The print sources can be found on the third floor of the Wolfgram Memorial Library. Ask a reference librarian if you need help locating an item.
Grant Money Through Collaborative Partnerships by
"Because libraries are information and research centers, they can support a huge variety of grant funding initiatives outside their own purview. Cultural centers, businesses, and educational institutions are untapped resources for library funds. What's more, many libraries may find that collaborating on a grant application with another organization is preferable to going forward with a time-consuming application on their own. But finding the right collaborative partner and securing a place at its development table can be challenging. Drawing on her extensive experience as a grant developer and library director, Maxwell ◗◗ Presents an overview of grant basics, with extensive lists of both online and print resources ◗◗ Suggests how to frame libraries' research capabilities as benefits to the community at large, transforming these capabilities into a revenue source ◗◗ Explores strategies for locating potential partners, with tips on approaching collaborators and establishing successful relationships ◗◗ Describes what libraries can ask for from the grant developer, making sure to include what they want in the grant proposal"
Proposals That Work by
Previous editions of this book have helped well over 100,000 students and professionals write effective proposals for dissertations and grants. Covering all aspects of the proposal process, from the most basic questions about form and style to the task of seeking funding, Proposals That Work offers clear advice backed up with excellent examples. In#65533;the fifth edition, the authors have#65533;included a discussion of the effects of new technologies and the Internet on the proposal process, with URLs listed where appropriate. In addition, there are new sections covering alternative forms of proposals and dissertations and the role of academic rigor in research. As always, the authors have included a number of specimen proposals, two that are completely new to this edition, to help shed light on the important issues surrounding the writing of proposals. Clear, straightforward, and reader friendly, Proposals That Work is a must own for anyone considering writing a proposal for a thesis, a dissertation, or a grant.
Proposal Writing by
This is an excellent resource for anyone who needs to write grant proposals that compete effectively for funds. The book focuses on the mechanics of developing and writing grant applications with coverage of brainstorming, writing the proposal, testing the funding environment, developing a good problem statement, selecting realistic and measurable objectives, and programme implementation and evaluation. There are solid, practical guidelines and well documented examples including a mini-proposal with critiques of each section.
The Art of Winning Foundation Grants by 
Effective Planning Strategies and Proposal Writing by 
A Government Guide to Grants by
This book provides an overview of the six grant types, provides criteria for defining a block grant and uses that criteria to provide a list of current block grants, examines competing perspectives concerning the use of block grants versus other grant mechanisms to achieve national goals, provides a brief historical overview of the role of block grants in American federalism, and examines recent changes to existing block grants and proposals to create new ones. The authors also describe key sources of information on government and private funding, and outlines eligibility for federal grants. Moreover, how to develop and write a grant proposal is also discussed in this book. In preparation for writing a proposal, the report first examines preliminary information gathering and preparation, developing ideas for the proposal, gathering community support, identifying funding resources, and seeking preliminary review of the proposal and support of relevant administrative officials. The second section covers the actual writing of the proposal, from outlining the project goals, to finally developing the proposal budget. This book consists of public documents which have been located, gathered, combined, reformatted, and enhanced with a subject index, selectively edited and bound to provide easy access.
Proposal Writing for Clinical Nursing and Dnp Projects, Second Edition by 
Successful Grant Writing: Strategies for Health and Human Service Professionals by
This fully updated and revised edition of a classic guide to grant writing for health and human service professionals reflects the two major changes in the field: new NIH application processes and an increased emphasis on interprofessional and team approaches to science. New case examples reflect grant writing strategies for a great variety of health and human service professions, and the text includes an enhanced focus on online methods for organizing grant submissions. A new section on special considerations for submitting grants addresses specific types of research including mixed methods, behavioral intervention research, secondary analyses, translational research, and comparative effectiveness studies. The new chapter on common writing challenges and solutions provides examples of strong and weak statements and highlights the importance of writing with precision. Additionally, this new edition provides an expanded section on post-award requirements and links to NIH videos about grant writing. Written for individuals in both academic and practice settings, the guide addresses, step-by-step, the fundamental principles for effectively securing funding. It is the only book to provide grant-writing information that encompasses many disciplines and to focus on building a research career with grant writing as a step-wise process. It provides detailed, time-tested strategies for building an investigative team, highlights the challenges of collaboration, and describes how to determine the expertise needed for a team and the roles of co-investigators. The book addresses the needs of both novice and more experienced researchers. New to the Fourth Edition: .: Reflects recent changes to the field including an emphasis on interprofessional approaches to science and new NIH application processes; Offers additional case examples relevant to social work, nursing, psychology, rehabilitation, and occupational, physical, and speech therapies; Provides links to NIH websites containing videos on grant writing; Includes chapter opener objectives; Expands section on post-award requirements; Focuses on electronic mechanisms for organizing grant submissions including software such as RefWorks and google alerts; Enlarges appendices to include charts, graphics, grant application samples and Aims page samples full of errors with answers provide
