National Archives and Records AdministrationThe National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.
Timeline - ChesterView over 100 pictures depicting the history of the city of Chester from 1821 to the present. These photographs can also be found in the exhibit Connections: A Timeline of our History that is located on the walls of Widener’s Alumni Auditorium lobby.
Timeline - PMC/WidenerView over 130 pictures depicting the history of Widener and its predecessor institutions from 1821 to the present. These photographs can also be found in the exhibit Connections: A Timeline of our History that is located on the walls of Widener’s Alumni Auditorium lobby.
Timeline - United StatesView over 100 pictures depicting the history of the United States from 1821 to the present. These photographs can also be found in the exhibit Connections: A Timeline of our History that is located on the walls of Widener’s Alumni Auditorium lobby.
Civil Rights Documents
View scrapbooks and other materials donated by the George Raymond Family that depict the Civil Rights Movement and NAACP activities in Chester, PA from the 1940s to1960s.
The following is a list of 100 milestone documents, compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 196
Search millions of pages of primary sources spanning the 15th – 21st centuries. Includes Award-winning digital resources spanning the social sciences and humanities, developed in collaboration with leading libraries and archives.
An online database of the thousands of Philadelphia-area residents who served in the First World War. Drawing on digitized public-domain documents, the database connects previously distinct sources, such as casualty lists, newspaper articles, and government documents to create a comprehensive social science dataset and a biographical encyclopedia. The data will also be used to create an interactive map to display how the First World War affected the towns and neighborhoods in the Philadelphia area.
A multi-institutional project highlighting materials and resources on the Great War, with articles curated by individual scholars. Uses social media to spotlight newly digitized content, creative educational use of materials and news of other Great War commemorations.
These are the records of the hearings of the Dies Committee, set up by the US House of Representatives to monitor "Un-American activities" and foreign propaganda before and during the Second World War.
A series of letters written from 1759 to 1765, between Timothy Fitch, a Medford resident, and an employee of Fitch named Peter Gwinn. The letters are a direct and local link to the trafficking and sale of enslaved human beings from Africa.
In the Nat Turner Project digital archive, you can read original documents related to the only large-scale slave revolt ever to occur in the United States. Explore newspaper articles, diary entries, letters, maps, trials transcripts, census records, pamphlets, petitions, and other types of sources created at the time the revolt occurred. The archive also contains later accounts of the revolt, including interviews with former slaves and memoirs of former slaveholders. In the Memory section, you will also find visual and fictional representations of Nat Turner and the revolt that were created long after the revolt was suppressed and the people involved were gone.
"On the 40th anniversary of the leak to the press, the national Archives, along with the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon Presidential Libraries, has released the complete report. Approx 7,000 declassified pages.
Project Gutenberg is a major source of free historical electronic texts that can be searched by author or title. Content is free in the United States because its copyright has expired. You can download 30,000+ free ebooks to read on your PC, iPad, Kindle, Sony Reader, iPhone, Android or other portable device.
Transcripts of a large selection of 17th- and 18th-century inventories from across York County, Virginia including the northern half of the city of Williamsburg, Yorktown, and the surrounding areas.
John Carter Brown Library Digital Collections - Provides digital access to an internationally renowned, constantly growing collection of primary historical sources pertaining to the Americas, both North and South, before ca. 1825.