WorldCatThis link opens in a new windowFind what you want in a library near you with WorldCat, a global catalog of library collections. Great resource for distance learners, here you can search for library materials that are available in libraries near you. WorldCat also includes links to interlibrary loan information and to materials in Wolfgram Library.
eBook Academic CollectionThis link opens in a new windowContains electronic books across many academic disciplines. Books may be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Download for Android Here | Download for Apple IOS Here
ProQuest eBook CentralThis link opens in a new windowContains electronic books across many academic disciplines with easy-to-use tools for taking notes and making citations. eBooks may be read online or be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Online Tutorial Available Here
EBSCO eBook CollectionThis link opens in a new windowContains electronic books across many academic disciplines. Books may be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Download for Android Here | Download for Apple IOS Here
American National Biography by John A. Garraty (Editor); Mark C. Carnes (Editor)American National Biography is the first new comprehensive biographical dicionary focused on American history to be published in seventy years. Produced under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies, the ANB contains over 17,500 profiles on historical figures written by anexpert in the field and completed with a bibliography. The scope of the work is enormous--from the earlest recorded European explorations to the very recent past.
Call Number: REF CT213 .A68 1999
Publication Date: 1999-01-21
Historical Dictionary of Early North America by Cameron B. WessonThose unfamiliar with the prehistory of North America have a general perception of the cultures of the continent that includes Native Americans living in tipis, wearing feathered headdresses and buckskin clothing, and following migratory bison herds on the Great Plains. Although these practices were part of some Native American societies, they do not adequately represent the diversity of cultural practices by the overwhelming majority of Native American peoples. Media misrepresentations shaped by television and movies along with a focus on select regions and periods in the history of the United States have produced an extremely distorted view of the indigenous inhabitants of the continent and their cultures. The indigenous populations of North America created impressive societies, engaged in trade, and had varied economic, social, and religious cultures. Over the past century, archaeological and ethnological research throughout all regions of North America has revealed much about the indigenous peoples of the continent. This book examines the long and complex history of human occupation in North America, covering its distinct culture as well as areas of the Arctic, California, Eastern Woodlands, Great Basin, Great Plains, Northwest Coast, Plateau, Southwest, and Subarctic. Complete with maps, a chronology that spans the history from 11,000 B.C. to A.D. 1850, an introductory essay, more than 700 dictionary entries, and a comprehensive bibliography, this reference is a valuable tool for scholars and students. An appendix of museums that have North American collections and a listing of archaeological sites that allow tours by the public also make this an accessible guide to the interested lay reader and high school student.
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual HistoryThe Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History surveys the richly layered dimensions of American life in a format that clarifies the many issues, ideas, movements and places that constitute the American experience. How is the West defined as a cultural region? What did the notions of "secession" and "union" mean to Americans living in the 1860s? How does Disney pervade and influence perceptions about America today? In more than 200 articles written by scholars and enriched with illustrations, boxed biographies and documentary excerpts from primary sources, American thought and culture is thoroughly explored. The Encyclopedia covers not only historic periods such as the Colonial era and the Reagan era, but also looks at cultural groups such as the working class and cultural institutions and forms such as the university and cinema.
Call Number: REF E169.1 .E624 2001
Publication Date: 2001-03-26
Encyclopedia of American Immigration by Salem Press Editors (Editor)Designed and written to be understood by high school students and college undergraduates, this set addresses questions about immigration that students might be expected to ask: where immigrants have come from; how they have adapted to their new homeland; how they have contributed to American culture; and how American immigration has fit into worldwide migration patterns.
This four-volume set examines every social movement in American history - from the great struggles for abolition, civil rights, and women's equality to the more specific quests for prohibition, consumer safety, unemployment insurance, and global justice.
