psychological scholars, researchers and practitioners, the APA Dictionary of Psychology is destined to become the most authoritative reference of its kind. authoritative definitions; thousands of incisive cross-references directing the user to synonyms and antonyms, acronyms and abbreviations, and related terms and concepts that deepen the user's understanding of related topics; and balanced coverage of over 100 subject areas across the field of psychology including clinical, experimental, neuropsychology, cognitive, personality and social, developmental, health, psychopharmacology, methodology and statistics, and many others. Entries include nearly 8,000 terms from the APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms registered] which helps students and researchers refine their APA database searches (such as the flagship PsycINFO registered] bibliographic database's 2+ million records). It also includes A Guide to Use and Quick Guide to Format that together explain important stylistic and format features to help readers most effectively use the Dictionary. covering biographies; institutions, associations and organizations; psychological therapies and interventions; and psychological tests and assessment instruments. It contains thumb tabs for locating definitions quickly and easily. Academicians, researchers, clinicians, undergraduates and graduate students, and professionals in allied mental health, education, medicine, and law, as well as academic and public libraries, will find the Dictionary essential.
The Blackwell Dictionary of Neuropsychology by
This large single volume dictionary defines and explains the great number of technical terms employed within those areas of neuropsychology and medicine that are strictly relevant to neuropsychology.
When accessing eBooks from off campus, you will be required to enter the barcode from the back of your Widener ID Card or Library Research Card to access databases from Off Campus.
Dictionary of Psychopathology by
Psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers, psychiatric nurses, theoreticians, practitioners, and other allied professionals who together represent the entire arc of the mental health field must be versed in psychopathology, the study of mental and emotional phenomena, abnormal psychology, and specific symptoms and behaviors. Building a reference that speaks to all of these professions and subjects, Henry Kellerman assembles the first dictionary to focus exclusively on psychopathology, featuring more than two thousand entries (over fifteen hundred primary and more than five hundred subentries) on specific symptoms and disorders, general syndromes, facets of personality structure, and diagnosis. He also includes a sampling of benchmark contributions by theoreticians and researchers that cover the history of psychopathology. These contributions reflect those of a psychodynamic nature as well as cognitive and behavioral approaches, and represent the relatively new field of neuropsychoanalysis as well. This branch of neuroscience is concerned with the relation between the brain and the mind, specifically with reference to brain architecture and function. Monitored by a distinguished editorial board, the Dictionary of Psychopathology mostly adheres to the latest DSM nomenclature while also retaining useful residual diagnoses of previous DSM formulations, as well as diagnostic formulations outside of traditional nosologies. The aim of the Dictionary is to broadly contribute to the synthesis of psychopathology.
Dictionary of Psychological Testing, Assessment and Treatment by
`A useful book for the specialist engaged in assessment and research'. - Journal of Analytical Psychology `This book is a must-have for the bookshelf if you are a student or practitioner in the fields of psychology or even sociology. It will be of equal value to anyone working in the fields of brain injury, mental health or related fields. It is a handbook of references, terms and abbreviations related to neuroanatomy, psychology, medicine and their experiments and therapies, as well as dipping in and out of statistical processes and their meanings. The book will have broad appeal from student to practitioner to doctor. This book is a new and improved second edition. I only wish I had known of the existence of the first edition as it will most certainly prove a valuable tool.' - The Encephalitis Society The fully revised and updated second edition of this well-established reference provides over 400 new or improved terms, and is an exhaustive guide to the key terms used in psychological testing, assessment and measurement. Over 3000 definitions offer clear explanations of statistical procedures commonly used in psychology; major psychometric and other psychological tests; categories of mental illness, mental disability, and brain damage; frequently used medical terms; basic neuroanatomy; and types of psychological therapies. This book is suitable for all levels of understanding, from undergraduate and postgraduate students to practitioners of psychology and associated fields, with particular attention to statistical terms used in typical university syllabuses, as well as tests commonly available in computer packages and cited in psychological journals and similar publications.
