A Works Cited list is an alphabetical listing of the sources you used in your research paper or project. Every source you used should be included in this list. You should not include any sources in this list that you did not use. Your Works Cited list will be the final page of your paper or project.
You need to create your Works Cited list before you put in-text citations in your paper. The information in an in-text citation should lead your reader to that source on your Works Cited list.
The sources you include in your Works Cited list are called citations. The basic elements of citations in MLA style are author, title of source, title of container, contributor, version, number, publisher, publication date, and location.
Citations vary because they are written following the MLA style rules for different types of sources. We have created a list of citation formats and examples for the most frequently-used source types (see below). If you do not see your source type in this list, please consult the MLA Handbook or the MLA Style - Citations by Format webpage:
NOTE: Many research databases have tools that will generate MLA citations for you to copy and paste into your Works Cited list. Take advantage of these tools, yet also be aware that there are often errors in the citations generated by the databases, especially with punctuation and capitalization. You will need to check the citations for accuracy before adding them to your Works Cited list.
Last Name, First Name Middle Initial. "Article Title." Journal Title, volume number, issue number, Publication Date,
page number range. Database Name, permanent link or DOI.
Nayar, Primod K. "Teaching and Reading Jamaica Kincaid's 'Girl.'" ETC: A Review of General Semantics, vol. 76, no. 3-4,
July 2019, pp. 285-90. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx.direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=
mzh&AN=202122931325&site=ehost-live&scope=site .
Last Name, First Name, and First Name, Last Name. "Article Title." Journal Title, volume number, issue number,
Publication Date, page number range. Database Name, permanent link or DOI.
Pirnajmuddin, Hossein K., and Bahareh B. Samani. "Don DeLillo's White Noise: A Virilian Perspective." Text Matters,
vol. 9, no. 9, Nov. 2019, pp.356-73. EBSCOhost, https://doi.org/10.18778/2083-2931.09.22.
Last Name, First Name, et al. "Article Title." Journal Title, volume number, issue number, Publication Date,
page number range. Database Name, permanent link or DOI.
Liebman, Elad, et al. "A Phylogenetic Approach to Music Performance Analysis." Journal of New Music Research,
vol. 41, no. 2, June 2012, pp.195-222. EBSCOhost, https://doi.org/10.1080/09298215.2012.668194.
Last Name, First Name. Title of Source. Publisher, Publication Date.
Hurston, Zora Neale. Their Eyes Were Watching God. University of Illinois Press, 1991.
Last Name, First Name, editor. Title of Source. Publisher, Publication Date.
Gray, Donald J., editor. Pride and Prejudice: An Authoritative Text, Backgrounds, Reviews, and Essays in Criticism.
W.W. Norton & Co., 1966.
Last Name, First Name. "Chapter Title." Book Title, edited by First Name, Last Name, Publisher, Publication Date,
page number range for chapter.
Kincaid, Jamaica. "Girl." The Vintage Book of Contemporary American Short Stories, edited by Tobias Wolff, Vintage,
1994, pp. 306-07.
Last Name, First Name, et al. "Chapter Title." Book Title, edited by First Name, Last Name, Publisher, Publication Date,
page number range for chapter.
Kliger, Samuel, et al. "The Eighteenth Century Mode." Pride and Prejudice: An Authoritative Text, Backgrounds, Reviews,
and Essays in Criticism, edited by Donald J. Gray, W.W. Norton & Co., 1966, pp. 352-362.
Last Name, First Name. Title of Source. Publisher, Publication Date. Database Name, permalink or DOI.
Hurston, Zora Neale. Their Eyes Were Watching God. Alien Ebooks, 2023. EBSCOhost,
search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=edsebk&AN=3661710&site=eds-
live&scope=site.
Last Name, First Name. "Article Title." Website. Date Posted, website URL.
Rich, Nathaniel. "How DeLillo Nailed Us in 'White Noise.'" The Daily Beast, 13 April 2017.
https://www.thedailybeast.com/how-delillo-nailed-us-in-white-noise.
"Article Title." Webpage, Organization, Date Posted, website URL.
"Vietnam: a Historical Introduction." Education, Asia Society, 2023, asiasociety.org/education/vietnam.
Last Name, First Name. "Article Title." Newspaper Title, Publication Date, Database Name. permalink.
Example:
Santucci, Jeanine. "Cavalcante Said He Was Planning His Final Getaway: His End Game - Canada or Puerto Rico."
USA Today, Sep. 15 2023, ProQuest. https://www-proquest-com.widener.idm.oclc.org/newspapers/
online-sports-videos-action-is-off-field/docview/1710882489/se-2.
Last Name, First Name. "Article Title." Magazine Title, volume number, issue number, Publication Date, page number
range. Database Name, permalink.
Holger, Dieter, et al. “How ‘Free’ Wi-Fi Hot Spots Can Track Your Location Even When You Aren’t Connected.”
PCWorld, vol. 36, no. 12, Dec. 2018, pp. 96–106. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=
true&db=f5h&AN=133246936&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
NOTE: MLA does not recommend treating the AI tool as an author.
