Anti-Racism Resources

Rooted in the dreams of immigrants and inspired by the promise of opportunity, Asian Americans Advancing Justice | AAJC (Advancing Justice | AAJC) advocates for an America in which all Americans can benefit equally from, and contribute to, the American dream. Our mission is to advance the civil and human rights for Asian Americans and to build and promote a fair and equitable society for all. Advancing Justice | AAJC is a national 501 (c)(3) nonprofit founded in 1991 in Washington, D.C.

Advancing Justice | AAJC is the voice for the Asian American community – the fastest-growing population in the U.S. – fighting for our civil rights through education, litigation, and public policy advocacy. We serve to empower our communities by bringing local and national constituencies together and ensuring Asian Americans are able to participate fully in our democracy.

The Asian Pacific Policy and Planning Council (A3PCON) is a coalition of community-based organizations that advocates for the rights and needs of the Asian and Pacific Islander American (APIA) Community in the greater Los Angeles area, with a particular focus on low income, immigrant, refugee and other disadvantaged sectors of the population. To accomplish this mission, A3PCON strives to:
-Serve as a vehicle for promoting the needs, interests and concerns of the APIA Community to policy makers and the general public.
-Promote collaboration, planning and collective action amongst its members to support common advocacy/policy, organizational development and capacity-building goals.
-Activate the APIA electorate and promote public accountability to the APIA Community through non-partisan political and electoral participation.

#BlackLivesMatter was founded in 2013 in response to the acquittal of Trayvon Martin’s murderer. Black Lives Matter Foundation, Inc is a global organization in the US, UK, and Canada, whose mission is to eradicate white supremacy and build local power to intervene in violence inflicted on Black communities by the state and vigilantes. By combating and countering acts of violence, creating space for Black imagination and innovation, and centering Black joy, we are winning immediate improvements in our lives.

Chinese for Affirmative Action was founded in 1969 to protect the civil and political rights of Chinese Americans and to advance multiracial democracy in the United States. Today, CAA is a progressive voice in and on behalf of the broader Asian American and Pacific Islander community. We advocate for systemic change that protects immigrant rights, promotes language diversity, and remedies racial and social injustice.

Color Of Change is the nation’s largest online racial justice organization. It leads campaigns that build real power for Black communities. We challenge injustice, hold corporate and political leaders accountable, commission game-changing research on systems of inequality, and advance solutions for racial justice that can transform our world.

The Equal Justice Initiative is committed to ending mass incarceration and excessive punishment in the United States, to challenging racial and economic injustice, and to protecting basic human rights for the most vulnerable people in American society.

The Government Alliance on Race and Equity (GARE) is a national network of government working to achieve racial equity and advance opportunities for all.

The mission of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) is to secure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of rights in order to eliminate race-based discrimination and ensure the health and well-being of all persons.

Native Women's Wilderness was created to bring Native women together to share our stories, support each other, and learn from one another as we endeavor to explore and celebrate the wilderness and our native lands.

Racial Equity Tools is designed to support individuals and groups working to achieve racial equity. This site offers tools, research, tips, curricula and ideas for people who want to increase their own understanding and to help those working toward justice at every level – in systems, organizations, communities and the culture at large.

The Red Nation is dedicated to the liberation of Native peoples from capitalism and colonialism. We center Native political agendas and struggles through direct action, advocacy, mobilization, and education. We are a coalition of Native and non-Native activists, educators, students, and community organizers advocating Native liberation. We formed to address the marginalization and invisibility of Native struggles within mainstream social justice organizing, and to foreground the targeted destruction and violence towards Native life and land.

SURJ is a national network of groups and individuals working to undermine white supremacy and to work for racial justice. Through community organizing, mobilizing, and education, SURJ moves white people to act as part of a multi-racial majority for justice with passion and accountability.

The Wisconsin Historical Society owns more than 100 collections documenting the 1964 movement to integrate Mississippi's segregated political system, of which more than 40,000 pages are available online.

Anti-Racism in Academia (ARiA): A Learning Journey is a grassroots, volunteer-led effort. We provide a way for higher ed employees to engage in self-examination through national, intersectional conversations. We believe in a shared humanity where open hearts open minds. We insist that change at the individual level complements work at the organizational level, and the strength of both can push forward the systemic transformations necessary to create an inherently inclusive and just academy.

A compilation of a variety of resources, including articles, videos, social media, podcasts, guides, books, and more.

To create an equal society, we must commit to making unbiased choices and being antiracist in all aspects of our lives.

This guide is a tool in our quest to replace false narratives, and specifically the toxic narrative
about Native Americans, with the truth. It boils down two years of extensive research and testing (unprecedented in Indian Country) into actionable information you can use to make your work more effective.

This site provides a single, federated search across museums, public history sites, archives and libraries allowing users to browse metadata representing the lives and experiences of the enslaved, enslavers, and freed persons from the 15th to the early 20th century.

Created and led by Native peoples, IllumiNative is a new nonprofit initiative designed to increase the visibility of – and challenge the negative narrative about – Native Nations and peoples in American society

Digital collections, exhibits, and resources of the nation's largest public collection of artifacts spanning the segregation era, from Reconstruction until the civil rights movement, and beyond. The goal of these collections is to use objects of intolerance to teach tolerance and promote social justice.

By MTV, with input from the Kirwan Institute for the Study of Race and Ethnicity. Includes testing your implicit bias, putting yourself in someone else's shoes, watching real stories, and taking a bias cleanse.

As part of The Equal Justice Initiative, research was done on lynching in America from the Civil War through World War II. This interactive experience inspired by the original report, tells the story of racial terror in America and explores how its legacy shapes our nation today.

This website provides an interactive map of Tribal Lands before colonization. This map can act as a first step in acknowledging the stealing of land from indigenous peoples and how to return power to Native nations.

We need to work at the national, state, and local levels— in our communities — to realize a shared vision of public safety that respects and protects human life and lifts up those most affected by harmful police policies and practices. And we need innovative ideas — from all perspectives in our diverse society — to rethink public safety and renew community trust. We can overcome the challenges facing us, and this toolkit shows us how. Individuals and communities have the power to shape policing and change our approach to public safety by organizing, harnessing data, and leveraging determination on all sides to improve our justice system.

This lesson is based on the National Register of Historic Places nomination file for “Carlisle Indian Industrial School” (with photos) and resources from the Library of Congress, U.S. Army War College Library, Dickinson College Archives & Special Collections, and National Archives and Records Administration.

This free and accessible series of anti-colonial, intersectional classes center the voices and perspectives of People of the Global Majority.

Project 562 is a multi-year national photography project dedicated to photographing over 562 federally recognized tribes in The United States in an effort to create an unprecedented repository of imagery and oral histories that accurately portrays contemporary Native Americans. This creative, conscious shifting work will be widely distributed through updated national curricula, artistic publications, exhibitions and online.

In response to the alarming escalation in xenophobia and bigotry resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic, the Asian Pacific Planning and Policy Council (A3PCON), Chinese for Affirmative Action (CAA), and the Asian American Studies Department of San Francisco State University launched the Stop AAPI Hate reporting center on March 19, 2020. The center tracks and responds to incidents of hate, violence, harassment, discrimination, shunning, and child bullying against Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in the United States.

The primary focus of this website is on developing curriculum resources for the U.S. but it’s important to remember that Indigenous is global—past, present, and future.