Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Children's Literature

This guide introduces user to the children's literature collection in the Wolfgram Memorial Library

Diverse Children's Books in the Wolfgram Library

The Wolfram Library has made a concerted effort to create a diverse collection of children's literature. Below are some, but not all, of the diverse children's books in our collection. 

Infographic about Diversty in Childrens Books 2018

Diverse Book Finder

Diverse Book Finder is an online resource that identifies how Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) are represented in trade picture books published in the United States since 2002.

The Diverse BookFinder is made up of two distinct resources:

1. An online, searchable collection that allows users to identify picture books featuring BIPOC characters not just by who is represented but how these characters are represented using a unique set of categories developed by the Diverse BookFinder team. These categories include: Any Child, Beautiful Life, Biography, Cross Group, Folklore, Incidental, Informational, Oppression & Resilience, and Race/Culture Concepts.

2. A Collection Analysis Tool (CAT) which is a free online resource that allows users to upload a list of ISBNs from books in their own collections that is then compared to the books in the Diverse BookFinder collection and creates a detailed report of what is in your collection in terms of the representation of who and how.