“Describe the symbolism of the green light in the book The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald” prompt. ChatGPT,
13 Feb. version, OpenAI, 8 Mar. 2023, chat.openai.com/chat.
Last Name, First Name [Twitter handle]. "Title of Tweet." X (Twitter), Date Posted, URL.
Tyson, Neil deGrasse [@neiltyson]. “Cassini gave us Saturn, but also gave us Earth — as only deep
space could reveal: Small. Frail. Lonely. Steeped in darkness.” X (Twitter), 14 Sep. 2017,
twitter.com/neiltyson/status/908453304342073345.
Group Name. [Twitter handle]. "Title of Tweet." X (Twitter), Date Posted, URL.
White House [@WhiteHouse]. "More than 30M Americans live in areas where there is no broadband
infrastructure that provides minimally acceptable speeds." X (Twitter), 10 Aug. 2021,
twitter.com/WhiteHouse/status/1425133446335238145?s=20.
"Video Title." YouTube, uploaded by Name of Individual or Organization, Date Posted, URL.
"Unlucky Hedgehog Rescued from a Drain." YouTube, uploaded by Wildlife Aid, 13 Sept. 2016,
www.youtube.com/watch?v=mQp1UsUy2N4.
Name. [TikTok username]. "Title of Video." TikTok, Date Posted, URL.
Lilly [@uvisaa]. “[I]f u like dark academia there’s a good chance you’ve seen my tumblr
#darkacademia.” TikTok, 2020, www.tiktok.com/@uvisaa/video/6815708894900391173.
Last Name, First Name. "Title of Post." Instagram, Date Posted, URL.
Chabon, Michael. “#rip Milton Glaser. I grew up in his work. So hard to pick a favorite.
#mahaliajackson #miltonglaser.” Instagram, 28 June 2020, www.instagram.com/p/CB-
E9gngVwo/.
Last Name, First Name. Photo of [description]. Instagram, Date Posted, URL.
Thomas, Angie. Photo of burned copy of The Hate U Give. Instagram, 4 Dec. 2018,
www.instagram.com/p/Bq_PaXKgqPw/.
Name. [Instagram handle]. Video of [description]. Instagram, Date Posted, URL.
(Include the Instagram handle if it differs from the name of the individual or organization.)
Hamilton Videos [@hamilton.vods]. Video of King George in Hamilton. Instagram, 5 July 2020,
www.instagram.com/p/CCPEUJLDz0l/.
Film Title. Directed by [name of director], Studio name, Date.
The Dark Knight. Directed by Christopher Nolan, Warner Brothers Entertainment, 2008.
Film Title. Director Name, director. Studio Name, Date. Streaming Channel Name app.
Silver Linings Playbook. David O. Russell, director. Weinstein Company, 2012. Netflix app.
Film Title. Directed by [Director's Name]. Studio Name, Date. Database Name, permalink.
Forget Me Not: Inclusion in the Classroom. Directed by Anonymous. Cinema Libre Studio, 2022.
Alexander Street, https://video.alexanderstreet.com/watch/forget-me-not-inclusion-in-the-
classroom.
"Episode Title." Show Title, created by [Name of Show's Creator], season number, episode number, Studio Name,
Broadcast Date.
"The Blessing Way." The X-Files, created by Chris Carter, season 3, episode 1, Fox, 22 Sept. 1995.
Name. "Song Title." Album Title, Record Company, Release Date, Spotify, URL.
Morris, Rae. "Skin." Cold, Atlantic Records, 2014, Spotify, open.spotify.com/track/00PES3Tw5r8606fudK8gxi.
Name. Album Title. Record Company, Release Date.
Lady Gaga. The Fame Monster. Streamline Records, 2009.
Name. "Song Title." Album Title, Record Company, Release Date.
Name of Narrator or Host, narrator or host. "Episode Title." Podcast Title, Release Date, Publisher, URL.
Morris, Wesley, and Jenna Wortham, hosts. "Lil Nas X? Not Sorry!" Still Processing, 15 Apr. 2021. The
New York Times, www.nytimes.com/2021/04/15/podcasts/still-processing-lil-nas-x-justin-
timberlake-apologies.html.
Name of Person Interviewed. Personal Interview. Date.
Smith, Jane. Personal Interview. 19 May 2023.
Name of Person Interviewed. E-mail interview. Conducted by [name], Date of Interview.
Smith, Helen. E-mail interview. Conducted by Rachel Green, 2017 June 16.
Name of Creator. "Image Title." Date of Creation. Database Name, permalink.
Peale, Rembrandt. "Michael Angelo and Emma Clara Peale." Circa 1826. JSTOR,
www.jstor.org/stable/community.18476087.
Name of Creator. Title of Artwork. Date Created. Name of Museum, URL.
Goya, Francisco. The Family of Charles IV. 1800. Museo del Prado, museodelprado.es/en/the-
collection/art-work/the-family-of-carlos-iv/f47898fc-aa1c-48f6-a779-71759e417e74.