Dictionary of Travel, Tourism and Hospitality by
This new edition combines within two covers: * A dictionary of 2500 terms * Descriptions of 300 organizations * A biographical dictionary of 100 personalities * Explanations of 1200 acronyms and abbreviations * Key data for well over 200 countries * A concise bibliography listing more than 100 useful sources of further information The author's long and wide experience of these fields makes this an indispensable companion for students and teachers, and those employed in relevant businesses and organizations, as well as for the travellers, tourists and guests who are the raison d'être of it all.
The English of Tourism by
The English of Tourism is a collection of essays on the English specific to the Tourism Industry. The approach is a linguistic one: the different aspects of the English used in the field of tourism (tourism industry, types of tourism, travel agencies, Internet sites of travel agencies, eco-tourism, travel) and in tourism-related fields (accommodation, advertising, entertainment, food services, hospitality, transportation) are analysed from a morphological (combination, derivation), syntactical (nominal phrases, verbal phrases), lexical and lexicographical, semantic (homonymy, semantic fields, synonymy, terminology), pragmatic (academic discourse, idiom, metaphor), etymological (etymon, Latin heritage), and contrastive (Croatian-Romanian, English-Croatian, English-Romanian, French-English, Romanian-English) points of view. This book will appeal to people employed in industries including hotels, transportation, events, food and beverage, parks and recreation, as well as to professors, researchers, students, and translators from Croatian-, English-, French-, and Romanian-speaking countries, active in their own countries or abroad. The types of academic readership it will appeal to include: academic teaching staff, researchers and students in the field of tourism, of tourism-related fields - accommodation, advertising, entertainment, food services, hospitality, and transportation - and of languages.
Travel, Tourism and Hotel Glossary by
Glossary of Travel Glossary of Tourism Glossary of Common Air Travel Terms Glossary of Cruising Terminology Glossary of Hotel Industry
The Traveler's World by
This glossary offers definitions for much of the jargon used in the travel, tourism and hospitality industries. KEY TOPICS: It covers phrases from the industry as well as physical, political and cultural geography. Difficult concepts are illustrated.
Quantitative Methods in Tourism by
Tourism studies often deal with complex mixes of external and local factors and the attitudes, perceptions and actions of tourists themselves. In seeking to understand individual elements of this mix, or the results of interactions between them, tourism authorities, managers and researchers often collect quantitative data, but until now the few existing guides to understanding quantitative data have been either very simple or very complicated. This book provides a guide to dealing with real-world data and goes beyond the methods usually covered in introductory textbooks. The first part considers key issues associated with using well known methods to produce valid and reliable models of real-world phenomena, emphasizing issues in data selection, approaches to factor and cluster analysis, and mathematical modelling using regression methods (including logistic regression) and structural equation modelling. The second part covers new approaches to modelling: maximum likelihood estimation, simulation and agent-based modelling. Each chapter includes extensive references to additional reading, and an appendix summarises the software introduced in the book. The book provides many practical examples of applications to tourism research, considers practical issues associated with application of quantitative techniques, and discusses common pitfalls and how to identify and remedy them. The result is a guide to quantitative methods in tourism that de-mystifies both simple and apparently complex techniques and makes them more accessible to tourism researchers.
Tourists' Perceptions and Assessments by
The volume advances theory on hospitality meanings from both conscious and unconscious processing of stimuli (sights, actions, consequences). It explains how seemingly trivial experiences can have big repercussions in hospitality. Expanding on John Urry's grandmaster thesis, The Tourist Gaze, the volume proposes that assessments occur automatically with perceptions even when perceptions occur unconsciously. As well as a global review of the literature by Woodside and Metin, it includes highly-focused reports on the following topics: user-generated reviews in the hospitality industry; evaluation of the service performances; luxury tourists: celebrities' perspectives; nontrivial behavioral implications of trivial design choices in travel websites; the role of social psychology in the tourism experience model (TEM); destination brand performance measurement over time; perceptions of hotel disintermediation: the French generation Y case; constructing and shaping tourist experiences via travel blog engagement and more. The volume provides "reading assignments" for learning the nuances of perception and assessment processes by tourists.