Concise Encyclopedia of Psychology by
The new paperback edition--now even more concise and user-friendly! Critical Praise for the Second Edition of Concise Encyclopedia of Psychology "Intended for general readers [and] professionals, this source is easy to use, very informative, and authoritative....Highly recommended."--Choice "Concise Encyclopedia of Psychology is an impressive achievement.... [It] covers an incredible breadth of subjects in a clear, authoritative manner suitable for all levels from high school students to practicing psychologists, both academic and clinical."--American Reference Books Annual "[The] contributing authors [include] some of the most influential scholars and practitioners in the field....[The] text reads fast as well as informatively, serving as a ready reference to a wide array of subjects....[It is] a resource to be savored over and over again as the need arises....a reference text without equal."--Child and Family Behavior Therapy. "Authoritative, clear, and concisely written."--Doody's Health Sciences Book Review
Encyclopedia of Abnormal Psychology by
This book presents current research in the field of abnormal psychology. Topics discussed include self-harm in adolescence and young adulthood; depression and a parenting intervention; a hermeneutic approach to culture and psychotherapy; psychotic symptoms in children and adolescents; treatment approaches to aggressive behavior in schizophrenia; fetal origins of antisocial personality disorder; neurobiology of borderline personality disorder; patterns of interpersonal behaviors and borderline personality characteristics; the psychology of body image and borderline personality and sexual impulsivity.
Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology by
The field of educational psychology draws from a variety of diverse disciplines including: human development across the life span, measurement and statistics, learning and motivation and teaching. Within these different disciplines, many other fields are featured including psychology, anthropology, education, sociology, public health, school psychology, counselling, history and philosophy. When taught at the college or university level, educational psychology is an ambitious course that undertakes the presentation of many different topics all tied together by the theme of how the individual can best function in an "educational" setting, loosely defined as anything from pre-school through to adult education. There are few comprehensive overviews of the field of educational psychology and the purpose of this two volume Encyclopedia is to share this information in a way that is informative without being overly technical or intimidating. With more than 275 contributions, the Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology opens up the broad discipline of educational psychology to a wide and general audience. Written by experts in each area, the entries in this far-reaching resource provide an overview and an explanation of the major topics in the field of human development. The Encyclopedia includes technical topics related to educational psychology, but also focuses on those topics that evoke the interest of the everyday reader. Key Features " Addresses topics that are of particular interest to the general public such as vouchers, Head Start, divorce, elarning communities and charter schools " Covers subjects that are rich, diverse and deserving of closer inspection by an educated reader who may be uninformed about educational psychology " Draws from a variety of disciplines including psychology, anthropology, education, sociology, public health, school psychology, counselling, history and philosophy " Presents many different topics all tied together by the theme of how the individual can best function in an educational setting, from pre-school through to adult education. Key Themes " Classroom Achievement " Classroom Management " Cognitive Development " Ethnicity, Race and Culture " Families " Gender and Gender Development " Health and Well-Being " Human Development " Intelligence and Intellectual Development " Language Development " Learning and Memory " Organizations " Peers and Peer Influences " Public Policy " Research Methods and Statistics " Social Development " Teaching " Testing, Measurement and Evaluation " Theory
Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology by
SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology. Industrial and organizational psychologists help develop strategies that optimize human potential and build better organizations by focusing on the behaviours within specific environmental, technological and social environment of a workplace. Industrial and organizational psychologists contribute to an organization's success by resolving its human problems and improving the performance and well-being of its people. This encyclopedia presents a thorough overview of the cross-disciplinary field of industrial and organizational behaviour including: the development of individual employees; the factors of overall organizational structure; the use of psychology and the analysis of human behaviour which plays a significant roles in the contemporary workplace; workplaces increasingly impacted by government influences; growing consumer awareness; skill shortages; and the changing nature of the workforce. Key themes include: Foundations; History; Ethical and Legal Issues; Research Methods; Measurement Theory and Statistics; Industrial Psychology; Understanding and Assessing Individual Differences; Employment, Staffing and Career Issues; Developing, Training and Evaluating Employees; Productive and Counterproductive Employee Behaviour; Organizational Psychology; Motivation and Job Design; Leadership and Management; Groups, Teams and Working with Others; Employee Well-Being and Attitudes; Organizational Structure, Design and Change; Professional Organizations and Related Fields.
