 |
Library Barcode Required |
 |
Electronic Book (eBook) |
 |
Print Resource |
 |
DVD Video |
 |
Additional Information |
 |
Open Access Resource |
 |
Website |
 |
Newly Added Resource |
 |
WorldCat Link |
WebPAC | Library Catalog Search
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society by
2009 RUSA Outstanding Reference CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title for 2009 A comprehensive, two-volume encyclopedia covering the major theories, research, people and issues in contemporary gender studies. The work will be distinguished by a cross-nationaloss-cultural perspective providing comparative analyses of life experiences of men and women around the world.
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature by
An accessible one-volume encyclopedia, this addition to the Literary Movements series is a comprehensive reference guide to the history and development of feminist literature, from early fairy tales to works by great women writers of today. Hundreds of informative A-to-Z entries cover a wide range of works and writers from around the world, as well as a range of genres, including novels, short stories, poetry, plays, and criticism. Focusing on the feminist works and writers that most often appear in high school and college curricula, ""Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature"" is the definitive resource for this movement. Its coverage includes writers such as Willa Cather, George Eliot, Helen Keller, Anais Nin, and Gloria Steinem; works such as ""The Bell Jar"", ""The Feminist Mystique"", ""Scenes in the Life of Harriet Tubman"", and ""The Woman Warrior"", characters such as Cinderella, Hester Prynne, and the Wife of Bath; and much more.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History captures the experiences of women throughout world history in a comprehensive, 4-volume work. Although there has been extensive research on women in history by region, no text or reference work has comprehensively covered the role women haveplayed throughout world history. The past thirty years have seen an explosion of research and effort to present the experiences and contributions of women not only in the Western world but across the globe. Historians have investigated womens daily lives in virtually every region and have researched the leadership roles women havefilled across time and region. They have found and demonstrated that there is virtually no historical, social, or demographic change in which women have not been involved and by which their lives have not been affected. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History benefits greatly from theseefforts and experiences, and illuminates how women worldwide have influenced and been influenced by these historical, social, and demographic changes. The Encyclopedia contains over 1,300 signed articles arranged in an A-Z format for ease of use. The entries cover six main areas: biographies; geography and history; comparative culture and society, including adoption, abortion, performing arts; organizations and movements, such as the EgyptianUprising, and the Paris Commune; womens and gender studies; and topics in world history that include slave trade, globalization, and disease. With its rich and insightful entries by leading scholars and experts, this reference work is sure to be a valued, go-to resource for scholars, college andhigh school students, and general readers alike.
The Rights of Women : the authoritative ACLU guide to women's rights by
The Rights of Women is a comprehensive guide that explains in detail the rights of women under present U.S. law, and how these laws can be used in the continuing struggle to achieve full gender equality at home, in the workplace, at school, and in society at large. The Rights of Women explores the concept of equal protection and covers topics including employment, education, housing, and public accommodations. This handbook also examines the specific issues of trafficking, violence against women, welfare reform, and reproductive freedom. Using a straightforward question-and-answer format while translating the law into accessible language, this volume is a tool for individuals, lawyers, and advocates seeking to assert women's rights under the law. Now in its fully revised and updated fourth edition, The Rights of Women is an invaluable guide to finding legal solutions to the most pressing issues facing women today.
Fifty key concepts in gender studies by
`Lively and impressive. I can easily imagine this text being used by both gender and women's studies undergraduates and postgraduates. In particular it will enable students to get a sense of how older and more contemporary theoretical movements and debates relate to one another' - Lisa Adkins, Department of Sociology, University of Manchester Part of a new `Key Concepts' series published by SAGE, Key Concepts in Gender Studies offers 1,500 word expositions of 50 topics central to the field. Jane Pilcher and Imelda Whelehan's introduction gives an account of gender studies - what it is and how it originated. Their selection of topics is authoritative and the 50 entries reflect the complex, multi-faceted nature of the field in an accessible dictionary format. Each of the 50 key concepts: #65533; begins with a concise definition #65533; includes illustrations of how the concept has been applied within the field #65533; offers examples which allow a critical re-evaluation of the concept #65533; is cross-referenced with the other key concepts #65533; makes further reading suggestions. The level of detail offered encourages understanding of gender studies without sacrificing depth detail and critical evaluation essential to convey the complexity of the issues dealt with. As such, the book appeals both to undergraduate and postgraduate students across a range of social science disciplines. 50 Key Concepts in Gender Studies gives testimony to the health of gender studies and related disciplines and looks forward to an ever-shifting dynamic of debates and ideas.
Discovery @ Widener