Useful Library of Congress Call Numbers for Philosophy & Religion
B Philosophy (General)
BC Logic
BD Speculative philosophy
BH Aesthetics
BJ Ethics
BL Religions, Mythology, Rationalism
BM Judaism
BP Islam. Bahaism. Theosophy, etc.
BQ Buddhism
BR Christianity
BS The Bible
BT Doctrinal Theology
BV Practical Theology
BX Christian Denominations
For a more detailed break-down of subjects under Philosophy and Religion, click here for the complete listing at the Library of Congress.
The following print reference works are shelved on the main floor of the Wolfgram Library.
Dictionaries
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by Encyclopedias
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by 
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics by eRefererence Books
The following titles are available online, login required for off campus access.
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy by 
An Encyclopaedia of Philosophy by
* Presents a broad survey of philosophical thought * Each chapter explores, and places in context, a major area of philosophical enquiry - including the theory of meaning and of truth, the theory of knowledge, the philosophies of mathematics, science and metaphysics, the philosophy of mind, moral and political philosophy, aesthetics, and religion * Annotated bibliographies for each chapter and indexes of names and subjects * Glossary of commonly-used philosophical terms * Chronological table of the history of philosophy from 1600 `It is a fine achievement and deserves the warmest praise ... Anyone interested in learning what contemporary philosophical debate is about will find this book invaluable ... for a book of this size and quality of content the cover price is modest. Every public library as well as every university, college and school library should have a copy on its shelves.' - Times Higher Education Supplement `A stimulating collection.' - Reference Reviews
The following print reference works are shelved on the main floor of the Wolfgram Library.
Print Dictionaries
A Dictionary of Buddhism by
This new dictionary, written by Dr Damien Keown, covers both historical and contemporary issues in Buddhism, and includes all Buddhist schools and cultures. Over 2,000 broad-ranging entries cover beliefs, doctrines, major teachers and scholars, place names, and artefacts, in a clear andconcise style. The text is illustrated with line drawings of religious structures, iconographic forms and gestures, and ritual objects. Appendices include a chronology and a guide to canonical scriptures as well as a pronunciation guide for difficult names and terms.This dictionary should prove invaluable to anyone seeking information on Buddhism, from students of Theology and Social Sciences, to practising Buddhists.
Dictionary of Christianity by Print Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of African American Religions by
Preceded by three introductory essays and a chronology of major events in black religious history from 1618 to 1991, this A-Z encyclopedia includes three types of entries: * Biographical sketches of 773 African American religious leaders * 341 entries on African American denominations and religious organizations (including white churches with significant black memberships and educational institutions) * Topical articles on important aspects of African American religious life (e.g., African American Christians during the Colonial Era, Music in the African American Church) The biographical sketches range from a paragraph to several pages for such major figures as Martin Luther King. Entries for the larger African American denominations are likewise several pages in length, as are most of the topical articles. A bibliography of 303 major texts on African American religion follows the entries, most of which conclude with a list of references specifically related to their subject. A directory section provides the current addresses and telephone numbers of the national headquarters of the churches and organizations covered in the encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity VOL.1 & 2 by 
Encyclopedia of Religion by
Among Library Journal's selections of the most important reference works of the millennium - with the Encyclopedia Judaica and the New Catholic Encyclopedia - Mircea Eliade's Encyclopedia of Religion won the American Library Associations' Dartmouth Medal in 1988 and is widely regarded as the standard reference work in the field. This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, will include almost all of the 2750 original entries - many heavily updated - as well as approximately 600 (1.2M words) entirely new articles. Preserving the best of Eliade's cross-cultural approach while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition will be the definitive work in the field for the 21st century. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of a classic work to make it relevant to the questions and interests of readers, whether students, specialists, or laypersons. The result is an essential purchase for libraries of all kinds. Every article from the first edition was evaluated by our board of scholars. of study are given their own entries. New composite entries present overarching themes - for example, gender and religion, politics and religion - with each article within the composite covering a different religious tradition. Many of the reprinted articles from the first-edition have updated bibliographies. This is an indispensable resource for any school with a department or programme in religious studies. Additionally, articles support the curriculum and general research in history, gender studies, language and literature, music, the visual arts, history, politics, ecology, health and medicine, law, sociology and anthropology. Three Colour inserts serve as pictorial essays illuminating themes such as pilgrimage, prayer, healing, and how these concepts are displayed in various religions throughout the world. Illustrations go beyond the typical stock imagery and present images of authentic value not readily available elsewhere.
eRefererence Books
The following titles are available online, login required for off campus access.