Writing Successful Grant Proposals by
The Teaching Writing series publishes user-friendly writing guides penned by authors with publishing records in their subject matter. Most grants books--often hundreds of pages long--make grant writing seem too intimidating, but Gorsevski gets to the heart of the process. In simple steps, Writing Successful Grant Proposals highlights key things savvy proposal writers do to attract and secure prospective funders. With clear, concise instructions, this book demystifies grant proposal writing, from the initial development phase, to the writing and submissions phase, to the grant award phase, to the final delivery of project results phase. This small but mighty guide shares with readers effective strategies for adapting proposals to meet diversity, digital, and other evolving 21st Century constraints of grant review, offering pointers for staying on-task, getting the proposed project done on time and under budget, plus many other insider tips for smoothly navigating through the grants process. This handy guidebook is designed to help academics, non-profits, 'creatives,' and entrepreneurs to write successful grant proposals. "This little book gets quickly to the important points. Even better, Dr. Gorsevski has been around the grant-writing block a few times herself. She's giving honest answers and pragmatic advice. This is all the stuff you really need to know!" - Dale Cyphert, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Management, College of Business Administration, University of Northern Iowa "Finally! A savvy book on grants that speaks to large social concerns of peace, environment, justice and multiple audiences. Gorsevski's book is a much needed resource for agency, academic and volunteer leaders alike regarding the do's and don'ts of dealing with diverse donors and RFPs." - George A. Lopez, Hesburgh Professor of Peace Studies Emeritus, University of Notre Dame, and former Vice-President of the US Institute of Peace Ellen W. Gorsevski, Ph.D., shares her experience in writing successful grant proposals in private sector think tanks and contracting firms and in public sector teaching and research. She is author of books on persuasive communication, including Peaceful Persuasion: The Geopolitics of Nonviolent Rhetoric (SUNY Press, 2004) and Dangerous Women: The Rhetoric of the Women Nobel Peace Laureates (Troubador Publishing, Ltd, 2014).
Writing Winning Proposals for Nurses and Other Health Care Professionals by
FACILITATES WRITING SUCCESSFUL PROPOSALS OF SUBSTANCE, CLARITY, AND CONVICTION With an in-depth focus on writing with substance, clarity, and conviction, this comprehensive resource takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing and submitting a successful proposal. Written by preeminent authors and educators with extensive experience in teaching proposal and grant writing to nurses and other health care professionals, the book discusses how to create proposals for dissertations, capstone projects, research funding, fellowships, and career development awards, as well as for educational training, translational research, evidence-based practice, and demonstration projects. Using a clear, commonsense approach, it delineates the foundations and underlying structure of a well-written proposal and then focuses on the specific elements required for each different type of proposal. The book provides readers with the tools to help them think through what they want to do and describe it clearly and succinctly√>=avoiding unnecessary information that does not support the intent of their proposal. It discusses selecting a problem, developing an argument, and describing the aims of the project; showing the significance of the problem and describing the conceptualization and innovative aspects of the work; detailing the approach or research design and methods; composing the title and abstract; describing budgetary considerations; and preparing ancillary materials. The book also includes worksheets to help readers personalize the information for their particular project. Instructions on how to synthesize the relevant literature for a study is presented in helpful case examples. The book also addresses the processes of writing and submitting a grant, its review, and possible resubmission. It will be highly useful as a text in master's-level, DNP, and PhD research courses; doctoral seminars, for instructors who advise students on proposal development; and for practitioners who are interested in developing evidence-based practice. KEY FEATURES: Provides abundant tools for writing proposals of substance, clarity, and conviction Takes readers step by step through the process of writing a great variety of proposals Facilitates clear thinking and to-the-point writing Includes worksheets to help readers personalize information for their particular project Provides formats required for all federal grant proposals About the Authors: Sandra G. Funk, PhD, FAAN, is a professor emerita of the School of Nursing at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She has taught research methods, statistics, and grant writing to master's and doctoral students, postdoctoral fellows, visiting scholars, and faculty, and co-teaches with Elizabeth M. Tornquist a program on grant writing. As associate dean for Research and director of the Research Support Center for many years, Dr. Funk led the school's research mission and mentored faculty on design, measurement, proposal development, and research management. She also consults with other universities in these areas. She has served as principal investigator or co-investigator on over $6 million in research funding and served as a reviewer for the National Institutes of Health and other federal agencies for over a decade. Her research interests, grants, and publications, which number over 100, focus on various aspects of applied measurement and research utilization and facilitation. Elizabeth M. Tornquist, MA, FAAN, has been a faculty member of the Schools of Nursing and Public Health at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and is currently a visiting lecturer at the College of Nursing, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. She has taught scientific writing for nearly 40 years and has conducted numerous workshops for university faculty, health