Encyclopedia of American Urban History by David R. Goldfield (Editor)SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of American Urban History. Edited by one of the leading scholars of urban studies, David Goldfield, this Encyclopedia offers an accurate and authoritative historical approach to the dramatic urban growth experienced in the United States during the 20th century. The United States is now an urban nation, but only officially since the early 20th century. However, long before then their cities played crucial roles in the economic and political development of northern America, as magnets for immigrants from within the continent and from abroad and as centres of culture and innovation. The discipline of urban history is really a phenomenon of post-World War II scholarship. After a generation of pathbreaking scholarship, that has reoriented and enlightened our perception of American city, this two-volumes Encyclopedia of American Urban History offer both a summary and an interpretation of the field. With contributions from leading academics in their fields, this authoritative resource offers an interdisciplinary approach by covering topics including: economics; geography; anthropology; politics; and sociology. The Encyclopedia of American Urban History is a fundamental reference work which grounds and inspires future research in the field. It is an essential resource for any academic library.
Publication Date: 2006-12-07
Encyclopedia of U. S. Labor and Working-Class History by Eric Arnesen (Editor)A RUSA 2007 Outstanding Reference Title The Encyclopedia of US Labor and Working-Class Historyprovides sweeping coverage of US labor history. Containing over 650 entries, the Encyclopedia encompasses labor history from the colonial era to the present. Articles focus on states, regions, periods, economic sectors and occupations, race-relations, ethnicity, and religion, concepts and developments in labor economics, environmentalism, globalization, legal history, trade unions, strikes, organizations, individuals, management relations, and government agencies and commissions. Articles cover such issues as immigration and migratory labor, women and labor, labor in every war effort, slavery and the slave-trade, union-resistance by corporations such as Wal-Mart, and the history of cronyism and corruption, and the mafia within elements of labor history. Labor history is also considered in its representation in film, music, literature, and education. Important articles cover the perception of working-class culture, such as the surge in sympathy for the working class following September 11, 2001. Written as an objective social history, the Encyclopedia encapsulates the rise and decline, and continuous change of US labor history into the twenty-first century.
Call Number: REF HD8066. A78 2006
Publication Date: 2006-11-16
American Ethnic History : Themes and Perspectives by Jason J. McDonaldThis book provides a new framework for examining and comprehending the varied historical experiences of ethnic groups in the United States. Thematically organized and comparative in outlook, it explores how historians have grappled with questions that bear upon a key aspect of the American experience: ethnicity. How did the United States come to have such an ethnically diverse population? What contribution, if any, has this ethnic diversity made to the shaping of American culture and institutions? How easily and at what levels have ethnic and racial minorities been incorporated, if at all, into the social and economic structures of the United States? Has incorporation been a uniform process or has it varied from group to group? As well as providing readers with an accessible yet authoritative introduction to the field of American ethnic history, the book serves as a valuable reference tool for more experienced researchers.Key Features:*Adopts a comparative and thematic approach that helps to demystify this complex and controversial subject.*Provides an orderly and readable introduction to the main issues and debates surrounding the topic.*Detailed and broad-ranging discussion of historiography enables readers to find more specialized works on topics in which they are interested.
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
American Masculinities by Bret E. Carroll (Editor)American Masculinities: A Historical Encyclopedia explores the wide range of identities and experiences that have defined men and masculinity in the United States from pre-Columbian times to the present. The first reference work devoted to this scholarly field, it draws on important contemporary research in history, gender and sexuality studies, and cultural and literary studies. The encyclopedia--in more than 250 articles--analyzes American manhood through historical eras and events; sexuality and the body; cultural icons and symbols; attitudes and behaviors; work and leisure; institutions and organizations; controversial issues and movements; key figures; family and the life cycle; literature, film, theater, and art; theories and concepts; and identities based on race, ethnicity, class, age, and region. Each entry includes suggestions for further reading and a list of other articles with additional information on a topic.
