Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

*How To Find Resources

This LibGuide contains step by step instructions for the most common actions researchers seek help with.

What is Citation Searching?

Citation searching allows you to find other articles that have cited a specific article you have decided is useful for your research. Citation searching allows you to search forward (in time) in the published literature and locate newer research published in the field or about a particular topic.

Citation Searching in the Library's Databases

  1. Conduct your Search
  2. Click on the article title from the results list to view article details
  3. Click on the Cited by tab

example of the article detail page, highlighting the cited by tab

  1. Conduct your Search
  2. Click on the article title from the results list to view article details
  3. Click on Citing Articles

example of the article detail page, highlighting the citing articles link

  1. Conduct your Search
  2. Click on the article title from the results list to view article details
  3. Click on the Citing Literature link from the article navigation section

example of the article detail page, highlighting the citing literature link

  1. Conduct your Search
  2. Click on the Cited by in Scopus link under the bibliographic information in the results list.

compendex results list, highlighting the cited by in scopus link

  1. Conduct your Search
  2. Click on the Cited References  or Times Cited in This Database link under the bibliographic information on the results list.

NOTE: Cited References are not available for every article.


example of the results list, highlighting the cited references link

  1. Conduct your Search
  2. Click on the Cited by link under the articles bibliographic information

  1. Conduct your Search
  2. Click on the article title from the results list to view article details
  3. Click on the Citations tab

  1. Conduct your Search
  2. Click on the Cited by link under the bibliographic information in the results list
  3. If you do not see Cited by link, you can locate other articles by clicking on Reference,  then looking for Cited by links for related articles.

NOTE: Cited references are not available for every article.


search results list, highlighting the links for cited by and references

  1. Conduct your Search
  2. Click on the article title from the results list to view article details
  3. Click on the Cited by link.

Conduct your search, then from the results list:

  1. Select an article and click on the Abstract link
  2. From the abstract page, click the Related Articles link
    *Note: Selecting Article Metrics from the abstract page, allows you to see citation information for this article from other citation providers, where available.

shows the sage database citation search process as described above.

  1. Conduct your Search
  2. Click on the article title from the results list to view article details
  3. Click on Citing Articles

science direct article page, highlighting the citing articles section

  1. Conduct your Search
  2. Click on the article title from the results list to view article details
  3. Click on the Citing Literature link from the article navigation section

Search the FAQ