Tourists' Behaviors and Evaluations by
The authors propose that complexity theory holds great promise in improving understanding of guests' evaluations of their service experiences. Volume 9 provides answers to the following and additional behavior and evaluation issues. How do general and behavior specific attitudes work together in explaining air travelers' carbon offsetting behavior? What can the zone of tolerance and importanceperformance analysis (IPA) techniques tell us about the evaluations of convention delegates' perceptions of products and services? How can a "slow city" motivate domestic tourists to visit the destination? Do effective marketing strategies for performing arts require unique designs to attract incidental spectators as well as behaviourally loyal visitors? When do consumers attach themselves strongly to tourist souvenirs as well as to other cherished possessions such as a trophy won during a contest, a gift received from significant others, or a wedding ring? What are the nitty gritty details in how exhibition areas can provide visitors with opportunities to understand corporate brands? Since values influence activities do they also influence holiday preferences?
Administering Fiscal Regimes for Extractive Industries by
Revenues from natural resources often pose unique challenges for tax administration. This Handbook is one of the first of its kind to focus attention on effectively administering revenues from extractive industries. It provides policymakers and officials in developing and emerging market economies with practical guidelines to establish a robust legal framework, organization, and procedures for administering revenue from these industries. It discusses transparency and how to promote it in the face of increasing demands for clarity and accountability in the administration of public revenues from extractive industries, and discusses how developing countries can strengthen their managerial and technical capacity to administer these revenues.
Tourism Marketing: On Both Sides of the Counter by
"Tourism Marketing: On Both Sides of the Counter is the fourth successful publication by the team that runs the bi-annual Advances in Tourism Marketing Conference, following its foundation by Prof. Metin Kozak.The current volume contains a selection of the best papers presented at the conference in Maribor, Slovenia, in September 2011. As that year's conference title indicates, it comprises research important for tourism management, by focusing on tourist behaviour with relevance to managerial strategies and operational practices, as well as on business operations, vision and goals, and their impact on tourist experiences.Contributions are clearly arranged into five parts covering topical consumption issues: image, satisfaction, and social and environmental research results. The last two sections cover timely and managerially relevant contributions on tourism ITC, innovation and competitiveness research. The contributions reflect the vibrancy of ATMC and the high calibre of researchers the conference attracts. The book offers itself as a reader for researchers and students of tourism as well as a compelling update on topical research issues in tourism marketing."
Contemporary Destination Governance : A Case Study Approach by
"Governance is about managing networks". This quote from political scientist Rod A.W. Rhodes pioneered a whole series of governance studies in different disciplines. Accordingly, destination governance describes the collective management of tourism destinations. Promoting collective action in tourism destinations means dealing with a myriad of different actors and applying various instruments. Probably the most basic requirement is to take into account the peculiarities of every single destination. Therefore, this book approaches the issue of contemporary destination governance from a case study point of view focusing on 16 destinations. In contrast to other publications in the field of destination governance, the book concentrates on the discussion of cases and the peculiarities of destinations which influence the destination governance. It demonstrates how different theories from the fields of organizational studies, strategic management, tourism research and sociology can enlighten our understanding of particular real-world situations. Last but not least the bottom-up approach supports practitioners and students by making otherwise complex theories accessible to a broader audience.
International Cases in Tourism Management by
International Cases in Tourism Management includes: * Profiles of individual companies * Case studies on destination management and marketing * Material on different management functions in tourism, such as marketing and human resource management * Case studies of particular types of tourism, such as ecotourism and cultural tourism The case studies are supplemented by exercises and questions, which ensure that for students and tutors alike the book is the ideal accompaniment to all tourism courses.