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology by
SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology. During the past 30 years, the study of racial and ethnic minority issues in psychology has evolved to what can be considered a significant and rapidly growing subfield within psychology. This volume represent a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic and minority issues and covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. Coverage includes contributions from all the major areas including: social; developmental; methodological; clinical; industrial/organizational; health; educational; and school and family psychology. Key features include: - supportive discussion on culture, not race, as the best way to understand differences among individuals; - a focuses on culture to provide a reference to the terms, concepts and issues used in this field; - a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic and minority issues and covers all of the major ethnic groups and subgroups; - a discussion on the sociological issues as well as conceptual issues relevant to the field of multicultural psychology. Key themes include: - Conceptual Issues; - Cultural Concerns; - Ethnic Groups; - Indigenous Concerns; - Measurement; - Professional Organizations; - Psychopathology; - Sociological Issue; - Treatment. Topics covered include: - academic achievement; - acculturation; - affirmative action; - community interventions; - education; - health; - immigrants; - prejudice; - racial identity development; - social ecology; - stereotyping; - teaching multiculturalism; - tokenism; - values; - violence; - worldviews.
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology by
Not long ago, social psychology was a small field consisting of creative, energetic researchers bent on trying to study a few vexing problems in normal adult human behaviour with rigorous scientific methods. In a few short decades, the field has blossomed into a major intellectual force, with thousands of researchers worldwide exploring a stunningly diverse set of fascinating phenomena with an impressive arsenal of research methods and ever-more carefully honed theories. The Encyclopedia of Social Psychology is the first resource to present state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts from this fascinating field. These two volumes include more than 600 entries chosen by a diverse team of experts to comprise an exhaustive list of the most important concepts. The Encyclopedia is written for students who may be encountering concepts such as social loafing, deindividuation, base rate fallacy, ego depletion and self-handicapping for the first time and want a simple, clear, jargon-free explanation of what they mean. Key Themes " Action Control " Antisocial Behaviors " Attitude " Culture " Emotions " Evolution " Groups " Health " History " Influence " Interpersonal Relationships " Judgment and Decision Making " Methods " Personality " Prejudice " Problem Behaviors " Prosocial Behaviors " Self " Social Cognition " Subdisciplines
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5#65533;), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5#65533; easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by
Since the DSM-IV® was published in 1994, we've seen many advances in our knowledge of psychiatric illness. This Text Revision incorporates information culled from a comprehensive literature review of research about mental disorders published since DSM-IV® was completed in 1994. Updated information is included about the associated features, culture, age, and gender features, prevalence, course, and familial pattern of mental disorders. The DSM-IV-TR® brings this essential diagnostic tool up-to-date, to promote effective diagnosis, treatment, and quality of care. Now you can get all the essential diagnostic information you rely on from the DSM-IV® along with important updates not found in the 1994 edition. Stay current with important updates to the DSM-IV-TR®: #149; Benefit from new research into Schizophrenia, Asperger's Disorder, and other conditions#149; Utilize additional information about the epidemiology and other facets of DSM conditions#149; Update ICD-9-CM codes implemented since 1994 (including Conduct Disorder, Dementia, Somatoform Disorders)
Handbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry by
This four-volume text features contributions from over 300 researchers and clinicians. Volumes 1, 2 and 3 explore the developmental stages and syndromes of infancy and preschool, grade school and adolescence. Each volume addresses the normal development during each period, the theoretical and clinical perspectives and the clinical syndromes most commonly associated with it. Volume 4 explores the varieties of development and the impact of psychosocial, medical, and foreign cultural factors on development of all three age groups.
Handbook of Child Psychology by
This authoritative four-volume reference spans the entire field of child development and has set the standard against which all other scholarly references are compared. Updated and revised to reflect the new developments in the field, the Sixth Edition is sure to be as successful as the previous editions.
Handbook of Child Psychopathology by
In our first edition of the Handbook in 1983, we the origins and course(s) of maladaptive behav#65533; ior, whatever the causes, whatever the age of on#65533; noted that child psychopathology should no longer be viewed as a downward extension of set, whatever the transformations in behavioral adult psychopathology. Rather, we suggested expression, and however complex the develop#65533; that children should be viewed as children, not mental pattern may prove to be. It strives to inte#65533; as miniature adults, and that a merger of the dis#65533; grate these two disciplines in an intimate and of#65533; ciplines of clinical child psychology and devel#65533; tentimes complex manner. opmental psychology must occur for this evolu#65533; Careful attention to issues of development and tion to be fully realized. In the second edition of other contextual issues relevant to children, ad#65533; the Handbook in 1989, we asserted that the syn#65533; olescents, and their families guided us in our ef#65533; thesis of these two fields of inquiry was under#65533; forts to solicit contributors for this third edition.
