Chicago Manual of Style (COMS) Guide - 18th Edition

Chicago-style source citations come in two varieties:

1.  Notes and Bibliography: - Sources are cited in numbered footnotes or endnotes. Each note corresponds to a raised (superscript) number in the text. Sources are also usually listed in a separate bibliography. The examples below include Full Notes, Shortened Notes and Bibliography Entries.
    
2. Author-Date: - Sources are briefly cited in the text, in parentheses, by author’s last name and year of publication. Each in-text citation matches up with an entry in a reference list, where full bibliographic information is provided. The examples below include Reference List Entries and In-text Citations.

 

Print Book Citation Format

New for 18th Edition:

A place of publication is not longer needed in book citations:

 Notes and Bibliography:

Full Note: 

     2. Richard S. Hopkins, Planning the Greenspaces of Nineteenth-Century Paris (Louisiana State University Press, 2015), 55-56.

Shortened Note: 

     2. Hopkins, Planning the Greenspaces, 55-56.

Bibliography: 

Hopkins, Richard S. Planning the Greenspaces of Nineteenth-Century Paris. Louisiana State University Press, 2015.

Author-Date :

Reference List Entry:

Hopkins, Richard S. 2015. Planning the Greenspaces of Nineteenth-Century Paris. Louisiana State University Press.

In-text Citation:

(Hopkins 2015, 25)

eBook Citation Format

 

* Use a URL or DOI if available. If not available. list the name of the database.

 Notes and Bibliography:

Full Note: 

     3. Beverly Guy-Sheftall, Words of Fire: An Anthology of African-American Feminist Thought (The New Press, 1995), 145,ProQuest Ebook Central.

Shortened Note: 

     3. Guy-Sheftall, Words of Fire, 145-146.

Bibliography: 

Guy-Sheftall, Beverly. Words of Fire: An Anthology of African-American Feminist Thought. The New Press, 1995. ProQuest

     Ebook Central.

Author-Date:

Reference List Entry:

Guy-Sheftall, Beverly. 1995. Words of Fire: An Anthology of African-American Feminist Thought. The New Press. ProQuest

     Ebook Central.

 In-text Citation: 

(Guy-Sheftall 1995, 145)

Chapter in an Edited Book Citation Format

New for 18th Edition: 

The page range for a chapter in a book is no longer required in bibliography or reference list entries In a note or in-text citation, cite specific pages as applicable.

 Notes and Bibliography:

Full Note:

     5. Jordan Smith, "‘For How Could We Do Without Sugar and Rum?’: Anti-Consumption, Commodity Substitution, and the Global Expansion of Plantation Production, in Global Commerce and Economic Conscience in Europe, 1700-1900: Distance and Entanglement, ed. Felix Brahm and Eve Rosenhaft (Oxford University Press, 2022), 160.

Shortened Note:

     5. Smith, "Sugar and Rum," 160.

Bibliography Entry:

Smith, Jordan. "‘For How Could We Do Without Sugar and Rum?’: Anti-Consumption, Commodity Substitution, and the

     Global Expansion of Plantation Production." In Global Commerce and Economic Conscience in Europe, 1700-1900:

     Distance and Entanglement, edited by Felix Brahm and Eve Rosenhaft. Oxford University Press, 2022.

Author-Date:

Reference List Entry:

Smith, Jordan, 2022. "‘For How Could We Do Without Sugar and Rum?’: Anti-Consumption, Commodity Substitution, and the

     Global Expansion of Plantation Production." In Global Commerce and Economic Conscience in Europe, 1700-1900:

     Distance and Entanglement, edited by Felix Brahm and Eve Rosenhaft Oxford University Press.

In-Text Citation: 

(Smith, 2022, 160)

Electronic Journal Article Citation Format

New for 18th Edition: 

Omit the month or season when citing journal articles

* In a note and In-Text citation, cite specific page numbers. In the bibliography and Reference List, include the page range for the whole article. 