Handbook of Tourism Economics: Analysis, New Applications And Case Studies by
Handbook of Tourism Economics: Analysis, New Applications and Case Studies provides an up-to-date, concise and readable coverage of the most important topics in tourism economics. It pays attention to relevant traditional topics in tourism economics as well as exciting emerging topics in this field — topics which are expected to be of continuing importance. In doing this, it takes account of advances in economic thought, analysis and applied methods.Contributions provide applications of economic analysis to tourism policy and constructive assessment of contemporary thought about tourism economics. The handbook includes several in-depth case studies such as the contribution of tourism to economic development in selected countries including China, India, Japan and Australia, Portugal and Fiji. Coming from diverse countries (both industrialised and developing) and established in the field of tourism economics, travel and management, many of the contributors have been consultants to governments, private organisations, and international bodies, including the UN World Tourism Organisation, the OECD and UNEP. Experts contributing to this volume include the President of the International Association of Tourism Economics, as well as its Secretary-General, the Secretary-General of the Tourism Research Centre (Association of Tourism Research Institutes), the Founder-Fellow of the International Academy for the Study of Tourism and the former Director of the UK's Centre for Social and Economic Research on the Global Environment (CSERGE).
Planning for Tourism, Leisure and Sustainability: International Case Studies by
Providing a wide range of case studies in sustainable tourism planning, this authoritative work presents cases at both international and national levels as well as on a regional, sub-regional, urban, local and site scale. Drawing on the author's world-wide experience and with contributions from professionals in the field, this book takes a comparative approach relating to different economic, political and temporal dimensions, examining established initiatives both in the context of the standards of the time and from a modern perspective looking back. With an emphasis on sustainability, this unique collection is an essential resource for tourism planners, researchers and students.
Meeting the Challenges of Climate Change to Tourism : Case Studies of Best Practice by
As UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon has stated, Climate change is the pre-eminent geopolitical and economic issue of the 21st century. It rewrites the global equation for development, peace and prosperity. The scientific evidence is clear - climate change is happening and the exposure to weather-related disasters such as heat waves, forest fires, cyclones, and flooding have the potential to seriously impact the tourism sector. The travel and tourism industry is both a significant contributor to climate change, being responsible for 5% of global greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions, and is directly impacted by it. At the same time, the industry is a vital driver of the global economy with an estimated US$ 6.6 trillion total contribution in 2012, and is particularly significant to developing and emerging economies where the impacts of climate change can be most disruptive. This collection of papers is a timely and indispensable source of insights and models of best practice relating to the mitigation and adaptation to climate change by various sectors of the industry.
Histories of Tourism: Representation, Identity and Conflict by
This collection of essays develops the historical dimension to tourism studies through thematic case studies. The editor's introduction argues for the importance of a closer relationship between history and tourism studies, and an international team of contributors explores the relationships between tourism, representations, environments and identities in settings ranging from the global to the local, from the Roman Empire to the twentieth century, and from Frinton to the 'Far East'.
Natural Area Tourism: Ecology, Impacts and Management by
Natural Area Tourism provides a comprehensive description of tourism in natural areas allowing readers to understand the scope of, complexities arising from, and possibilities of undertaking successful tourism developments in natural areas. Furthermore, the second edition contains an overview of recent developments, such as mountain biking, adventure activities in protected areas and geotourism. There is new content and examples from the Asian region on managing the tourism industry and management effectiveness. The book also considers important new developments in monitoring, such as remote sensing and the use of GIS, as well as the use of electronic educational resources in delivering interpretation. Attention is given to the implications of climate change, inadequate protected area security and the ever-increasing influence of the landscape matrix. Moreover, the second edition includes a comprehensive review of the new literature that has emerged since the publication of the first edition more than a decade ago. Accordingly this book will remain an invaluable resource and account of natural area tourism for many years to come.
Planning for Tourism, Leisure and Sustainability: International Case Studies by
Providing a wide range of case studies in sustainable tourism planning, this authoritative work presents cases at both international and national levels as well as on a regional, sub-regional, urban, local and site scale. Drawing on the author's world-wide experience and with contributions from professionals in the field, this book takes a comparative approach relating to different economic, political and temporal dimensions, examining established initiatives both in the context of the standards of the time and from a modern perspective looking back. With an emphasis on sustainability, this unique collection is an essential resource for tourism planners, researchers and students.
