 |
Library Barcode Required |
 |
Electronic Book (eBook) |
 |
Print Resource |
 |
DVD Video |
 |
Additional Information |
 |
Open Access Resource |
 |
Website |
 |
Newly Added Resource |
 |
WorldCat Link |
Discovery @ Widener
The print reference (REF) sources can be found on the main level of the Wolfgram Memorial Library in the Reference Area, all non-reference books can be found on the third floor. Ask a reference librarian if you need help locating an item.
When accessing eBooks from off campus, you will be required to enter the barcode from the back of your Widener ID Card or Library Research Card to access databases from Off Campus.
Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
For nearly four decades, the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology has lead the world to the ever-expanding frontiers of science. Our seven previous editions are the most consulted, most respected, and best-reviewed science and technical references in the English language. And our new Eighth Edition will build on the strength of its predecessors, and become the science and technology reference of choice for thousands of libraries around the world. The 20 volumes of the Eighth Edition have been updated and revised to provide in-depth coverage of the latest international advances and newest developments in all areas of contemporary science and technology. There are 1,500 new articles, and an additional 250 articles completely revised. We've added more than 200 new contributors, supervised by 30 new members of our prestigious Editorial Board. In addition, there are new graphics, new double-page color spreads, completely revised bibliographies throughout, and a superb new Activities Guide to help teachers and librarians lead young people into the exciting world of science. -- allometry -- archeoastronomy -- blue straggler star -- carpal tunnel syndrome -- computational fluid dynamics -- cytokine -- decision support systems -- digital filter -- drug delivery systems -- fullerene -- geographic information systems -- Godel's theorem -- indoor air pollution -- mastisis -- mathematical software -- Maxwell's d
Breakthroughs: A Chronology of Great Achievements in Science and Mathematics by
Provides a history of discoveries in astronomy, biology, chemistry, the earth and health sciences, meteorology, and physics
Dictionary of Earth Science by
This vital reference offers a wealth of essential information in a portable, convenient, quick-find format. Whether you're a professional, a student, a writer, or a general reader with an interest in science, there is no better or more authoritative way to stay up-to-speed with the current language of earth science or gain an understanding of its key ideas and concepts. Written in clear, simple language understandable to the general reader, yet in-depth enough for scientists, educators, and advanced students, "The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Earth Science, Second Edition: * Has been extensively revised, with 11,000 entries that fully define the language of the earth sciences * Includes synonyms, acronyms, and abbreviations * Provides pronunciations for all terms * Covers such topics as geology, geochemistry, geography, geodesy, geophysics, hydrology, oceanography, meteorology, and climatology * Includes an appendix containing tables of useful data and information * Is based on the "McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms - for more than a quarter-of-a-century THE standard international reference Carefully reviewed for clarity, completeness, and accuracy, the "McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Earth Science, Second Edition, offers a standard of excellence unmatched by any similar publication.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science by
Students and library users now have an excellent resource to consult when interpreting the major envirnomental issues that are reported daily. A valualble reference source with a comprehensive international scope, the "Encyclopedia" describes the important environmental terms pertinent to anyone interested in this vital field. Also indluded are over 200 detailed graphs, tables, and photographs. A list of key contacts helps readers expand their search of environmental issues. From Edward Abbey to zooxanthellae, this A-Z resource gives readers over 1,000 entries that tell the story of environmental science. With its wide range of information and international flavor, "The Encyclopedia of Environmental Science" establishes the standard for students, librarians, and others who want to understand this complex and ever-changing area of science. This comprehensive resource contains approximately 1000 entries covering environmental and governmental organizations and agencies, environmental, terms, scientists and activists, and regulations and legislation. The "Encyclopedia" is the only resource of its kind to take a global approach towards environmental issues. The succinct, easy-to- understand definitions and descriptions of environmental topics and useful bibliographic sources make it an ideal tool for all high school, college, and public libraries.
The Facts on File Dictionary of Earth Science by
This volume provides explanations of key concepts in earth science, physics, biology, chemistry, and mathematics, along with tables of chemical elements, earth measurements, meteorological symbols, and glacial periods.
Dictionary of the History of Science by
For readers interested in the development of major scientific concepts and the role of science in the western world, here is the first conceptually organized historical dictionary of scientific thought. The purpose of the dictionary is to illuminate this history by providing a concise, single volume reference book of short historical accounts of the important themes, ideas, and discoveries of science. Its conceptual approach differentiates the dictionary from previous reference works such as books of scientific biography and makes it a convenient manual both for the general reader and for scientists interested in the origin of concepts in their own and other scientific fields. Originally published in 1982. The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback and hardcover editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.
Encyclopedia of the Biological Sciences by 
Handbook of Biochemistry; Selected Data for Molecular Biology by 