Handbook of Psychoeducational Assessment by
The Handbook of Psychoeducational Assessment is a practical guide for educational and psychological professionals using norm-referenced tests in the ability, achievement, and behavioral assessment of children. Written by key individuals involved in the construction and evolution of the most widely used tests, this book provides critical information on the nature and scope of commonly used tests, their reliability and validity, administration, scoring and interpretation, and on how the tests may differ and complement each other in their utility with specific populations. Part 1 of the Handbook of Psychoeducational Assessment focuses on ability assessment and the use of full battery intelligence tests as well as brief scales and short forms. Part 2 discusses achievement and the expanded role of psychologists in consultation with educators. Part 3 covers behavior assessment with special attention given to discussion of which tests are most suitable for assessing specific behavioral problems such as ADHD, anxiety, and depression. The final section recognizes the importance of context and person sensitive assessment practices, discussing cross-cultural assessment, neuropsychological assessment, and the usefulness of dynamic assessment for program planning and intervention delivery. Key Features: Covers the most commonly used and newest assessment instruments Describes the nature, scope, reliability, and validity of each test Discusses the administration, scoring, and interpretation of tests Provides empirical findings on patterns of performance with tested populations Includes case studies to highlight the utility of specific tests for specific populations Illustrates new developments in instrumentation and unique features Covers the most commonly used and newest assessment instruments Describes the nature, scope, reliability, and validity of each test Discusses the administration, scoring, and interpretation of tests Provides empirical findings on patterns of performance with tested populations Includes case studies to highlight the utility of specific tests for specific populations Illustrates new developments in instrumentation and unique features
Psychologists' Desk Reference by
Here is the revised and expanded edition of the indispensable companion for every mental health practitioner. Improved over the first edition by input and feedback from clinicians and program directors, the Psychologists' Desk Reference, Second Edition presents an even larger variety ofinformation required in daily practice in one easy-to-use resource. Covering the entire spectrum of practice issues--from diagnostic codes, practice guidelines, treatment principles, and report checklists, to insight and advice from today's most respected clinicians--this peerless reference givesfingertip access to the entire range of current knowledge. Intended for use by all mental health professionals, the Desk Reference covers assessment and diagnosis, testing and psychometrics, treatment and psychotherapy, ethical and legal issues, practice management and insurance, and professionalresources. Chapters have been clearly written by master clinicians and include easy-to-read checklists and tables as well as helpful advice. Filled with information psychologists use everyday, the Psychologists' Desk Reference, Second Edition will be the most important and widely used volume inthe library of psychologists, social workers, and counselors everywhere.This new edition features: -Thoroughly revised chapters by the field's leaders.-29 entirely new chapters, now totaling 140.-Sections reorganized to be smaller and more specific, making topics easier to find.-A listing of valuable Internet sites in each chapter.-Increased emphasis on evidence-based practices.A companion website containing graphics, illustrations, tables, primary resources, extensive bibliographies, links to related sites, and much more.