Tourism and the Implications of Climate Change by
This volume provides a valuable platform for knowledge exchange between different disciplines and for learning from both theory and practice in the context of tourism and climate change. The academic and case-study chapters in this volume provide a contextualization of tourism and climate change science, an examination of issues and actions in different countries and with different tourism consumers, and looks at the supply, adaptation and innovation of tourism products. Subjects examined are as diverse as: the European hotel sector; the North American cruise tourism industry; New Zealand youth hostels and campervans; Australia's tourism industry's GHG footprint; climate forecasts in the Baltic States; heat stress conditions in Spain; the Tourism Earth Lung initiative in Sri Lanka; and online discussions in cybercommunities. The different disciplinary perspectives presented in this volume include anthropology, climatology, climate change studies, economics, environmental sustainability, hospitality, policy and planning, psychology, scenario planning, and transport studies and contributions originate from eight developed countries across three continents.
Tourism and Trails: Cultural, Ecological and Management Issues by
Trails and routes have been indispensable to travel and tourism over the centuries, helping to form the basis of mobility patterns of the past and the present. This book is the first to comprehensively examine these tourism trails from a tourism and recreation perspective. This cutting-edge volume is global in scope and discusses a wide range of natural, cultural and developed linear resources for tourism and recreation. The book is suitable for both researchers and students who are interested in cultural heritage-based tourism, recreation and leisure studies, landscape and change, human mobility, geography, environmental management, and broader interests in destination planning, development and management.
Toxic Tourism: Rhetorics of Pollution, Travel, and Environmental Justice by
Winner of the: 2010 Jane Jacobs Urban Communication Book Award, sponsored by National Communication Association 2007 James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address, sponsored by National Communication Association 2007 Best Book of the Year for Critical and Cultural Studies, sponsored by National Communication Association 2007 Christine L. Oravec Research Award, sponsored by Environmental Communications Division of the National Communication Association Tourism is at once both a beloved pastime and a denigrated form of popular culture. Romanticized for its promise of pleasure, tourism is also potentially toxic, enabling the deadly exploitation of the cultures and environments visited. For many decades, the environmental justice movement has offered "toxic tours," non-commercial trips intended to highlight people and locales polluted by poisonous chemicals. Out of these efforts and their popular reception, a new understanding of democratic participation in environmental decision-making has begun to arise. Phaedra C. Pezzullo examines these tours as a tactic of resistance and for their potential in reducing the cultural and physical distance between hosts and visitors. Pezzullo begins by establishing the ambiguous roles tourism and the toxic have played in the U.S. cultural imagination since the mid-20th century in a range of spheres, including Hollywood films, women's magazines, comic books, and scholarly writings. Next, drawing on participant observation, interviews, documentaries, and secondary accounts in popular media, she identifies and examines a range of tourist performances enabled by toxic tours. Extended illustrations of the racial, class, and gender politics involved include Louisiana's "Cancer Alley," California's San Francisco Bay Area, and the Mexican border town of Matamoros. Weaving together social critiques of tourism and community responses to toxic chemicals, this critical, rhetorical, and cultural analysis brings into focus the tragedy of ongoing patterns of toxification and our assumptions about travel, democracy, and pollution.
Meeting the Challenges of Climate Change to Tourism : Case Studies of Best Practice by
As UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon has stated, Climate change is the pre-eminent geopolitical and economic issue of the 21st century. It rewrites the global equation for development, peace and prosperity. The scientific evidence is clear - climate change is happening and the exposure to weather-related disasters such as heat waves, forest fires, cyclones, and flooding have the potential to seriously impact the tourism sector. The travel and tourism industry is both a significant contributor to climate change, being responsible for 5% of global greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions, and is directly impacted by it. At the same time, the industry is a vital driver of the global economy with an estimated US$ 6.6 trillion total contribution in 2012, and is particularly significant to developing and emerging economies where the impacts of climate change can be most disruptive. This collection of papers is a timely and indispensable source of insights and models of best practice relating to the mitigation and adaptation to climate change by various sectors of the industry.