 Notes and Bibliography:

Full Note: 

     1. Erika Huckstein, “The Politics of Peace and Reproduction in the Anti-Fascist Campaigns of British Women's Organisations,” Contemporary European History 33, no. 1 (2024): 54. https://doi.org/10.1017/S0960777322000157.

Shortened Note: 

     1. Huckstein, "Politics of Peace," 54.

Bibliography Entry:

Huckstein, Erika. “The Politics of Peace and Reproduction in the Anti-Fascist Campaigns of British Women's

     Organisations.” Contemporary European History 33, no. 1 (2024): 53-69. https://doi.org/10.1017/S0960777322000157.

Author-Date:

Reference List Entry: 

Huckstein, Erika. 2024. “The Politics of Peace and Reproduction in the Anti-Fascist Campaigns of British Women's

     Organisations.” Contemporary European History 33, (1): 53-69. https://doi.org/10.1017/S0960777322000157

In-text Citation: 

(Huckstein 2024, 54)

 Notes and Bibliography:

Full Note: 

     6. Yufeng Mao, "A Muslim Vision for the Chinese Nation: Chinese Pilgrimage Missions to Mecca during WWII," The Journal of Asian Studies 70, no. 2 (2011): 388, JSTOR.

Shortened Note: 

     6. Mao, "Muslim Vision," 388.

Bibliography Entry: 

Mao, Yufeng. "A Muslim Vision for the Chinese Nation: Chinese Pilgrimage Missions to Mecca during WWII," The Journal of

     Asian Studies 70, no. 2 (2011): 373-395., JSTOR.

Author-Date:

Reference List Entry:

Mao, Yufeng. 2011. "A Muslim Vision for the Chinese Nation: Chinese Pilgrimage Missions to Mecca during WWII," The

     Journal of Asian Studies 70, no. 2 (2011): 373-395., JSTOR.

In-Text Citation:

(Mao, 2011, 388)

Book Review Citation Format

 Notes and Bibliography:

Full Note:

     5. Rachel A. Batch, Review of Anthracite Labor Wars Tenancy, Italians, and Organized Crime in the Northern Coalfield of Northeastern Pennsylvania, 1897–1959, by Robert P. Wolensky and William A. Hastie, Sr. Pennsylvania History: A Journal of Mid-Atlantic Studies 81, no. 4 (2014): 540–545. https://muse.jhu.edu/article/561185

Shortened Note:

     5. Batch, "Anthracite Labor Wars," 542.

Bibliography Entry: 

Batch, Rachel A. "Review of Anthracite Labor Wars Tenancy, Italians, and Organized Crime in the Northern Coalfield of Northeastern

     Pennsylvania, 1897–1959," by Robert P. Wolensky and William A. Hastie, Sr. Pennsylvania History: A Journal of Mid-Atlantic Studies 81, no. 4

     (2014): 540–545. https://muse.jhu.edu/article/561185

Author-Date:

Reference List Entry:

Batch, Rachel A. 2014. Review of Anthracite Labor Wars Tenancy, Italians, and Organized Crime in the Northern Coalfield of Northeastern

     Pennsylvania, 1897–1959, by Robert P. Wolensky and William A. Hastie, Sr. Pennsylvania History: A Journal of Mid-Atlantic Studies 81, no. 4

     (2014): 540–545. https://muse.jhu.edu/article/561185

In-Text Citation:

(Batch 2014, 542)

Web Page Citation Format

* Describe content from web pages and websites in a note or in the text, instead of in a bibliography or reference list.  Ex: (“As of November 15, 2023, Google’s privacy policy stated . . .”). If a more formal citation is needed, follow the examples below.

 Notes and Bibliography:

Full Note:

     2. “Wikipedia: Manual of Style,” Wikimedia Foundation, last modified December 19, 2023, 10:15 (EST), https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Manual_of_Style.

Shortened Note:

     5. “Wikipedia: Manual of Style.”