Mastering APA Style by
This guide, updated for use with the Sixth Edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association#65533;, is designed to help improve students' understanding and use of APA Style#65533; before they begin writing term papers and research reports, allowing instructors in academic settings to concentrate more on course material and less on correcting style errors in students' papers. Mastering APA Style: Instructor's Resource Guide contains eight multiple-choice assessment surveys, correction keys, and answer sheets, along with informative instructions on how to incorporate this material into a curriculum. This essential APA Style resource also enables editorial trainers to help copy editors polish their skills as they gain a thorough knowledge of APA Style and the Publication Manual. Included within each mastery test are multiple test questions relating to key APA Style points on references and citations, grammar, headings, serialisation, statistical and mathematical copy, italics and capitalisation, numbers style and table formatting. This guide is an effective learning tool for instructors and students to use in the classroom or as guided or independent study.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioural sciences. It provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias in language. Well-known for its authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures and tone that will result in strong, simple, and elegant scientific communication. The Sixth Edition offers new and expanded instruction on publication ethics, statistics, journal article reporting standards, electronic reference formats, and the construction of tables and figures. The Sixth Edition has been revised and updated to include new ethics guidance on such topics as determining authorship and terms of collaboration, duplicate publication, plagiarism and self-plagiarism, disguising of participants, validity of instrumentation, and making data available to others for verification; new journal article reporting standards to help readers report empirical research with clarity and precision; simplified APA heading style to make it more conducive to electronic publication; updated guidelines for reducing bias in language to reflect current practices and preferences, including a new section on presenting historical language that is inappropriate by present standards; new guidelines for reporting inferential statistics and a significantly revised table of statistical abbreviations new instruction on using supplemental files containing lengthy data sets and other media; significantly expanded content on the electronic presentation of data to help readers understand the purpose of each kind of display and choose the best match for communicating the results of the investigation, with new examples for a variety of data displays, including electrophysiological and biological data; consolidated information on all aspects of reference citations, with an expanded discussion of electronic sources emphasising the role of the digital object identifier (DOI) as a reliable way to locate information; and expanded discussion of the publication process, including the function and process of peer review; a discussion of ethical, legal, and policy requirements in publication; and guidelines on working with the publisher while the article is in press. Key to this edition of the Publication Manual is an updated and expanded Web presence. Visit the APA Style web site to Look up additional supplemental material keyed to the book Test your knowledge of APA Style with a free tutorial on style basics Learn about the changes in the sixth edition with a free tutorial reviewing key revisions Sign up for an on-line course to enrich and enhance your understanding of APA Style Read the APA Style blog and share your comments on writing and referencing Consult frequently asked questions to sharpen your understanding of APA Style Examine additional resources on such topics as ethics, statistics, and writing Familiarise yourself with submission standards for APA books and journals What''s New in the Sixth Edition? Book has been updated to acknowledge and incorporate advances in computer technology. New discussions of the creation, submission, and storage of supplemental data. New guidelines for referencing electronic sources. New and expanded reference examples for a variety of on-line sources. Redesigned APA Style website, expanded to provide tutorials, on-line courses, and other resources for learning APA style. Book has been reorganised and streamlined for ease of use Organised to describe the writing process from idea to publication, it begins with background information on ethical issues in publishing, then moves on to manuscript structure and content, then writing style and rules, then graphics and references, then guidance on working with the publisher. Sample paper section has been moved up and featured to better exemplify manuscript structure and content Like discussions have been moved to one place in the book, with discussions of function followed by instruction on form. Focus has been broadened to include readers in the behavioural and social sciences. Information specific to APA has been moved to the web, where it is more broadly accessible and can be updated frequently. New examples throughout the book have been drawn from publications in education, business, and nursing as well as psychology.
A Short Guide to Writing about Psychology by
Featuring up-to-date writing techniques and the latest APA-style guidelines, this brief guide helps students master the skills necessary for writing in psychology.This brief guide takes students step-by-step through the writing process--from choosing a topic, to outlining, drafting, and revising their papers, to seeking feedback from peers. In addition, it presents thorough discussions of researching psychological literature in the library and on the Internet and presenting those findings in written and oral formats. Special attention is given to interpreting and reporting the results of statistical tests, as well as preparing data displays in tables and figures. Introducing students to all elements of professional writing in APA style, this supplemental guide provides practical tips for general types of writing that students encounter in the social sciences.
The Psychologist's Companion: A Guide to Writing Scientific Papers for Students and Researchers by
The Psychologist's Companion is intended for students as well as young professionals and writers at all stages of their careers seeking inspiration and guidelines for better scientific writing. This book is also a resource for researchers in related fields. It has been comprehensively updated, revised, and extended for its fifth edition and includes the latest style guidelines of the American Psychological Association's Publication Manual (sixth edition, 2009) as well as chapters encompassing the entire research process from doing literature research and planning an experiment to writing the paper. It features new chapters on literature research; ethics; and generating, evaluating, and selling ideas. The Psychologist's Companion also provides information on writing book proposals, grant proposals, and lectures.