Animals and Tourism: Understanding Diverse Relationships by
This book critically examines the many ways in which tourism and animals intersect, whether as tourist attractions, wildlife conservation tools, as travel companions or as meat to be eaten. It aims to make a meaningful contribution to the growing body of knowledge concerning the relationships between animals, tourists and the tourism industry. The chapters are organised into three themes: ethics and welfare; conflict, contradiction and contestation; and shifting relationships. Theoretically informed and empirically rich, the chapters examine topics such as whale watching, animal performances, the objectification and commodification of animals and stakeholder conflict among a range of others. It is hoped that the book will help to highlight key research questions and stimulate other researchers and students to reflect critically on the place of animals within tourism spaces, experiences, practices and structures.
Codes of Ethics in Tourism : Practice, Theory, Synthesis by
With ethics fast becoming a mainstay in tourism studies and the tourism industry in general, this volume provides a timely and intensive look at the theory and practice of codes of ethics in tourism. While the book includes a broad overview of what has been done to date in tourism studies in the area of code development and implementation, it ranges much more widely to incorporate theoretical work from outside the tourism field. This interdisciplinary approach serves two essential purposes. First, it furnishes the study of tourism codes of ethics with a theoretical foundation, which up to the present has been lacking. Second, it affords tourism scholars the opportunity to investigate codes in tourism from a multiplicity of perspectives, with direct relevance to the industry at many levels.
The Ethics of Sight-Seeing by
Is travel inherently beneficial to human character? Does it automatically educate and enlighten while also promoting tolerance, peace, and understanding? In this challenging book, Dean MacCannell identifies and overcomes common obstacles to ethical sightseeing. Through his unique combination of personal observation and in-depth scholarship, MacCannell ventures into specific tourist destinations and attractions: "picturesque" rural and natural landscapes, "hip" urban scenes, historic locations of tragic events, Disney theme parks, beaches, and travel poster ideals. He shows how strategies intended to attract tourists carry unintended consequences when they migrate to other domains of life and reappear as "staged authenticity." Demonstrating each act of sightseeing as an ethical test, the book shows how tourists can realize the productive potential of their travel desires, penetrate the collective unconscious, and gain character, insight, and connection to the world.
The Moralisation of Tourism: Sun, Sand... And Saving the World? by
Tourism is no longer an innocent pleasure. It has been interpreted and reinterpreted as an activity which is ultimately damaging to receiving cultures and the environment. 'New' forms of tourism, such as ecotourism, alternative tourism, community tourism and ethical tourism, have been presented as morally superior alternatives to the package holiday, yet ironically, even advocates of these new, ethical tourism brands are increasingly subject to criticisms, not dissimilar to those they themselves level against package holidays. Using a host of international examples from the industry, the media and non-governmental organisations, this intriguing book examines what the advocates of 'new tourism' see as being wrong with mass tourism, looks critically at the claims made for the new alternatives and makes a case for guilt-free holidays. The only book on the market to provide a sustained critique of conventional mass tourism's own critics, Butcher offers a counterpoint to the moral rhetoric steadily turning travellers into guilty tourists.
Tourism Ethics by
Tourism Ethics applies moral concepts and issues to some of the most vexing tourism dilemmas of the day, through foundational research from many disciplines including biology, psychology, anthropology, geography and philosophy. Areas of emphasis include sex tourism, all-inclusives, ecotourism, justice, rights, deontology and teleology.
Collaboration in Tourism Businesses and Destinations by
Tourism, travel and leisure (TTL) are highly diverse and fragmented industries. Alliances and partnerships can be used as a framework providing small and medium-sized tourism enterprises (which do not possess adequate resources or organizational capabilities) with opportunities to operate in a competitive business environment. This book will: (i) present the theoretical and analytical frameworks underlying business co-operation and alliances; (ii) analyse the main issues and aspects related to business partnerships; (iii) investigate the contribution of these alliances in the field of management and marketing of TTL businesses; (iv) examine and highlight the factors associated with their success and/or influencing the successful operations of such alliances at business and destination levels; (v) explore their adoption, application and management in various contexts of TTL businesses; and (vi) present and discuss case studies illustrating the various issues and aspects. The volume will conclude by providing management and marketing implications and recommendations for tourism business, destination managers and local planners to enable them to successfully operate such alliances.