Islamic Desk Reference by
The growing demand for concise and factual information about the history and culture of Islam has now been met with the Islamic Desk Reference. This handy one-volume work contains a condensation of the subject-matter of The Encyclopaedia of Islam, the most prestigious and valuable reference work for Islamic studies published this century. In a brief, orderly and intelligible form the Islamic Desk Reference provides thus a unique and valuable quick reference tool for those interested in the religion, the believers and the countries of the Islamic world. All entries in the Islamic Desk Reference are given in English. Thus, names of Arabic origin which in the West were corrupted to another spelling, e.g. Ibn Sina to Avicenna, al-Kuhl to alcohol, are found under the latter term. The Islamic Desk Reference contains maps, diagrams and genealogical tables for easy reference, and illustrations.
The Encyclopedia of Caribbean Religions by
The Encyclopedia of Caribbean Religions is the definitive reference for Caribbean religious phenomena from a Caribbean perspective. Generously illustrated, this landmark project combines the breadth of a comparative approach to religion with the depth of understanding of Caribbean spirituality as an ever-changing and varied historical phenomenon. Organized alphabetically, entries examine how Caribbean religious experiences have been shaped by and have responded to the processes of colonialism and the challenges of the postcolonial world. Systematically organized by theme and area, the encyclopedia considers religious traditions such as Vodou, Rastafari, Sunni Islam, Sanatan Dharma, Judaism, and the Roman Catholic and Seventh-day Adventist churches. Detailed subentries present topics such as religious rituals, beliefs, practices, specific historical developments, geographical differences, and gender roles within major traditions. Also included are entries that address the religious dimensions of geographical territories that make up the Caribbean. Representing the culmination of more than a decade of work by the associates of the Caribbean Religions Project, The Encyclopedia of Caribbean Religions will foster a greater understanding of the role of religion in Caribbean life and society, in the Caribbean diaspora, and in wider national and transnational spaces.
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures, Volume 4 by
A unique collaboration of over 900 scholars from around the world, the Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines to create a ground-breaking reference work reflecting the very latest research on gender studies and the Islamic world. No other reference work offers this scale of contributions or depth and breadth of coverage. Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures is set to become an essential reference work for students and researchers in the fields of gender studies, Middle Eastern and Islamic studies, as well as scholars of religion, history, politics, anthropology, geography and related disciplines.This encyclopedia consists of six volumes (including an Index volume), published from 2003 to 2007.To download a preview, click here"
The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life and Thought by
This volume is comprehensive. Its scope is wide and embraces Judaism in all its aspects, Jewish history, Jewish communities in all lands where they live or lived, literature, art, sociology, the biography of all significant personalities, Zionism and Israel. Nothing of significance has been omitted. In spite of the comprehensive nature of the book, its encyclopedic contents are condensed into one handy volume with over 1,700 articles.
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America by
The Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America harvests the fruits of 25 years of scholarship on the history and current state of women's religious experience in North America. The result of a five-year project led by Rosemary Skinner Keller and Rosemary Radford Ruether and funded by the Lilly Endowment and the Henry Luce Foundation, the encyclopedia marshals the talents of more than 150 scholars to produce the most comprehensive and up-to-date description and analysis of women and religion in North America. The encyclopedia is interreligious, interracial, and multicultural and is aimed at a broad general audience. Instead of hundreds of short entries, this encyclopedia features more than 145 longer essays that enable major themes to be developed more fully. The articles focus on institutions, movements, and ideas. The authors weave biographical sketches into their articles to give them a more personal and humanizing quality, and to recognize the women responsible for the gains made over the centuries. The essays demonstrate that neither the story of women nor the story of religion in North America can be accurately told unless the religious experience of women is integrated into the center of women's and religious history. These well-illustrated volumes will be an essential reference for all of those interested in the role of women in North America's vibrant and complex religious life.
Encyclopedia of Global Religion by
The multi-volume Encyclopedia of Global Religion provides a comprehensive overview of the globalization of religious culture and society around the world in both its historical and contemporary aspects. The encyclopedia includes topics related to the diaspora of cultures and dispersions of peoples; the transitional aspects of religious ideas and practices; the cultural diversity of religious traditions; and the responses of religion--both negative and positive--to multicultural society. The volumes include essays on the contemporary religious society of every country in the world. The contributors to the encyclopedia are leading authorities on these topics from around the world. The editors, Mark Juergensmeyer and Wade Clark Roof., are sociologists of religion at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
Contains electronic books across many academic disciplines. Some books may be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Contains electronic books across many academic disciplines. Some books may be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Contains ebooks across many academic disciplines with easy-to-use tools for taking notes and making citations. eBooks may be read online or be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