Bibliography Entry:

Wikimedia Foundation. “Wikipedia: Manual of Style.” Last modified December 19, 2023, at 10:15 (EST).

     https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Manual_of_Style.

Author-Date:

Reference List Entry:

Wikimedia Foundation. 2023. “Wikipedia: Manual of Style.” Last modified December 19, at 10:15 EST).

     https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Manual_of_Style.

In-Text Citation:

(Wikimedia Foundation 2023)

 Notes and Bibliography:

* If a source does not list a date of publication or revision, use n.d. (for “no date”) in place of the year and include an access date.

Full Note:

     3. “About Yale: Yale Facts,” Yale University, accessed March 8, 2022, https://www.yale.edu/about-yale/yale-facts.

Shortened Note:

     3. “Yale Facts.”

Bibliography Entry:

Yale University. “About Yale: Yale Facts.” Accessed March 8, 2022. https://www.yale.edu/about-yale/yale-facts.

Author-Date:

* When there is no date of publication or revision for a website or web page. Use an access date and include  n.d. as the date of publication in the reference list entry and for the in-text citation. 

Reference List Entry:

Yale University. n.d. “About Yale: Yale Facts.” Accessed March 8, 2022. https://www.yale.edu/about-yale/yale-facts.

In-Text Citation:

(Yale University, n.d.)

YouTube Video Citation Format

 Notes and Bibliography:

Full Note:

     2. Eric Oliver, “Why So Many Americans Believe in So Many ‘Crazy’ Things,” moderated by Andrew McCall, virtual lecture, February 23, 2022, posted March 21, 2022, by University of Chicago, YouTube, 1:01:45, https://youtu.be/hfq7AnCF5bg.

Shortened Note:

     2. Oliver, “Why.”

Bibliography Entry:

Oliver, Eric. “Why So Many Americans Believe in So Many ‘Crazy’ Things.” Moderated by Andrew McCall. Virtual lecture,

     February 23, 2022. Posted March 21, 2022, by University of Chicago. YouTube, 1:01:45. https://youtu.be/hfq7AnCF5bg.

Author-Date:

Reference List Entry:

Oliver, Eric. 2022. “Why So Many Americans Believe in So Many ‘Crazy’ Things.” Moderated by Andrew McCall. Virtual

     lecture, February 23. Posted March 21, 2022, by University of Chicago. YouTube, 1:01:45. https://youtu.be/hfq7AnCF5bg.

In-Text Citation:

(Oliver 2022)

Social Media Citation Format

* Citations for content from social media usually only appear in a note or in the text. In place of a title, quote up to the first 280 characters of the post. 

 Notes and Bibliography:

Full Note:

     4. Chicago Manual of Style (@ChicagoManual), “Is the world ready for singular they? We thought so back in 1993,” Facebook, April 17, 2015, https://www.facebook.com/ChicagoManual/posts/10152906193679151.

Shortened Note:

     4. Michele Truty, April 17, 2015, 1:09 p.m., comment on Chicago Manual of Style, “singular they.”

Author-Date:

In-Text Citation:

The Instagram post included a photo of the president delivering a eulogy at the National Cathedral and referred to O’Connor as “gracious and principled” (@potus, December 19, 2023).

* If you are including multiple text references to the same post, you may want to include a formal bibliography or refence list entry. (See examples below):

 Notes and Bibliography:

Bibliography Entry:

Chicago Manual of Style (@ChicagoManual), “Is the world ready for singular they? We thought so back in 1993.” Facebook,

     April 17, 2015. https://www.facebook.com/ChicagoManual/posts/10152906193679151.

Author-Date:

Chicago Manual of Style (@ChicagoManual). 2015. “Is the world ready for singular they? We thought so back in 1993.”

     Facebook, April 17. https://www.facebook.com/ChicagoManual/posts/10152906193679151.

In-Text Citation:

(Chicago Manual of Style 2015)