Crisis and Disaster Management for Tourism by
Tourism destinations and businesses are becoming increasingly prone to the impacts of crises and disasters due to global environmental change and security risks. This is the first research based book that provides a strategic approach to understanding the nature of tourism crises and disasters before outlining tourism crisis and disaster planning, response, and longer term recovery and knowledge management strategies. It applies a wide range of theoretical perspectives and concepts to improve our understanding of both organisational crises and natural disasters. The book draws on examples from around the world including the USA, Europe, UK, Asia-Pacific and the Middle East. It will be essential reading for tourism academics and students as well as tourism managers and government officials involved in tourism destination management and marketing.
Hospitality and Tourism Management by
Tourism is an activity that can have a truly major impact on sustainable development. In this book, similarities and differences between international tourists from China, France and the USA are investigated. Moreover, the significant role that culture holds in affecting travellers' buying behaviour has led growing number of researchers to study differences, particularly between Western and Asian countries. This book undertakes a critical review of these and relevant issues affecting the reliability and validity of cross-cultural research (CCR). In addition, small countries' exceptional natural beauty and unique cultural resources often look towards tourism development as an economic growth strategy. However, communities often disagree on the nature of development strategies. The authors of this book propose a standard methodology on sustainable tourism for application in tourism destinations and enterprises in all the business cycle of tourism activity. Furthermore, due to the affect of globalisation and the rapid changes that occur in global higher education during the past decade, the concept of internationalisation in higher education institutions has been widely discussed. This book reviews various aspects of internationalisation and discusses its applications/implications in relation to the hospitality higher education. Other chapters provide an exploratory analysis of gender differences in perceptions of managerial work, investigate destination benchmarking in the context of measuring customer satisfaction as an output of performance improvement, and provides a theoretical framework that investigates the fundamentals of discounting and empirically assesses the efficacy of the discounting process in the lodging industry.
International Cases in Tourism Management by
International Cases in Tourism Management includes: * Profiles of individual companies * Case studies on destination management and marketing * Material on different management functions in tourism, such as marketing and human resource management * Case studies of particular types of tourism, such as ecotourism and cultural tourism The case studies are supplemented by exercises and questions, which ensure that for students and tutors alike the book is the ideal accompaniment to all tourism courses.
Advances in Culture, Tourism and Hospitality Research by
"Advances in Culture, Tourism, and Hospitality Research" ("ACTHR") broadly seeks to increase understanding and description of human behavior, conscious and unconscious meaning, and implicit/explicit decision processes applied to living and making major and everyday choices from where to live, how culture affects thinking and actions; marriage, children; work choices and behavior; leisure pursuits; holiday destination; travel behavior; making tradeoffs among work, play, sleeping, and necessity behaviors; deciding, using, and evaluating short and long term accommodations; and, decisions and behaviors regarding assisted living and death. The objective of "ACTHR" is to promote synergies among culture, work, leisure, tourism, and hospitality scholars. The series focuses on examining individuals and households lived experiences and their cultural and personal antecedents and consequences. Most papers appearing in "ACTHR" will offer advances both in theory and empirical evidence; empirical reports include interpretive, positivistic, or mixed research designs. Arch Woodside is very well known and highly respected figure in tourism in marketing, tourism & leisure. This volume offers a unique and interdisciplinary view on lifestyle. Each volume of the series consists of original articles.