Publication Date: 2003-10-14
Asian American Society by Mary Yu Danico (Editor)Asian Americans are a growing, minority population in the United States. After a 46 percent population growth between 2000 and 2010 according to the 2010 Census, there are 17.3 million Asian Americans today. Yet Asian Americans as a category are a diverse set of peoples from over 30 distinctive Asian-origin subgroups that defy simplistic descriptions or generalizations. They face a wide range of issues and problems within the larger American social universe despite the persistence of common stereotypes that label them as a "model minority" for the generalized attributes offered uncritically in many media depictions. Asian American Society: An Encyclopedia provides a thorough introduction to the wide-ranging and fast-developing field of Asian American studies. Published with the Association for Asian American Studies (AAAS), two volumes of the four-volume encyclopedia feature more than 300 A-to-Z articles authored by AAAS members and experts in the field who examine the social, cultural, psychological, economic, and political dimensions of the Asian American experience. The next two volumes of this work contain approximately 200 annotated primary documents, organized chronologically, that detail the impact American society has had on reshaping Asian American identities and social structures over time. Features: More than 300 articles authored by experts in the field, organized in A-to-Z format, help students understand Asian American influences on American life, as well as the impact of American society on reshaping Asian American identities and social structures over time. A core collection of primary documents and key demographic and social science data provide historical context and key information. A Reader′s Guide groups related entries by broad topic areas and themes; a Glossary defines key terms; and a Resource Guide provides lists of books, academic journals, websites and cross references. The multimedia digital edition is enhanced with 75 video clips and features strong search-and-browse capabilities through the electronic Reader's Guide, detailed index, and cross references. Available in both print and online formats, this collection of essays is a must-have resource for general and research libraries, Asian American/ethnic studies libraries, and social science libraries.
Publication Date: 2014-09-05
Documents of Native American Political Development, 1500 to 1933 by David E. WilkinsonThe arrival of European and Euro-American colonizers in the Americas brought not only physical attacks against Native American tribes, but also further attacks against the sovereignty of these Indian nations. Though the violent tales of the Trail of Tears, Black Hawk's War, and the Battle ofLittle Big Horn are taught far and wide, the political structure and development of Native American tribes, and the effect of American domination on Native American sovereignty, have been greatly neglected. This book contains a variety of primary source and other documents--traditional accounts, tribal constitutions, legal codes, business councils, rules and regulations, BIA agents reports, congressional discourse, intertribal compacts--written both by Natives from many different nations and somenon-Natives, that reflect how indigenous peoples continued to exercise a significant measure of self-determination long after it was presumed to have been lost, surrendered, or vanquished. The documents are arranged chronologically, and Wilkins provides brief, introductory essays to each document,placing them within the proper context. Each introduction is followed by a brief list of suggestions for further reading. Covering a fascinating and relatively unknown period in Native American history, from the earliest examples of indigenous political writings to the formal constitutions crafted just before the American intervention of the Indian Reorganization Act of 1934, this anthology will be an invaluableresource for scholars and students of the political development of indigenous peoples the world over.
Publication Date: 2009-02-04
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in AmericaThis new three-volume set is an accessible and scholarly reference that provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. Long needed by researchers, the "Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America includes approximately 545 articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions and AIDS. Wide-ranging in scope, this new encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, American studies, literature, psychology, sociology and others. Features include a guide to archival sources, a chronology/timeline, a historical overview essay and a comprehensive index.
Call Number: REF HQ76.3.U5 E53 2004
Publication Date: 2003-12-05
Encyclopedia of Women in American History by Eileen Chang; Joyce Appleby; Joanne L. Goodwin (Introduction by); Neva GoodwinThis illustrated encyclopedia examines the unique influence and contributions of women in every era of American history, from the colonial period to the present. It not only covers the issues that have had an impact on women, but also traces the influence of women's achievements on society as a whole. Divided into three chronologically arranged volumes, the set includes historical surveys and thematic essays on central issues and political changes affecting women's lives during each period. These are followed by A-Z entries on significant events and social movements, laws, court cases and more, as well as profiles of notable American women from all walks of life and all fields of endeavor. Primary sources and original documents are included throughout.