Rural Tourism by
Rural regions are experiencing fundamental challenges to their ways of life and social fabric, as traditional land-based occupations are in decline and younger and better-educated rural residents migrate to cities for greater work, social and cultural opportunities. Rural tourism offers a possible solution to the problems associated with lost economic opportunities and population decline that accompany the waning of agriculture. Many governments and regional authorities have embraced rural tourism as an opportunity to bring new money into rural regions, stimulating growth, providing employment opportunities and thus beginning to halt rural decline. However, the possibilities of rural tourism to promote rural regeneration have been criticised for being over-stated and unrealistic. Rural tourism has frequently been found to under-deliver in terms of expected economic benefits and job creation, and may sometimes exacerbate local hierarchies and inequalities. This edited collection questions the contribution tourism can and does make to rural regions. Drawing on a range of geographically diverse, research-driven case studies, the book is thematically organised to explore a variety of issues relevant to rural tourism, from the perspectives of local communities, businesses, government/policy makers and the tourists themselves.
Tourism Social Media: Transformations in Identity, Community and Culture by
This volume addresses the transformative power of tourism social media and offers novel theoretical and methodological approaches to its academic investigation. Acknowledging the collective value creation mechanisms of new media, the authors explore how technology nurtures, augments and modifies social or commercial interactions in tourism. The book emphasizes the role of fantasy and imagination in fluid tourism experiences and critically scrutinizes contested concepts pertaining to human interaction in cyberspace, such as equality, anonymity, transparency, democratization, and publicity culture. The chapters summon insights from Media Studies, Actor-Network Theory, Communicative Action and Symbolic Convergence among others, and offer a palette of emerging methods suitable for academic enquiries of virtual worlds. The theoretical grounding, empirical evidences, and interdisciplinary analysis of the anthology expand the actual research agenda and shed light on conceptual tensions and ambiguities in the present literature. As such, Tourism Social Media: Transformations in Identity, Community and Culture contributes to increasing research reflexivity in tourism studies at large.
Tourist Behaviour and the Contemporary World by
This volume seeks to review and stimulate interest in a number of emerging and fresh topics in contemporary tourist behaviour and experience. Topics explored include the effects of newer technologies on tourists’ behaviour and experience, tourists’ experience of scams, safety and personal responsibility, individual perspectives on sustainability, and some dimensions of tourists’ personal growth, relationships and altruism. The topics are bound together by an integrative approach to conceptualising experience which is seen as an ensemble of orchestrated sensory inputs; affective reactions; cognitive mechanisms used to think about and understand the setting; actions undertaken and the relevant relationships which define the participants’ world. A special emphasis is placed on tourists’ stories as a pathway to access the nature of tourists’ experience. Potential research directions in the field are indicated throughout.
Tourism and the Less Developed World: Issues and Case Studies by
This multi-author book covers tourism and development issues from less developed societies and countries from around the world, with chapters on specific regions and specific themes that emerge from the interaction of tourism with such societies.
International Cultural Tourism by
International Cultural Tourism: management, implications and cases provides a comprehensive exploration of the management, operations and marketing of cultural tourism attractions and resources in a global context. Topics explored include: * For the first time, an evaluation of the use and transformational impact of global media and new ICT in the management and marketing of cultural tourism attractions and resources. * The changing nature of the global cultural tourism marketplace (including demand, supply, product development and political changes). * Consumer behaviour, profiles and motivations of cultural tourists. * Environmental performance, management and wider issues of social and cultural sustainability. Written by a team of contributors from Australia, Hong Kong, UK, US, Canada, Mexico, Portugal, South Africa and Finland, this text provides a thoroughly global insight into the issues and techniques involved in the successful management and marketing of cultural attractions. * An overview of the way in which cultural tourism resources and attractions are managed and marketed in a global context. * Analysis of the demand, profiles and motivation of tourists * An investigation of the transformational and dynamic impacts of new technologies on cultural resources and products * International contributor team provide case studies from first-hand experience and research
Contains electronic books across many academic disciplines. Some books may be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Contains ebooks across many academic disciplines with easy-to-use tools for taking notes and making citations. eBooks may be read online or be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Contains electronic books across many academic disciplines. Some books may be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
Online Tutorial Available Here