Publication Date: 2002-02-28
Multicultural America by Carlos E. Cortés (Editor)This comprehensive title is among the first to extensively use newly released 2010 U.S. Census data to examine multiculturalism today and tomorrow in America. This distinction is important considering the following NPR report by Eyder Peralta: "Based on the first national numbers released by the Census Bureau, the AP reports that minorities account for 90 percent of the total U.S. growth since 2000, due to immigration and higher birth rates for Latinos." According to John Logan, a Brown University sociologist who has analyzed most of the census figures, "The futures of most metropolitan areas in the country are contingent on how attractive they are to Hispanic and Asian populations." Both non-Hispanic whites and blacks are getting older as a group. "These groups are tending to fade out," he added. Another demographer, William H. Frey with the Brookings Institution, told The Washington Post that this has been a pivotal decade. "We're pivoting from a white-black-dominated American population to one that is multiracial and multicultural."Multicultural America: A Multimedia Encyclopedia explores this pivotal moment and its ramifications with more than 900 signed entries not just providing a compilation of specific ethnic groups and their histories but also covering the full spectrum of issues flowing from the increasingly multicultural canvas that is America today. Pedagogical elements include an introduction, a thematic reader's guide, a chronology of multicultural milestones, a glossary, a resource guide to key books, journals, and Internet sites, and an appendix of 2010 U.S. Census Data. Finally, the electronic version will be the only reference work on this topic to augment written entries with multimedia for today's students, with 100 videos (with transcripts) from Getty Images and Video Vault, the Agence France Press, and Sky News, as reviewed by the media librarian of the Rutgers University Libraries, working in concert with the title's editors.
Publication Date: 2013-09-05
Finding History: Research Methods and Resources for Students and Scholars by Christine BombaroIn today's world of modern research methods, the irony is that even though more materials are readily available now than ever before, this proliferation of sources has actually made the process more difficult for the novice researcher. In addition, today's professors expect high-quality sources to be used in students' undergraduate research precisely because so much information is available; however, without instruction, many students are not even aware of the standard history sources that they should be using routinely for history research projects. Finding History is a practical and modern guide to research for history projects, helping to sort through the available resources and technology for students, scholars, and librarians. Finding History includes practical, step-by-step instructions for discovering historical evidence using library catalogs, databases, and websites. It simplifies and clarifies the research process so that students new to the experience may locate appropriate research material with the same skill as seasoned historians. This book addresses the information literacy skills defined by the American Library Association and the American Historical Association, which include -recognizing the need for scholarly historical information; -defining and identifying the need for primary, secondary, and tertiary sources; -knowing what finding tools are available to help locate historical sources; -using history research tools efficiently and effectively; -learning research vocabulary as well as the vocabulary of the historical profession; -making evaluative judgments about the scholarly value of materials once they are located; -physically acquiring research materials; -using research material effectively to support a thesis or argument; and -using research material ethically and responsibly. Including search samples and tables, Finding History is a valuable resource for anyone wanting to ensure their research draws from the best available sources and those needing instruction in locating, obtaining, evaluating, and using scholarly sources efficiently, directly, and ethically.
Publication Date: 2012-09-06
Historical Research: A Guide for Writers of Dissertations, Theses, Articles and Books by Bill McdowellThis is the first practical guide to cover the various stages of a history research project, from the selection of the topic and the organization and interpretation of source material, through to the completion of the written-up record.Whether it is for a dissertation, thesis article or, indeed, full-length book, Historical Research deals with the purpose of research, and the implications, limitations and benefits of different research methods, as well as the effective presentation of the finished result.
Research Methods for History by Simon Gunn (Editor); Lucy Faire (Editor)Historians have become increasingly sensitive to social and cultural theory since the 1980s, yet the actual methods by which research is carried out in History have been largely taken for granted. Research Methods for History encourages those researching the past to think creatively about the wide range of methods currently in use, to understand how these methods are used and what historical insights they can provide. This updated new edition has been expanded to cover not only sources and methods that are well-established in History, such as archival research, but also those that have developed recently, such as the impact of digital history research. The themes of the different chapters have been selected to reflect new trends in the subject, including landscape studies, material culture and ethics. Every chapter presents new insights and perspectives and will open researchers' minds to the expanding possibilities of historical research.